We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott close to Airport and shopping”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Troy, New York
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Marriott close to Airport and shopping”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Marriott is in close proximity to the Albany airport. It is also close by to one of the areas larger shopping malls, Colonie Center. The hotel is full service with a restaurant and bar. The bar/lounge area is very open and casual. There are plenty of restaurants close by to the hotel. If you are going to downtown Albany, this location would not be a good choice as it is a distance from the downtown business district. This Marriott often is the center for many galas, wedding receptions, and conferences so it can get busy. I have stayed here a few times and have always had very good service and a good room in line with what one expects from a Marriott. It is also a good location to host business events/conferences in the Albany areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    176
    121
    60
    24
See reviews for
90
77
40
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very nice airport-vicinity hotel. Typical Marriott. I was picked up by the shuttle promptly after phoning--less than a 10-minute wait. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, with the usual Marriott bedding. The bathroom was small, but clean, since it was just me in the room, the size was not a problem. I do wish Marriott would consider changing the scent of the soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Bath and Body Works shampoo dries out my hair terribly, and I've never liked the scent. Room service was prompt, but the food was not good. If I had to pick just one thing that I could change about the hotel, it would be the room service food. I ate what I could, and I decided against breakfast. I again took the shuttle, and I did not have to wait for the driver. He was very capable and personable. If returning to Albany on business, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A corner room gets you extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking for a new hotel 2 stay at on wolf rd--called 3-4 times to see if the bar would be open sun and mon ( new yrs)--got a diff answer each time---the drinks in the lounge were outragesly priced--great staff--but bar was empty--to expensive---the food was dissapointing--small frozen burger--but not priced as such----no free wifi in room---no free breakfast--after partying all night--couldnt get in our room--had to sit in hall way for a 1/2 hr while they tried to fix the computer system that apparantly didnt recognize 2013----they did comp my room but as far as im concerned the damage was done---very poor excuse for a marriott---i suppose if your a company w/ deep pockets -staying there isnt an issue--but 4 the avg vacationer---forget it---u can do much much better on wolf road.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongeau141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Attended a conference here with a few hundred other people - wish I had brought my lunch! The entree was chicken parm - dried out and tasteless. It was served on top of overcooked ziti, and the sauce tasted like a can of pureed tomatoes - no seasoning, no taste. The only thing that had taste was the cheese they smeared on top. Salad was a joke - a sliced "wedge" of lettuce with tiny bits of bacon and tomato off to the side. Dressing was blue cheese and no other choice - my friend and I hate blue cheese, so requested and got something else that was some sort of balsamic and decent. Dessert was a large slice of some sort of fudgy chocolate cake - you could tell it was premade and frozen - still wet. Dirty cup on the table as well. Another colleague got the vegetable pasta - more colorless pasta with a few bits of carrot run through it and smeared in some sort of alfredo imitation. The room was huge and freezing cold. The only good things I can say is that the bathrooms were clean and the wait staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on Wolf Road not far from the airport and malls. Several good restaurants nearby.

I actually stayed here because the last minute rate was better than the courtyard across the street.

Marriott bedding is always good and worth staying. Check in experience was great. Room service breakfast was promised in "45 minutes or less." Kind of long. Although it arrived in about 30 and was well done and presented.

I don't know why the Marriott doesn't comp Internet like all their other brands (e.g Courtyard). During this stay the room rate was low so I stayed here but I usually avoid the regular marriotts because of having to pay for Internet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

this is a really convenient hotel near the airport, corporate woods, and wolf road. the rooms are large and comfortable, the work out room is nice. The only issue that if it is raining you will get walk walking in the covered parking lot--puddles and ceiling drips--and then getting into the hotel. lounge is nice place to relax

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Made a reservation for this place then cancelled it when I found out they would make me pay $10 for wifi in the room. Ya this is a business center. Who cares. People want free wifi in their rooms. Don't be so cheap. Add in no free breakfast and this place was a bad choice. Instead Booked at the Holiday Inn Express. In a word it was fantastic. Cheaper than the Marriott AND free wifi and a huge complete breakfast. Holiday Inn sells themselves short because they call it a continental breakfast when in reality it has everything from eggs to pancakes, fruit, cereal.....everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank cardbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Property: Albany Marriott
Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing