We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Desmond made our Wedding PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Desmond made our Wedding PERFECT”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The staff, the rooms, the comfort were all amazing! You get what you pay for here and we couldn't have been more excited when we were in the lobby saying farwell to our family after our wedding. The reviews were outstanding and everyone was impressed. The Banquet and Sales team are the best in the biz! I planned our wedding from Colorado and only got to meet with my event planner three times over a year, but that's all it took and they exicuted our dream weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annnek79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
The Desmond takes great pride in our ability to provide exceptional service and value to our guests. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    310
    141
    56
    37
See reviews for
178
180
30
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Excellent staff/service. The village design of the hotel is unique & quite charming. Clean rooms, nice sitting area and desk. Fast internet connection. Still, a bit pricey for the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassafras22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for your comments. The Desmond strives to provide each of our guests with a high level of service and attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The Desmond is an interesting property and is great for an event (i.e. banquet, etc.) but the rooms are probably due for a renovation compared to other nearby hotels. Some bedding was stained, (OK, just the bedskirt, but still, gross). The TV was a low-def CRT. The bathroom "just OK". It can also be a long walk to some rooms.

I'm not extremely picky, but most chain hotels exceed the quality of the Desmond so, if you're not looking for meeting space or restaurants, you'll probably be better suited elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The Desmond is an older hotel, but it is well maintained and is a very pleasant place to stay. Organized around two separate roofed courtyards, each three stories high, one of which houses the hotel pool, it seeks to convey a colonial atmosphere which plays upon the historical roots in the Hudson-Champlain Valley. Although not particularly convenient to downtown Albany, it is very close to both Interstate 87 and the Albany airport.

In addition to the courtyards, the common areas are well done – plenty of fireplaces (the one in the lobby burns wood as opposed to the much more common gas fireplaces), ship models, and woodwork – and, again, the effort seems to be to convey a village-like ambiance. There is a delightful little pub, and two restaurants, one dressier and one more casual. We had dinner in more formal “Scrimshaw,” and it was overpriced and uninspired – I’d suggest that you try one of the other places or the plethora of restaurants on nearby Wolf Road.

Our room was smaller, but very pleasant, with French doors that opened to a tiny balcony that overlooked one of the two interior courtyards. The colonial theme was carried out with a canopy bed and a somewhat stiff wing chair and footrest, along with a television armoire and a suitable little desk. The room was well-appointed and very well-lit, with bedside lamps, a standing lamp, and a desk lamp, all of which made it quite bright if desired, and the two alarm clocks on either side of the king-sized bed were a nice touch. For one of the few times I can recall, I actually found the room’s artwork – colonial prints – to be interesting enough for close inspection. The bathroom was small but adequate, and the toiletries and amenities were acceptable but nothing special.

We were there on a New Year’s Eve package, so our experience is probably skewed somewhat – the courtyard remained pretty boisterous until about 1:00 a.m. and the room’s soundproofing left something to be desired.

All in all, the Desmond is a place we would recommend. It is different from the routine motels and hotels in the area, and it is worth a stop.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed attended our staff holiday party and stayed overnight at The Desmond Hotel in Albany, NY (we work for the same company, but in different cities). The service. both in the lodging areas and the dining room were excellent. The design of the hotel (which is like an indoor town) is something to behold.

If you are planning a trip and/or event in Albany, NY, I recommend The Desmond. It is conveniently located off of Exit 4 on I-87 (Adirondack Northway) and is in close proximity to I-90 and Downtown Albany.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cai1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

good food, not an exciting hotel, close to the airport of albany

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bart-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at the Desmond for one night as part of a business trip. The decor seemed a bit dated, but the rooms were clean and comfortable, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. If you are a chain hotel fan, this is NOT the place for you, but if you appreciate a unique local hotel, you'll enjoy this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing