We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference facility”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Overnight stay for a large business training program (100+ attendees). Comfortable and clean room, good lighting, good chairs and work desk, reasonably good WiFi connection (for a price). Unusually comfortable bed. Good amenities. Conference seating and sound system were refreshingly well-organized. Good buffet lunch: not extraordinary, but tasty. Restaurant breakfast was over-priced but good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mornseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Mornseer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 516 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night as a stopover on a long drive. The check-in process was quick, but when we opened the door to our room we had the incorrect room type. They moved us and resolved it, but as a platinum member with specifics on my file it shouldn't have happened to begin with.

The restaurant food was average at best. There was a lot of confusion with the waitstaff and getting orders to the correct tables. Perhaps we just hit them on a bad night.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 19holes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent travels to our hote on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback, our staff goes above and beyond to try to make each guest stay of the highest standards. I apologize that you faced needing to change room types due to bed type but I am happy to hear and see that our staff was able to fix the problem you experienced during your stay. I hope you recommend us to family and friends and that you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Every year I attend a convention at the Desmond Hotel. Although that hotel is OK, it is so nice that we finally moved to a different venue. Even better is that it was the Albany Marriott. FIrst impression was not so good - as I entered the hotel I approached the front desk. I was given a room on the 5th floor and was told it has 2 double beds. When I told the young woman at the front desk - she snapped at me "we are all sold out." Not a nice person or first impression but the rest of the stay and staff was great. The room was clean, well decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. I was a bit disappointed that there was no hotel guide in the room - I did not know about the restaurants in the hotel or the pool hours or the gym hours. The hotel is very clean and well taken care of. The gym is awesome, great equipment and free earphones to listen to the TVs that are on all the treadmills. The bar in the lobby was very nice and room service had nice choices, good food, and arrived in less than 30 minutes. Although I did not use the pool - it was very nice - my kids would have loved it.
I enjoyed staying here and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDavid613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about you overall experiance at our hotel. We appreciate the time our guest take to share this information with us so we can review and take immediate action and look in on the criique that we recieve. We do hope to see you on any future travels to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was there for a wedding and the entire wedding block was placed on the concierge floor, which was great, especially since participants in a soccer tournament had taken over much of the rest of the hotel. Despite the sold out conditions, staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating, including the front desk person who walked me out of the hotel to point out where the nearest walking trail was located.

Room was large and well appointed, with a large desk and sitting area and easy access to Wi-Fi. Housekeeping brought me hypoallergenic pillows quickly.

Room Tip: fitness center relatively well equipped as well, and open long hours! Had foam rollers to help mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Albany Marriott was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It seems as though the experience here is dependent on who the manager on duty happens to be. We have stayed here multiples times and the service has had it's ups and downs. Housekeeping is unusually unpredictable for a full service Marriott property, depending on who the manager is they may or may not try to fix the blame on the guest for having a do not disturb sign on the door, even when that wasn't the case, seems to be the "go to" excuse. The pros are it is conveniently located by restaurants and shopping and the rooms are what you would expect at a Marriott but way overpriced based on the sketchy service.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your past stays at our hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing all of our guest with excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. Our entire teams goal is to ensure that our guest have a delightful stay at our property and we truly are sorry to see that this was not possibly the case for you for some of your past stays. I have personally shared your feedback with the appropriate departments to take action on your feedback.
We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we can address the issue and make sure that you enjoy your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was here on business and the service was great, as always. My meeting room was set up right and I was given an upgrade to enjoy a free breakfast and snacks in the concierge lounge. The concierge introduced himself to me in the morning.

Room Tip: There's a garage at this hotel. If you park on the lower level, about four rows back, walk strai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear your experience was terrific still after your many visits to our hotel. Our staff goes above and beyond to try to make each guest stay of the highest standards. I hope you recommend us to family and friends and that you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks. My husband is a lifetime Marriott Clubs Member. The first week they forgot to clean our rooms twice, cleaned half the room once and forgot to leave towels another time. When we called about it we were treated as if it was our fault. The Housekeeping manager did send us a little basket of goodies to make up for the first mistake but would rather have had our room cleaned correctly. Told she was training a new housekeeper which we understand but when you don't clean the toilet, sink, empty garbage cans, leave clean towels your training program stinks. Night Manager was not understanding and tried to put the blame on us by saying if we had our "Do Not Disturb" sign on early in the morning the housekeeper saw it and went to the next room. We were out of our room by 8:00 am and did not return until 10:30 pm and the 'Do Not Disturb" was not on the door. Admit your staff screwed up and make amends. The Courtyard across the street is much better. I do not recommend this hotel. The air conditioning system is horribly also so if it is warm outside there are no vents in the hallway so the hotel is boiling. Stay somewhere else for a much cheaper rate. We paid $230 a night for two weeks. You would think they would be really taking care of us but they could care less. Not enough staff in the restaurant. Had to wait 15 minutes for them to clear a table for breakfast also. Done complaining. Can't really think of anything nice to say other than they are close to a mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchanneljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Albany Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time share your experience with the Albany Marriott.

You indicated in your response that overall you experienced some challenges with your housekeeping services during your stay. . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. I have personally shared your feedback with the proper management and departments.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $121 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing