We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albany Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Desmond Hotel was a nice place to stay during my visit to Albany. the "theme" decor is a throw back to the 1700/1800's. the rooms are nice/clean and the employee's were very friendly. They have an indoor pool, but its very small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor. The main floor rooms are ground level so anyone walking by can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

stayed again last week...this time had a room eith view of parking lot...recommend asking for view of courtyard....room itself was very acceptable...good bed, fine wifi etc....overall good value...will stay again

Room Tip: ask for view of courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I phoned from BWI airport at around 10:30 p.m. when I knew there was no way I was going to get to Albany in time for dinner - or even a drink. They arranged to deliver food, wine, and water to my room, for which I was very grateful at 1 a.m. having eaten only Southwest peanuts all day while suffering through delay after delay. The shuttle from the airport is invaluable, especially in such bad weather, and the hotel is very comfortable. It always seems a little expensive, but when you deduct the cost of parking at the airport, it is much more reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine_Barr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Desmond Albany for a soccer tournament 6/27-6/29 and it was just okay. This hotel was cute and seems updated once you walk into the lobby but the rooms need a little updating. Way too much floral on the floors, beds, and walls. The room we stayed in was a double and it seemed fine at first but then the toilet did not flush properly (don't know if the water pressure was low for that). It might also be time for shower head upgrades in the rooms.

I've never been a fan of wallpaper because one can see all the stains left behind from previous guests. Housekeeping should be wiping the walls down on a regular basis to maintain the cleanliness of the wallpaper.

On a good note: the beds were comfy and our view of the courtyard was very nice.
I can't speak for the food because we ate out our entire stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roboggie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this property last year in July. It was for 1 nite going up and one nite coming back from a visit upstate to family. The first nite was great. Staff is very friendly and eager to please. The restaurant was pretty good, my grandkids liked it, and the staff there was excellent. It was clean...not spotless, but clean. The return trip did not go as well. We arrived around 8 p.m. And had dinner..which was still pretty good and the staff great. When we went up to the room it was a room with a queen bed only..and a pull out mattress on the sofa, not what we had reserved. They offered to move us but it was late for our grandgirls..so someone came up and made up the sofa bed..which was okay the girls said..,but not great. The tv did not work real well and they came up twice to fix it......anyway..they took off the meal and some of the room cost from the bill...we were happy. We are going to stay there again one nightin July. I do think they are overpriced ....but it was convenient to where we were headed.

Room Tip: We liked the one that overlooked the inner courtyard. The kids got a kick out of watching a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadylorraine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I attended a TLAC/ Uncommon Schools workshop. Matt the shuttle driver made my experience the best. He was very friendly and helpful. He assisted us with all the finest restaurant within the 3 mile radius. The Desmond is not a typical hotel. It's very different in design, yet the bed is comfortable! Thanks Matt for being so friendly and introducing us to the small town of Albany!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Lontarris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I honestly don't know where these travelers have stayed with the positive reviews.
Let's be clear. The Desmond is a first class DUMP.

The rooms have not been updated. EVER. Tacky, busy bird and floral wallpaper everywhere.
The comforters on the bed are dirty and clearly purchased in 1962. Stained and who knows what other vermin are living in them.

The scent of mold and mildew permeates the air in the room and the hallways. The windows to my room opened into the lobby when I desperately needed fresh air.

The carpets are green probably due to excess mold buildup. I am sure they were probably beige in the 70s when they were laid.

Revolting.

Room Tip: Stay at the marriot.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The Desmond continuously strives to uphold our awarded standards of excellence in all aspects. We appreciate your honest feedback, and always take our customers comments into consideration. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Tyler Desmond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $151 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing outstanding service and a unique guest experience. We are proud to have been voted "Best Local Hotel" in the Albany Capital Region for the past 10 consecutive years. The Desmond features 322 guest room and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queens, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. On-site dining choices include Simpson's restaurant and our English pub, The Tavern. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing