We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel. Convenient location. Met expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Desmond Hotel Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Convenient location. Met expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I'll be honest, I had expected less. This is very similar both in decor, style, and price to a hotel I stay at closer to home due to business. And I don't particularly care for that place of lodging. This hotel, not an issue. Convenient location for my business needs this week, close to the airport, affiliated with my Corporate Rate Policy. Check in was easy, room was ready, room was neat, clean, and as desired. Hotel is large. Indoor center space almost seems like a bit of a waste, as I didn't see a single person use it all week, but whatever. Food was good, albeit a bit expensive. Housekeeping was adequate. Only ding was a tinge of a musty smell in carpet hallways, but it was not bad. Free, convenient parking. I'd stay here again and recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    253
    124
    50
    30
See reviews for
145
160
27
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my third annual consecutive stay at the Desmond and while many hotels seem to get worse with age, this one most certainly has gotten better. Upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised at the setup of our room when we walked in. Classic music was playing from the television and there was a plush robe on the bed with chocolates on the pillows to which my girlfriend commented "are you sure this is our room?" Because it was like walking into a fairy tale. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly as we asked for quarters several time to play pool. The restaurant staff was very friendly as well. I am looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although from California we've been staying at the Desmond since 1982, the property has never looked better. You'd swear it had just opened last week. The attention to detail is amazing, and trust me we are very detailed people.

Upon arrival the Bell Hop was at our car almost immediately, the counter staff welcoming and so pleasant. Our favorite room was set to go, the rate was remarkable given it is summer time and high season.

We had one of the best dinners of my life (age 60) at the Schrimshaw Restaurant, I've never seen Salmon Wellington on a menu, it was terrific. The staff Pat, Shelly and Richard were a remarkable team and made sure all the details were in order. The piano music was such a nice surprise, we had just arrived from Cape Cod where it was so crowded we had to "yell across the table at each other to be heard" The piano music made the evening extra elegant, extra special.

Our room was in immaculate condition, they had redone the shower and it is A+ My wife and I are clean freaks and the room was in perfect condition.

Breakfast at Simpsons is among my favorite on our vacation, their oatmeal is homemade and is absolutely the best. Toast and coffee were piping hot which is so important to me, I have a real thing about cold food, especially toast !

Can not recommend the Desmond highly enough, we just wish we lived closer so we could spend more weekends at the Desmond, it is without a doubt one of our favorite Hotels in the country.

Room Tip: We prefer a room overlooking the parking lot as it is exceptionally quiet, also we love to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_B260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My brother James has lived in Albany for 30 years. I live in Rockland County (30 miles North of New York City) in New City, N.Y. I come to visit my brother, niece and nephew,
at least 3-4 times every year. I always stay at least 2 days each visit and therfore I make reservations at hotels in Albany. This is my first time staying at The Desmond Hotel. My mother is now 83 years old and I bring her with me to visit my brother.
The hotel staff, at all levels, (i.e. Supervisors, Managers, Front Desk, etc.) could not have been nicer to both my Mom and I. They were extremely friendly, courteous, and were all genuinely kind and caring towards my Mom and I. I had locked my keys and cell phone in my care right after checking out. To say the least, I was not very happy about this. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help me resolve this. They stayed with my Mom while I had to go outside to my car when help arrived (I have AAA). I would like to mention the staff members names, for they deserve recognition for their kindness, positive attitude and genuine caring. Meagan and Grace at the Front Desk. Two very beautiful, young ladies with alot of positive energy and patience. Mohamed, the Front Office Manager, positive energy, kind and caring. They all worked well together and always had a smile on their faces.
I am a Registered Nurse, a profession where we should have genuine caring for another human being. So, it was obvious to me, that Meagan, Grace and Mohamed,
really cared. They were not pretending to care. It was evident to me that they truly enjoyed helping not only the customers, but each other. The Desmond Hotel is very fortunate to have this kind of staff working for them. I most definitley would return an highly recomend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Before writing this, I checked other reviews. Since most were glowing I wanted to read the poor ones. And... I have to ditto all the poor ones. The Desmond has been touted as a great destination so 9 of us reunioned there. Upon arriving most of our rooms were not ready at check-in time. While our wait was not long - it didn't appear that the facility was fully booked to cause this delay esp. since check-in is at 4 pm and it was a Sunday. Rm 166 - first thing visible is ink stain on bed comforter. Pull that down, hole in blanket. Bed sheets clean but bed poorly made. Rm a bit outdated but smelled ok. In previous posts the manager explains about the updating plans. Don't tell me about that. I should not have walked into a room and noticed the bed linen things first. Because we were gathering for dinner I didn't check out anything else. Go to take a shower at 11 pm and wow. Weird - looks like water facet thingy is broken. Work at it - hot... or cold... can't manage in between. And so it goes for two nights. Upon check out I was offered an apology and supposedly give $20 credit each night. But desk clerk kept making errors and instead I watched my total grow. After some discussion and reconciliation - I was promised that my final AMX bill will be correct... I hope so. Am waiting for the AMX posting. Restaurant food and service were good. Funny thing though... Person in our party inadvertently left tip off breakfast charge receipt (really an honest error) but when I was checking out of hotel a restaurant employee literally found me to tell me no tip was added. While this was an honest mistake (and taken care of) I felt weird having someone find me to tell me our group owed a tip. BTW the menu says a tip will be added for groups of certain sizes so my friend assumed it was added. But I guess they don't follow there own policy. All in all - Desmond has a good reputation - needs to get on with their updating and stop resting on there laurels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We apologize for the issues that you experienced during your recent stay with us, and we agree that this was not up to our usual standards of exceptional service that we pride ourselves on. Please know that we do not take these matters lightly, and your comments are dealt with immediately upon receiving them. While we will be starting room renovations soon, that is not an excuse for the cleanliness and functionality of a room and your issues have been addressed with our management team. Again, we apologize and appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback.

Tyler Desmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with interesting layout around courtyards and mock village streets. Excellent service, family-run. We loved the nautical prints and antiques around the hotel. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, great breakfast in the Grill. We attended a very nice private luncheon event in one of the courtyards. Surprisingly inexpensive for the quality. Free pick-up service at the airport, which is just around the corner.

Room Tip: If you are there on the weekend, you may want to avoid the main courtyard rooms, as there may be eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCWendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It is consistently a great place to stay. The staff is friendly (thank you Janet at the front desk for being so helpful, patient & funny!), the room service is outstanding (love the turkey club!), and the rooms are always clean & inviting. When visiting Saratoga raceway I prefer to stay here for under $150 a night as opposed to paying a lot more for a lot less in Saratoga Springs. It is a quick 22 minute drive to the track from the Desmond.
I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at the interior courtyard...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ChildrenOfTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing