We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Nice, old style Marriott. Rooms were comfortable and large. Ate at the bar and had great food and great service. Nice business stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

My family stayed at this Marriott on our way to New York City. We spent more money on a room for the night then we did in downdown Manhattan. Spent $200.00 for a standard room for the night and had to pay an extra $20.00 for internet use. The weather was extremely hot and the outdoor pool was freezing. (Not sure if the pool has a heater or if it was just shut off).

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank chantallecMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Went up during Travers weekend and could not get a room at the Residence Inn or Courtyard in Saratoga. The closest Marriott brand was the Albany Marriott. It is a quick 20-25 minute ride on the Northway to Saratoga. The hotel was nice, staff friendly and we did breakfast which was decent. The pools were great after a hot day at the track (but a little too much chlorine) and the set up with both an indoor and outdoor pool made the weather a non factor. I liked the lobby a lot. For a place to sleep and wind down after a day up at the track or walking, shopping and dining in Saratoga this is a nice choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiremanTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I am a fairly loyal Marriott customer and have stayed at their properties in such disparate places as San Francisco, New York City and Moscow. And as a very frequent traveler to Albany, NY, I’ve stayed at this hotel off and on since the late 1980s, although fewer times of late because of the greater value deliver by such places as the Towne Place Suites near SUNY Albany. The last time I stayed at the Marriott on Wolf Road in Albany, it appeared to be slowly heading downhill. This latest visit confirms to me that they have arrived -- at the bottom. Here is why:

- Common areas, including hallways, are very hot. Must be saving on air conditioning expenses.
- Carpeting in front of elevators and in the hallways are old and filthy.
- Housekeeping dirty sheet and towel bins are everywhere in the hallways.
- Furniture in the rooms is old and dirty.
- The bathroom shampoo, etc., has not been upgraded in twenty years+.
- The air conditioning is old, loud and does not cool the room adequately.
- The towels are thin and worn.

To be fair, there are a few pluses:

- The building still looks sharp and impressive from the outside.
- The outdoor pool is clean and refreshing.
- The mattresses, sheets and pillows are relatively new and comfortable.
- The carpeting in the rooms in newer and not dirty – yet.
- The housekeepers do a fine job.

Perhaps this Marriott benefits from the odd fact that there seems to be little competition for travelers that want a 3 to 4 star hotel experience in Albany. There are no full service properties from the Hilton, Hyatt or Sheraton chains in this town, at least not that I know of.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael-from-Ithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Nothing in this hotel works, TV remote did not work, air conditioning did not work, reserved a king, given a double. Staff thoughout this place, clueless. Poorly trained, poorly motivated and very poorly managed. This place is filthy from the drapes to the carpets. My sheets stunk of perfume. I did not check the reviews before I booked here, big mistake. Just assumed Marriott had it's act together. Not in Albany! Place is filled with flight crews, who I assume pay nothing and only spend a few hours here. Flat out dump and I am Marriott Gold.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthewhudson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Spent one night here after going to the baseball hall of fame. (About an hour and a half drive). When I arrived I noticed that the public areas (aside from the lobby) were VERY hot. Not a good omen.

The digital AC control is not wall mounted but is hanging on top of the AC unit which does not function properly and is very noisy. The room was also not clean. There was hair, dust and who knows what else all over the phone, the tissue dispenser was covered in toothpaste or soap scum (or both), all four glasses were dirty, the rug wasn't vacuumed (actually all the carpets were dirty throughout and the rugs haven't been edge vacuumed for months.

As a Marriott Rewards member, I am supposed to receive a welcome gift and special recognition neither of which happened. I used points to pay for the room and I was told that they would be refunded.

The rooms have been updated but the rest of the hotel is really a dump. It is VERY dirty and just not well maintained. The cleaning staff also needs to be properly trained.

I did not eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurant or service there. Some of the Front Desk staff were very nice but others could use some hospitality training.

The hotel isn't hard to find (though my GPS sent me to another Marriott hotel, however I knew that I was in the wrong place and was able to adjust my route. I actually wound up at the Spring Hill Suites (by accident, due to the GPS calling that hotel, simply, 'MARRIOTT". Probably should have stayed there...)

There are a number of chain and local restaurants around the hotel so that is helpful and they offer airport transportation. I would not recommend this hotel unless you're not super picky about cleanliness or you get a super low rate. The going rate was near $200 or more per night when I was there...NO WAY is the Albany Marriott worth that kind of money, not even during race season at nearby Saratoga.,

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruisermeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I have always found the full service Marriott Hotels to be a step above and this was certainly an exception. Everything just seemed very worn and the restaurant facilities were the worst. Needed assistance with bags at check-in, but my wife and I ended up carrying them ourselves when we couldn't get a bell person to assist. The front desk staff was almost robotic - pretending to be welcoming, but failing badly in sincerity.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandpaTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
5.4 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#20 of 50 in Albany
1,166 reviews
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $144 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing