We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    58
    69
    39
    46
See reviews for
85
43
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FAIRPORT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The place is quite handy and the people are nice. The place is an old property and is a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LeeF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATTLEBORO
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

stay here was ok room furnishings could be better tv was old set and not modern breakfast room was just one of the rooms converted,not really very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACHIAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Room was clean. There was wear on the sofa and the desk. In general a good place to stay for the price. One day they gave us only one wash cloth for the two of us. The breakfast could have had more attention from the staff. Only one day out of six did we see any eggs. And only 2 days did we see any staff in there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank DORA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUBURN
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the most part it was good. Slept fine and very convient to why we were there.
Would stay there again. Excellent price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank KEVIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATEN ISLAND
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was surprised by how nice the room was and that it had a safe. My only complaint was that the blanket had obvious stains on it, but I got in to my room so late I didn't bother asking for a clean one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank STEVEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRONX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

i wanted to say that this place that i stood in for a family weekend with my daughter and my family was the best weekend i have had. they treated you like family and are very nice!!! the complimentary breakfast was of the hook!!! we loved it!!! i checked out from my room and was on my way back to bronx,ny i noticed i left my diamond ring on the night stand i called them right away and they had put it away. as i go to pick up the ring she recognized me right away and gave me my ring. i loved the fact that i wasnt just a stranger staying in one of their rooms i was one of their guests. i truly recommend them and would definitely stay again!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Albany

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Albany
Address: 1614 Central Ave # 5, Albany, NY 12205-2463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Albany 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Albany Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Hotel Albany
Howard Johnson Albany
Albany Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing