We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful hotel, very nice rooms, but the event food needs work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, very nice rooms, but the event food needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

recently stayed at this property for a 2 day meeting-+$120 for an overnight...2 lunches, 1 dinner , 1 breakfast were included with the meeting cost. 1st lunch in the hotel restaurant- all was warm , delicious...Dinner-pork loin- dry and not a memorable sauce or gravy...breakfast: way over done pre cooked bacon- hard to believe they would serve it...no cream cheese/ jelly for the uncut bagles... I had to serve myself on the coffee... 2nd lunch - cold sanwich meats, cold salads( no ice underneath), and yes cold...sorry tepid soup, same flavor from the day before with some pasta added...obviously the chef is not watching out for the food...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    170
    113
    58
    23
See reviews for
84
73
37
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennellville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

With my work we hold our annual Winter Conference at this hotel each January. The staff is incredibly helpful, cheerful and always there to address any concerns we may have. We invite 250-300 of our organizations members and many local dignitaries to the property for meeting, meals and lodging. No reason to ever look for another venue as this one fits the bill and again the service provided by the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutchcraft2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel often and tend to stay at Marriott brand hotels. Was not happy with my stay and will not stay at this hotel again. I'm going to list pros and cons.

Pro:
-Fantastic fitness center. The best non-pay hotel fitness center I have used.
-Service. Everyone is very nice and goes out of there way to be helpful

Con:
The beds are very hard and uncomfortable.
They charge to use wifi.
They charge for use of their business center ($1.00 per minute).
Rooms do not come with a mini-fridge.
Room temperature is not easily adjusted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Marriott is in close proximity to the Albany airport. It is also close by to one of the areas larger shopping malls, Colonie Center. The hotel is full service with a restaurant and bar. The bar/lounge area is very open and casual. There are plenty of restaurants close by to the hotel. If you are going to downtown Albany, this location would not be a good choice as it is a distance from the downtown business district. This Marriott often is the center for many galas, wedding receptions, and conferences so it can get busy. I have stayed here a few times and have always had very good service and a good room in line with what one expects from a Marriott. It is also a good location to host business events/conferences in the Albany areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sealover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very nice airport-vicinity hotel. Typical Marriott. I was picked up by the shuttle promptly after phoning--less than a 10-minute wait. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, with the usual Marriott bedding. The bathroom was small, but clean, since it was just me in the room, the size was not a problem. I do wish Marriott would consider changing the scent of the soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Bath and Body Works shampoo dries out my hair terribly, and I've never liked the scent. Room service was prompt, but the food was not good. If I had to pick just one thing that I could change about the hotel, it would be the room service food. I ate what I could, and I decided against breakfast. I again took the shuttle, and I did not have to wait for the driver. He was very capable and personable. If returning to Albany on business, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A corner room gets you extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking for a new hotel 2 stay at on wolf rd--called 3-4 times to see if the bar would be open sun and mon ( new yrs)--got a diff answer each time---the drinks in the lounge were outragesly priced--great staff--but bar was empty--to expensive---the food was dissapointing--small frozen burger--but not priced as such----no free wifi in room---no free breakfast--after partying all night--couldnt get in our room--had to sit in hall way for a 1/2 hr while they tried to fix the computer system that apparantly didnt recognize 2013----they did comp my room but as far as im concerned the damage was done---very poor excuse for a marriott---i suppose if your a company w/ deep pockets -staying there isnt an issue--but 4 the avg vacationer---forget it---u can do much much better on wolf road.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mongeau141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Attended a conference here with a few hundred other people - wish I had brought my lunch! The entree was chicken parm - dried out and tasteless. It was served on top of overcooked ziti, and the sauce tasted like a can of pureed tomatoes - no seasoning, no taste. The only thing that had taste was the cheese they smeared on top. Salad was a joke - a sliced "wedge" of lettuce with tiny bits of bacon and tomato off to the side. Dressing was blue cheese and no other choice - my friend and I hate blue cheese, so requested and got something else that was some sort of balsamic and decent. Dessert was a large slice of some sort of fudgy chocolate cake - you could tell it was premade and frozen - still wet. Dirty cup on the table as well. Another colleague got the vegetable pasta - more colorless pasta with a few bits of carrot run through it and smeared in some sort of alfredo imitation. The room was huge and freezing cold. The only good things I can say is that the bathrooms were clean and the wait staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Albany Airport
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Property: Albany Marriott
Address: 189 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1123
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our conveniently positioned Wolf Road hotel is just a short trip from Albany International Airport showcasing convenience for all travelers. Our spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing