We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE TO READ THIS - GREAT HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO READ THIS - GREAT HOTEL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

While I've stayed in various hotels, this one beats them all for two reasons: The staff, from top to bottom, were all unbelieavably friendly & helpful. There's nice and there's friendly. This staff deserves 5 *****! The "cherry on top", if you will, was the food. The Desmond has 3 restaurants within the hotel, one being a pub, one being Simpson's Grill and the other 3rd is for those who prefer fine dining (The Scrimshaw). We chose to eat at Simpson's Grill, which was so amazingly delicious, I went back the 2nd day (both breakfast & dinner). Kudos to the che(s) because I was wowed by my meals each time. I've eaten in many fine dining establishments and my meals was equal to them all. My room had 2 queen beds and I will have to admit that the carpet did have an old stain in it, but the room was clean, which is what counts. Perhaps I should take 1 star away for the stain but I just don't feel they deserve it. I would recommend this room without hesitation!!!

Room Tip: Mine was on the left side of the hotel - on the 2nd floor. Friends stayed on the 3rd floor and comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    263
    127
    50
    31
See reviews for
150
166
27
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

WOW. I'm a bus driver who delivered a busload of Hispanic teenagers to a conference at The Desmond and this place delivered for me. The first day I needed carts to take the luggage off the bus and Tim gave them to me and then put the racks in a safe place. TY. And the rooms are wonderful. Can I take it home with me? Great night sleep. Today I really needed to mop my bus and the front desk provided one and followed up to make sure every thing was good. TY. Let's not forget the hot tube! Sandra was a great host in the bar on Saturday. Great stay.

Room Tip: STAY HERE!!!!! book outside room for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I joined a group at the Desmond. Checked in at 12:30 am tired. Room was upgraded and excellent. Staff very efficient and friendly. Will consider using the Desmond for future groups. Jay cloutier very easy to work with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been staying at The Desmond since I was a child long before it was The Desmond. I love the hotel and its unique feel. You really feel like you are not in a hotel but on a colonial street or square.

The rooms are always well appointed and well maintained.

We love the Scrimshaw restaurant and the hotel so we will make the drive from Syracuse for a quick romantic getaway. A very relaxing place that we always enjoy.

Room Tip: We enjoy the "indoor balcony rooms" that open onto the enclosed "square". We li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Desmond is an excellent place to hold a conference! The room accomodations as well as the conference accomodations were great. All of the staff worked closely with our organization to help everything go smoothly and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Desmond for a conference of any size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Man, does this place need an upgrade. I stayed for a conference - as I imagine most guests do - and hope I never have to go back. The decor is dated: floral print wallpaper, a bedspread circa 1980, green carpeting, plastic flowers in the room. The sink in the bathroom barely came up over my knees (I am 5'9"). My room smelled of disinfectant when I arrived, but luckily I was able to open a window and air it out. I say "luckily" because half of the rooms open up not to the outdoors, but to a covered, interior courtyard.

Room service breakfast was $28 for eggs (which I suspect may have been powdered), greasy hash browns and sausage that I managed to eat one bite of. Lunch in the downstairs bar was decent, and the service overall was good.

The hotel has two interior courtyards that are meant to evoke ... well, it's hard to say what, exactly. Colonial era town? Upstate NY kitsch? Village square? I suspect they were going for whimsy, but it ended up feeling flat-out bizarre. This is a strange hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that open to the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as a recent guest. We apologize that you found your room service breakfast to be unacceptable in both pricing and quality. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. Based on comments from you and other guests, we have introduced lower pricing while continuing to always work towards delivering the highest quality and freshest product-which includes never using or serving powdered eggs at The Desmond. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Tyler Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here and loved the property. The indoor courtyards and colonial atmosphere is very unique, and we are regular travelers. The front desk service was exceptional, David and Tim were both great at helping us during check-in and when we had questions about lunch. Our room was very nice, and my wife loved the four-poster bed. The overall service was first class, the rooms were exceptionally clean. We look forward to coming back soon for a longer visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankees2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing