We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodations, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodations, excellent service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My stay at this hotel was made particularly enjoyable and effortless by the front desk personnel, especially Allison Bloss, who made the whole process of checking in and out, as well as details during my stay, a pleasure through her excellent manners and wide knowledge of the area and understanding of the whole hotel experience.

Room Tip: Become familiar beforehand with the wide variety of accomodations available. Ask Allison Bloss
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    281
    132
    52
    34
See reviews for
160
174
29
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Tavern was an excellent location for cocktails before dinner. Dinner at the scrimshaw was best complimented by a live piano player. The menu choices covered a wide range of tastes. The service was exemplary and the wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The room was modern and private and provided a lovely view of the fountain.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I wanted this to be a special trip with my daughter so chose to pay a little more than usual. We were very disappointed in the cleanliness of our room. I have stayed in several hotels in Albany. I paid about 50 percent more than I have in other hotels at The Desmond. This was a big disappointment. Two hotels that I am aware of in the area are significantly less expensive and better. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsey428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always enjoy our stays at the Desmond. Unfortunetely, this was a very fast trip and we spent little to no time enjoying the facilites at the hotel. Our room was in perfect order and the staff was as friendly and helpful as ever. We look forward to our next stay when we can relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our room at the Desmond was huge,( a mansion room facing the outside, room M34) internet was super fast. location good for two night stop on drive from Niagara to Boston, food and drinks at the Tavern were excellent value.
We found the layout of the hotel quite charming, and enjoyed observing the celebrations taking place at the time, including a wedding.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Romero, who helped us with our bags.

Room Tip: Room M34 was huge, and very comfortable. It faced outside, on the top floor, and was away from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanessaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Desmond is an interesting, unusual hotel, designed around two courtyards, each with a roof with great skylights. Many (about half, I suppose) of the guest rooms have windows onto the courtyards.
The service was friendly, except that the staff at Simpson’s were sullen at breakfast.
The plug in my bathtub would not close fully, so I could not take a bath. (It closed almost all the way but not quite enough.)
I have no major complaints, but I think I would stay in one of the many other available hotels in the airport neighborhood the next time I come to this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Desmond is an attractive property, with the interior atria architecture built to resemble a small town center with facades of homes, apartments and businesses hiding the various hotel facilities. Having stayed here once annually for most of the last 5 years, it appears they have successfully maintained their level of quality and service at a high level. Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. Meeting facilities are excellent. Food provided with the meeting services was consistently good. Check in and checkout were handled smoothly. Price is a bit steep, but it's a high-cost area, so that's expected..

I did not eat at the restaurants this year, but in past years they were very good.

This location is very convenient to the airport, but that also means it is not especially convenient to get into downtown Albany; Traffic, however, is not a major issue in Albany.

Room Tip: Every room I've had over four stays in five years has been comparably appealing of a high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing