We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure to stay ... everything you want and more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Desmond Hotel Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasure to stay ... everything you want and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is a very nice place to stay. Close to everything. Friendly staff, warm fireplace burning, nice comfortable rooms, great restaurant and bar. We experienced the total hotel. Its a great facility!! I WILL be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    253
    122
    50
    30
See reviews for
145
159
27
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Desmond has a lot of nice attributes making for a unique stay at their facility. I like that they have a real fire in the lobby to sit by. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the room layout was nice. I would suggest improving the shower head from the old water saver type. I understand water is expensive but other hotels in the area provide a good shower, and this one is lacking. I also suggest moving away from the glass wear in the bathroom. There have been enough news stories about how glasses are not cleaned properly in hotels to scare anyone and when I went to use a glass and there was lipstick on it those stories only confirm my previous suspicions. The only thought running through my head is the cleaning lady finishing with the toilet and moving right on over to the glasses in the room. For business this is a great hotel given that they have a nice bar and restaurant. I probably would not stay here again specifically because of the poor showers but if that were changed, I would gladly stay again. Hotel staff was friendly, and I paid $140.00 per night.

Room Tip: End rooms are cold in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Recently had one of the best experiences in the Albany area. Catered a dinner during the SUNY Aux. Services Assoc. conference in January. Being in the service industry every one at the conference expects great service and food - once again the staff outdid themselves. The catering Manager Don Edmonds was one of the best I've ever dealt with, the catering staff, same as last were once again so attentive and personable. again - this was an all around fantastic experience!!!!

Room Tip: My room was on the courtyard and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poultney, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed because they offered free parking and a shuttle to the airport. I will never stay at this hotel again. The food was terrible, room service never answered the phone -- I had to call the front desk and give my order, it was extremely noisy, the room was not clean, and when I returned from my trip, my car was snow-plowed in and there were some extremely scary men in a van waiting for me (it was 1:30 in the morning and 21 below zero) who acted as if they wanted cash to un-bury my car. NOT WORTH IT -- I WILL PAY THE $5.00 a day at the Albany Airport Economy Lot who have extremely friendly and helpful drivers and they never snowplow your car in.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please know that we value our guests and take their feedback very seriously. We were very concerned upon reading your comment about the "men in a van", and researched the situation immediately. These men were members of our kitchen staff whose shifts had just ended. We deeply apologize for their ungentlemanlike conduct, and unprofessionalism by asking for compensation to assist you. We are also sorry to learn of the other issues you encountered, as we are an award winning hotel for both our food and our customer service and we value our guests experiences greatly.

Tyler Desmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinecliff, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Overall, a great place to stay. Clean, efficient, nice atmosphere and accommodating staff. My only disappointment was that the plug for the bathtub didn't work. I didn't pursue it, and I would assume that it would have been corrected immediately if I had, given the high level of professionalism their staff demonstrated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for the romantic package. We had a nice dinner in Scrimshaw. However, when we returned to our room around 10 pm we found extremely loud music playing in the rooms next door to ours and people laughing and yelling. There was clearly a big party going on. The noise was so loud in our room we could clearly hear what the people were saying. Also, our room started to smell like smoke because people were clearly smoking next door. The hotel promotes itself as a non smoking facility. We called the front desk to complain twice and the response was minimal. The music was turned down for 15 minutes and then returned to the loud level. By 1130 pm it was clear there was no way we could sleep there so we packed our bags and left. While checking out in the lobby we saw several other party goers arriving and asking the front desk where the room number was. We had our wedding reception at The Desmond and have returned several times for the romantic package stay. We have always been impressed with our stays, however this stay I was extremely disappointed with the fact that the hotel staff was tolerating the loud party with such a lack of consideration to other guests. We were not charged for the partial stay, but still it was a huge inconvenience as we had to drive home in the middle of the night exhausted on icy roads. I was very disappointed that The Desmond would allow such a party to occur in their facility and I strongly feel that it compromises their reputation of quality. Awful
Experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefvw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry for the noise issue that you experienced during your recent stay with us. A birthday party occurred that evening, and parties such as this are allowed as long as the noise level does not distract other guests. Our front desk managers spoke to this group on several occasions regarding the noise, and then moved their room location to a different area. Again, we are very sorry that this affected you and your husband. We look forward to having you return and use your gift certificate for a quiet, romantic evening.

Tyler Desmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here because our pipes froze - ugh!!! Anyways the staff was very very nice. The room was cute and affordable for the area. The service in the bar was good. The food wasn't great in the bar but we weren't looking for a great night out. We were just looking to lay our heads. I would stay again if I needed to and would recommend to family and friends visiting the area. Many thanks for making us comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing