We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of updating”
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albany Marriott
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August 2011. I am platinum, but was not given a room on the concierge level, which normally doesn't bother me, but they seem to have given me the worst room in the entire hotel. It had a lovely view of a brick wall, and was adjoined to the room of a low-class family that one day got into a physical fight over a raincoat and then proceeded to use the "F" word about 14 times (the walls were thin enough for me to hear their entire argument). The hotel is rundown, and at the very least needs new carpet. They seem to have started the process, because the lobby and fitness center are very nice. The hotel also does not have HBO, even though it says so on the hotel homepage when you log onto the internet. When I called to inquire about it, they offered me a complementary movie instead, which was a nice gesture. Internet is 9.95 or 12.95/day (depending on the speed that you want) unless you are gold or platinum MR member. Parking is free, but I sometimes felt unsafe walking to my car at night. The "At Your Service" people were always very friendly but not always reliable. One night I got take-out from a local restaurant, but did not receive any utensils. I called and asked for a set of silverware to be brought up, which they assured me would be up right away. 20 minutes later - still no silverware, so I called again and they brought it up about 5 minutes later. By that point, I could have gone back to the restaurant and gotten utensils, and my food was cold. Also the airport is nearby, so there are planes flying low overhead throughout the day. I was not impressed by this hotel, and will try a different hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 516 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

I expect better from a Marriott. Furniture was old and not in great shape. Room carpet and bathroom could have been cleaner. I was bummed that I had to pay to get on the internet. It was somewhat noisy at night. Not going back...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I had visited albany on business trip. The marriot hotel provides comfortable rooms, good service and the hotel is well located near a shopping mall (although the mall is not very big). There is not much to do in albany and i spent most of my weekends outside the city.

The rooms were clean and well spaced out. Service was decent

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navneetbhaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This would be a fairly standard mid-size Marriott, except for the exceptional service from everyone on the staff. People go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. For example, one of my quibbles is that they never seem to order enough copies of the NY Times, so that you won't find one unless you're up at dawn or the hotel is empty. But when they discover you want a paper, they will quickly send someone across the street to a gas station to buy one for you and deliver it to your room, free. The hostess in the concierge lounge is one of the most helpful I have ever encountered - she will offer to run downstairs and get you a snack in the afternoon if she senses that you're hungry. There's a great gym. The weakest link is probably the restaurant. It has a perfectly ordinary breakfast buffet, but the chatty waitresses insist on describing every item in detail before letting you free to go and get your food. There's a large lobby and bar area, very comfortable, and free covered parking. And the location is not only convenient to the airport, but to the largest mall in town and many restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rooms next to the giant air conditioning units - the noise is deafening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

1)Lobby was ok
2)elevators were old and dirty-need to replace carpet
3)shocked that there was a charge for wi-fi and biz centre
4)bathtub was old and not so clean
I love Marrriotts -this one was ok ...the positive is that the fitness facility is A1 ,pools are great, actual room was great, staff was friendly, and the location is exceptional -to be fair it was a busy horseracing wknd so 137$ here vs 429 $ in Saratoga ...can't really complain....food in restaurant is decent but understaffed and busy

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22minky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed in one of the corner king rooms - the room was huge. Everything was immaculately clean and all of the hotel personnel was very friendly especially the women in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We arrived a late and needed a place to stay fof the night.
Only one person at the desk and seemed very busy.
Unfortunately, we kept forgetting we needed extra pillows, extra cot and had to call the concierge twice to bring up things.
It was so late and I was amazingly surprised how patient and understanding the person was to keep going up and down (we were on the 5th floor).
Thanks Marriott for a great staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soylatte_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#24 of 50 in Albany
1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $122 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in rare blends of style and structure at the Albany Marriott. Our Albany hotel's location is conveniently positioned on Wolf Road, just a short trip from Albany International Airport making us great for all travelers. Spacious, thoughtfully crafted hotel rooms feature top-tiered amenities built for relaxation and a ergonomic work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing