We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Exceptional In Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Hotel Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Exceptional In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unexpectedly diverted by bad weather to Albany, New York on a general aviation cross country flight. The Desmond was recommended by airport operations. Absolutely perfect recommendation. Hotel van arrived five minutes after request. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful or courteous. Entire hotel exquisitly designed and decorated in the 18th century style down to the most subtle details while providing the most modern conveniences.DInner and breakfast at the hotel tavern were superbly prepared, provided by outstanding servers in an atmosphere of 18th century simplicity and elegance. Business center was up to date and modern and provided fast and convenient access to the internet and flight planning tools. Absolutely zero wait for hotel van back to airport operations. I will return as soon as I can with family and highly recommend The Desmond to anyone who appreciates the elegant simplicity of an 18th century atmosphere with all the modern conveniences.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at The Desmond. Several rooms open on to colonial inspired courtyards and fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJV9143W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    204
    100
    45
    26
See reviews for
126
123
24
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here in the evening as a midway point on a trip to western NY. Many of the chain hotels were booked (we made the reservation a few hours before arriving) and this was well reviewed on tripadvisor.

The pros: this is a really spacious hotel. Big open courtyards for conference areas, big comfortable room. They hold weddings and conferences here. It is very clean and very comfortable. The staff, on a busy night, was friendly and helpful. So far so good.

The cons: others have made this observation -- it smelled. Something odd in the common areas, very musty, mildewy in the room.

My daughter commented that the place looked like the inside of grandma's doll house, but that didn't bother me so much. It is a nice change from cookie cutter chains and the place is really roomy, but I could not get past the smell.

I asked for a quiet room and they were great to find me one; there were a couple of wedding going on.

Bottom line. It is ok if you need a room near Albany/Troy, but there are probably better.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have used the beautiful hotel many times the night before we fly out of Albany. The rooms are very nice and there are restaurants and cocktail lounges on site for a relaxing time. They shuttle you to the airport and pick you up when back. Special thanks to our favorite bartender "Jeff" and the rest of the very nice staff.

Room Tip: Downstairs if you have the bad habit of smoking as I, quick trip outside and I'm good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

An unusual hotel that is worth trying but you need to know one thing - at check-in, ask if there is an event on. If no, no problem as any room will do. If yes, avoid any room overlooking the internal courtyard area. The noise associated with the event itself, the post clear-up operation that goes on till late and the following morning's preparations for the day's event that start very early are so noisy, you would get a better night's sleep sleeping next to the runway of Albany airport
If you get the right room, the rest is good. Great bar area, good food and helpful staff other than at breakfast - I gave the waiter my $20.00 breakfast voucher and he made the serious mistake of advising me that the voucher covered the cost of the food and not the gratuity. Suffice it to say, I put the $5 bill I had in my hand back in my pocket and the only tip that I gave him was to suggest he did not make a comment like that again

Room Tip: As I have said, avoid rooms overlooking the inner courtyard during events
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfiled
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love the Desmond. We make an effort to enjoy the quaint atmosphere, well furnished rooms and attentive staff each time we travel through Albany. This facility will remain on the top of our recommended list.

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy all the fine facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGhost2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Desmond for two nights while visiting friends and we loved it. Couldn't be happier with our room that overlooked the courtyard. We both love the colonial charm this hotel has and highly recommend it. We also stopped by the Tavern for a few drinks and appetizers - good food and good service.

Room Tip: Recommend a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking one of the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was very surprised when I arrived and checked in, this hotel is beautiful! Just like something out of the olden days. Both Eric and Janet were fabulous at the front desk, gave very helpful directions and went out of their way to suggest restaurants and even make reservations at them for me. I had a gorgeous room overlooking a fountain, the room was a nice size. The only thing was that the courtyard did get a little noisy at times, and I found it a little odd that there was no safe in the room. I didn't have a chance to try any of the restaurants, but will for sure next time I go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing