We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bakersfiled
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always Top Notch”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love the Desmond. We make an effort to enjoy the quaint atmosphere, well furnished rooms and attentive staff each time we travel through Albany. This facility will remain on the top of our recommended list.

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy all the fine facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGhost2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    298
    139
    54
    35
See reviews for
166
178
30
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Desmond for two nights while visiting friends and we loved it. Couldn't be happier with our room that overlooked the courtyard. We both love the colonial charm this hotel has and highly recommend it. We also stopped by the Tavern for a few drinks and appetizers - good food and good service.

Room Tip: Recommend a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking one of the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was very surprised when I arrived and checked in, this hotel is beautiful! Just like something out of the olden days. Both Eric and Janet were fabulous at the front desk, gave very helpful directions and went out of their way to suggest restaurants and even make reservations at them for me. I had a gorgeous room overlooking a fountain, the room was a nice size. The only thing was that the courtyard did get a little noisy at times, and I found it a little odd that there was no safe in the room. I didn't have a chance to try any of the restaurants, but will for sure next time I go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

After a series of major delays, we arrived in Albany at 3:30 AM. We called a couple hotels and everything seemed booked. So we started driving and found the Desmond. The clerk gave a late check out so we could sleep in. The hotel and room was clean, very comfortable and homey in a good way. We explored a bit on our way to the in-hotel restaurants (very good!!) and found a huge, beautiful indoor atrium, with cafe style eating. Thoroughly enjoyed our few short hours and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalGwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

While in Albany last week on a business trip, I decided to try another hotel as I usually stay at the typical chain hotels. According to the website, The "Desmond" was ranked "Best Local Hotel" in six consecutive years. I'm writing this review today to share with you my experience at the "Desmond" as it was by far the worst hotel experince I've ever had in all my years of traveling. Where should I start? Building E of the hotel where I stayed smelled awful from the minute I walked in. The smell continued down the hallway and into the room. I chalked this up to the fact that the hotel is old and could probably use some updating. You would not know that the hotel is in need of an overhaul as it boasts comfortable colonial charm. Sure, the website is very nice as is the walk from the parking lot to the front door. That is where it stops. The drain plug in the first room I was given was laying in the tub. I asked for another room and found the same thing. The plug and mechanism pulled out and again laying in the tub. Maintenance advised me that both rooms drain on the same line and offered to come up and snake the drain. I was moved again and on to my 3rd room. When I went to take a shower I noticed that the water was not draining and filling up the tub. At this point, I didn't have time to change rooms AGAIN and ended up taking a "bird bath" washing in the bathroom sink with soap and a wash cloth. The sheets were stained and one of the pillow cases had something "black" stuck to it. The bedspread smelled and the blanket was a cheap vellux blanket that you would expect in a cheap motel. The mattress was old and uncomfortable. The bathroom door and wall paper had splash and drips on them. Clearly the maintenance of this hotel and the house keeping are lacking. The staff was pleasant and very apologetic. I will not stay here ever again or recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to the Albany area.

Room Tip: I do not recommend that you stay in any of the buildings on the south side of the hotel. Specifical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues that you experienced, and agree it was not up to our usual standard of excellence which is why upon check-out we did not charge you for the cost of your stay with us. We were very thankful to hear that our staff was pleasant and apologetic when they assisted you with this situation. We take all guest feedback seriously, and the issues you encountered have been rectified. We hope you give us a second chance to prove your experience was not the normal Desmond experience.

Tyler Desmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is probably the way it was when LBJ took the oath as President. This is nothing like the large chain hotels that I typically stay in. Colonial decor from the seventies and small town values. Very responsive staff. Friendly assistance. The room is large with 2 queen beds. Lots of towels and soap. Coffee machine and flat screen TV. Plenty of parking. Nice gift shop that is stocked full of whatever you want. Very nice indeed. A pleasant change of pace from the Marriott and Hilton brands that I love.

Room Tip: Choose one over the courtyard or the parking areas. Your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been staying at the Desmond for over 30 years and it is always wonderful coming back. This trip was for pleasure - a weekend at Saratoga- and although I didn't win at the track I felt like a winner as soon as I checked into the hotel. We were greeted by Kristine and Meagan at the front desk and they were exceptionally accommodating. Arrival was a breeze and they made sure we were satisfied with the room and informed us of the amenities of the Desmond and the surrounding area. We will be back! Mel Stern

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing