We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn And Suites

Red Carpet Inn And Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn And Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Troy, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times and each time stayed in a room worse than the one before it. The last room had no door knob on the bathroom door and the hvac unit
Didn't work. Several of the tiles had fallen off the bathroom wall.
The room before it had broken windows and a tv that beaver cleaver's mother would have used.
They claim that they renovated the hotel but when i asked for a renovated room they put me in the roon that was missing the door knob. Apparently they don't want repeat customers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ruffiog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    3
    21
See reviews for
5
9
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were at the end of the day traveling along I-90 and were looking for a place to stay. Our first three tries resulted in no availability so we tried the Red Carpet Inn. Like other reviewers have stated the place is old and worn. Our room was clean (but old) and it did the job for the night. The rate was $55 for the night which we felt was reasonable. Would we stay here again - only if the other options were not available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Please take my advice and do not stay in this nasty place. Especially because it is surrounded by a Hilton Garden Inn and Fairfield Inn. Please I am begging you spend the extra money and stay somewhere else. I couldn't believe what I saw there. I have never been in such a place. The place stank so bad I couldn't believe it. Cigarette holes everywhere. Tiles chipping, varnish coming off all furniture. The AC didn't work and it was stifling. I would not sleep in the sheets, slept in my clothes on top of the bed. I would have left, but it was very late and we just wanted to sleep and get out of there. It is VERY sketchy and disturbing. I can put up with a lot during my travels, and I can honestly stay this is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in.
The ONE nice thing I can say is that the desk clerk was very friendly.

Room Tip: My tip: Do not stay here! Sleep in your car if you must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrinityMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

No air, broken everything you name it, it doesn't work right, smells so bad, beds are super nasty don't even want to stay here, gross gross gross.. place should be closed down, health department should be called. Mold, smelly, dirty, gross, looks like bums live here, hanging their Landry outside of rooms.. stay away save time n money....and your safety...ewwwwwww..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Body hair from previous residence on linen, sheets look like Swiss cheese from all the cigarette burns, towels looks like someone peed all over them, customer services is horrible, they said they wouldn't change the sheets or give is new towels after telling them it was all dirty and they accused us of having more people staying in room because the people we came to visit met is at the hotel to carpool with us. Then after we told them we only had to people staying they told us towels were all being cleaned and it would be at least an hour. Really! What decent hotel completely runs out of towels!!! If u want a bad rash, Mysterious V.D. , and/or to smell stale cigarettes all night long then this is the place for you!!! What a ripoff...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpiano1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed for two nights to attend a conference at SUNY. The hotel is just across the street from the campus. The room was clean and fresh although some of the hallways were stale and smelled of smoke. The AC/HEATER was quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly.

There is local bus from the Amtrak station that stops less than a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BittenNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Was surprised by this inn. Thought it would be a hole because of the price. The room was clean and had nice furnishings. Desk staff was nice and not noisy floor. Looks a bit dated til you get to your room. Very close to highway and malls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#31 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn And Suites

Property: Red Carpet Inn And Suites
Address: 1385 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn And Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Hotel Albany
Red Carpet Inn Albany
Red Carpet Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing