We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Wimberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stay here again.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Read other reviews before booking and have to agree with the majority. It may be an older place and have doors that open to the outside, but inside the room was really nice (pay the extra $5 for the premium King). It had a great desk to work at, laminate 'wood' flooring(no stained carpets!), and all the furnishings were updated. Very quiet in the room even though it's right on Wolf Rd. and near the airport. Staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Had been in another city north of Albany for the week but booked this for the last night before a very early flight the next morning. Super convenient! And a great deal at $100 for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinKeith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    145
    81
    31
    28
See reviews for
98
64
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is pretty standard, comparable to other hotels on Wolf Road. But the front desk lady was exceptionally welcoming! I was very impressed.

In my refurbished bedroom, I appreciated the comfortable bed, hardwood floor, clean A/C, and large screen TV. Free wifi worked well and outdoor parking was free.

On the downside, the bathroom needed some remodelling. Although it was clean, it was very dated and run down.

I would have rated this hotel as "average" based on the room itself, but I decided to select "very good" because of excellent Customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriskany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Red Roof Inn on Wolf Road is a great place to stay and an affordable place you can bring the kids and pets. The rooms are clean, but you can see some of the age of the hotel. Still a great bargain right near the airport and many local restaurants and shops. They have a fire pit area and charcoal grill for use by guests. Under $70.00 per night if booked online.

Room Tip: Back side of Hotel has significantly less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very convenient location and priced well for an airport location. Airport transportation was prompt and courteous. Room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The staff was frienly and helpfull. Hotel is in walking distance of many good restaurants.

Room Tip: Red Roof Inns are great if you are traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaGoose1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family stayed here while on a road trip to Rochester from Boston. The location is convenient to the highways and food options. We arrived late and left early so we didn't need much. Check in was quick and we found the room to be good for what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtrip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Dear Red Roof Tripadvisor,

It has been our misfortune to have stayed at your hotel here in Albany, NY
for our NY State School Bus Roadeo. We have had some difficulties with the way you run this establishment.
First, we had our room changed because I needed a refrigerator for my diabetes meds. Come to find out we were upgraded and additionally charged for the upgrade not being told it would cost more for the room. We got back to the new room and thought about it and realized our mistake. We came back and switched back to our first room. Later that evening our friends told us they had a room with a refrigerator for the same price as what we were paying for not getting one with a frig. No problem as we did not want to change again.
We accepted the poor choice. We went to see how much the room rate was as we checked our bank account and way too much was taken out. We tried to get it fixed but the attendant could not do it because they were not authorized to do it. The attendant was able to see that we were charged the wrong rate but again was unable to change anything for the same reason. We were told that the GM would be in today to take care of this issue. No show, was in Mass. state with no one here to handle serious problems out of their abilities to handle. The attendant, Alicia came to help us as much as she could do. Someone came in later today to try and fix our room rate which as I said was incorrectly stated on the receipt. We were here with our group about 11 rooms reserved for our stay.
We were told to wait until tomorrow for someone else to come in that would be authorized to change the rate of our room to match the other people in our group. The young lady, Alicia was overly helpful to us trying her utmost to deal with our situation.
Secondly, One of our group had a situation in their room. It was a handicapped room on the first floor, #129. They entered their room with their luggage and found moths and cockroaches (several of them around the room). And also the room was not cleaned and the bed was just thrown together. No housekeeping seemed to be done.
They called the President of our group, my wife, Dolly Spayde, to verify the cockroach problem. She picked up a roach in a plastic bag and took it down with her to the office. She met the people from the room at the office and showed her (Alicia) the dead roach at which she cringed at its sight.
She immediately issued them another room where they brought their luggage in and sat on the chair and saw, not dead ones on the floor, as in #129 but it was crawling on the wall. She called the office again to have a new room, #120 in which Alicia had housekeeping check the room for bugs. It appeared to be ok and then they were able to go to bed still thinking about the cockroaches. When we returned from the Bus Roadeo, she went into the office to check on what was happening with the problem of their room. Adjustments needed to be made and they were not sufficient to fit the problem and inconvenience caused by the infested rooms. Police were called to see if they could help resolve the problem. We are not satisfied with the problem not being resolved and we told at first, we would have to wait until Monday to see the GM about the situation.
We are leaving Sunday to go back to our homes and could not be able to stay until Monday to see GM. I guess he is coming in tomorrow to take care of both our room rate and the cockroach problems.
Thank you so much for your listening to our dilemma.

Sincerely,

Ronald and Dolly Spayde
Room #110
July 11-13, 2014

Room Tip: Go someplace else that has better situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with our dog, Red Roof doesn't charge extra for pets -- a big plus for us traveling with our dog. We had a king size "superior" room with refrig and microwave and a large "work area" too. The room was clean and everything worked properly. WIFI was good too. There was coffee available in the room, but nothing else for breakfast -- there are several places nearby to pick up something for breakfast, we went to the grocery store and picked up a few items and that was just fine with us.

There is a grassy area to walk dogs, I noticed a picnic table and BBQ grill although no one was using it.

The couple of front desk people I dealt with were friendly and courteous.

The price was right with our AAA discount, I would probably stay here again when I visit Albany (we have family in the area).

One thing though, it is very tough to see the hotel sign and driveway from the main road!! I drove right past it like 3 times over the couple of days we stayed there (turned around in the Best Western next door!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
0.1 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Albany Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Address: 188 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany is the capital city of New York State, located at the southern gateway to the magnificent Adirondacks and the northern edge of the scenic Hudson River Valley. Vermont and Western Massachusetts are less than an hour's drive away, we're midway between Syracuse and New York City along the New York State Thruway. At Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, we're proud of our city and its heritage, and want to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. We offer Wi-Fi Internet connectivity in all guest rooms, voice mail in all guest rooms, elevator service, and the convenience of exterior corridors. Take advantage of our meeting facilities, our proximity to nearby restaurants, pick-up and drop off laundry service, discounts at local fitness facilities, and our pet-friendly hospitality! When coming to New York's capital district, enjoy our convenient, remodeled Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, your best economy lodging choice in New York's capital district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing