We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Topeka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Economical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a good one night stay here as we were just passing through Albany. It had a nice breakfast area and laundry equipment which was handy. The only downfall was the lack of a good restaurant nearby. There was a Mexican restaurant next door and a Chinese restaurant too. We drove several blocks to a Friendly's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    70
    39
    46
See reviews for
85
44
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BURLINGTON
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel en route to parent's weekend at our son's college and again on our return home. Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we asked to stay in a remodeled room each night. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous, and the experience was pleasant. The breakfast could use more fruit and whole grain breads,but for the price it is about what we expected. The fitness room has a decent treadmill and other equipment. The hotel staff are proud of their work and do a good job. The Mexican restaurant next door, La Fiesta, has good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JIM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September while seeing the sights of Albany. Easy check-in; parking just outside the room; clean room and comfortable beds. Breakfast room small, but waffles, fruit and coffee was a good breakfast for me! Excellent value and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UphillDowndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRPORT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The place is quite handy and the people are nice. The place is an old property and is a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LeeF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATTLEBORO
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

stay here was ok room furnishings could be better tv was old set and not modern breakfast room was just one of the rooms converted,not really very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
3.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#37 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Address: 1614 Central Ave # 5, Albany, NY 12205-2463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Albany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Albany Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Albany
Albany Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing