We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Albany, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn on Central Ave. in Albany in August 2010. It has traditionally been a yearly staple of our family for one weekend in the summer. However, last year - for a variety of reasons - we considered not returning. However, we decided to return this year and were quite pleased. There were a lot of good thing things about this trip and no negative issues at all. The pool was excellent and we had no complains at all about the staff and service. The atmosphere outside and around the pool area has a comforting "feel" to it. I would recommend this motel to friends as a sound choice for a centrally located motel with a nice pool and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    78
    43
    53
See reviews for
97
55
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We have been staying at this motel on one weekend in the summer for the past several years. This year, we felt like it showed signs of going downhill. First of all, our room door got stuck. When we asked for help, the motel employee opened it with some force and then indicated to us that you just need to push it harder. The door was a problem the whole weekend. A bigger problem was the mosquitoes. They were everywhere, and were biting everyone. It was almost impossible to enjoy the outside pool area in the evening (something that we always look forward to) without constantly getting bitten. When we complained to the front desk, the receptionist's response was essentially that mosquitoes are generally out in the evening. Also, there were mosquitoes and spiders in our room. Cleanliness was obviously lacking.

There was one good note. My mom left her watch in the room. When she called, the motel housekeeper had found it and returned it to the front desk. This did very little, however, to make us forget about all the problems. This motel is definitely in need of some significant improvement. We do not plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Hotel is not well maintained, rooms are not well-cleaned. No fitted sheets on the mattress, the sheets come loose as soon as you touch them allowing you to see the appalling number of stains on the mattress. I slept curled in a fetal ball in the middle of the bed hoping to not touch the mattress with any part of my body. Bathroom grout was moldy and poorly maintained. Every room I entered had a bad smell. Identical problems with the breakfast room noted elsewhere - nobody monitors it, so things run out and coffee was frequently empty. The single bright spots are that the owner-family do seem friendly, and the courtyard is nice. in terms of cleanliness, responsiveness, and maintenance, it was the worst hotel stay I've had in a long long time, even though we always stay at low-cost hotels.

  • Liked — courtyard
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2007

As soon as we opened the door we noticed this disgusting smell, we tried to air out the room leaving the door open as we looked around but it still smelled. We even bought air freshners but it didn't help. We figured it was the carpets. Then we went into the bathroom and it looked clean however there was this smell, something like curry. Anyhow other than the smell in the room everything else was ok. It is located on a central street and the mall is 2 minutes away. However, I would never stay at his hotel again.

  • Liked — It was tidy
  • Disliked — The smell in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This hotel is disgusting! When we arrived there was a nice woman on the desk - I believe she was probably part of the family that owned it since her young daughter was behind the counter. The room was FILTHY! The carpet had obviously not been vacumed in a LONG time. There were chunks of things on the carpet. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which was nice - exept that they hadn't been cleaned so they were too disgusting to use. The bathroom was very dirty and I don't think they change the towels after each guest. They were still damp - like they had been used not too long ago. And kind of thrown on the rack. There were obviously used towels on the floor next to the tub! Just gross! It is outdated, but outdated and CLEAN I can live with. This place is the worst of both. It looks like it's surrounded by clean hotels - this place should be torn down. If you are a member of triprewards, don't expect your points from this place either (for me it was the ONLY upside in staying here) when I checked in the clerk took my card and when I checked out - it didn't list me as a member! When I asked that clerk, he told me he was going to put them in! I doubt it, but we'll see! When I complained about the horrid nature of the room the clerk said they would speak to the housekeeper. I saw the "housekeepers" working there are two of them older people that too look like they are family. The woman wears a uniform, the man doesn't. They cleaned 5 rooms in the time it took me to smoke a ciggarette........do the math!!

  • Liked — There is NOTHING good about this place!
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Comfort Inn next door, it looks cleaner and appears to have an indoor pool.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtripper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We visit Albany every year for Irish 2000, an excellent all day Celtic Music and Arts festival. This year we did not reserve quickly enough for the Quality Inn Albany. The Howard Johnson is the host hotel for the festival so we figured how bad could it be. I was afraid to stay after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor but my husband remained optomistic. The outside decor is pink and out of date. There is a nice courtyard and a swimming pool which looks in relatively good condition. The tile on the sidewalk to the main office is extremely slippery. We were greeted by a courteous employee and given the keys to our room. We had alot of difficulty with our room keys, sometimes they worked on the first try other times we had to try both keys until we were able to get in. The room was clean, but the carpet was stained, part of the wall was seperating from the base wall, our smoke detector went off every time we took a shower, and there was a big nasty patch of mold above the entry door. The breakfast was lackluster. The room was not attended, while we were eating on the first morning the coffee pots were empty, waffle mix ran out and the toaster did not work . The whole breakfast could have been improved if someone would have been monitoring the room. But it was free so that makes up for the food choices. I would not stay at this Howard Johnson again. The Quality Inn next door is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagicCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2006

stayed for two nites in august. closest and best price for hotel near saratoga springs. desk help was friendly and helpful. room was clean and nice. did not find any problems as with other reviews. good location. near many restaurants in a nice area of town. ate at Delmonico's. was excellant. just up the street from the hotel. easy access to interstate. did not eat in restaurant in hotel but was crowded every nite. did have drinks at the restaurant's bar which was small but relaxing. also near large shopping mall. overall a pleasant stay. spent most of the time in saratoga springs at the track and casino.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggles430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Address: 1614 Central Ave # 5, Albany, NY 12205-2463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Albany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Albany Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Albany
Albany Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing