We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always enjoy our stays at the Desmond. Unfortunetely, this was a very fast trip and we spent little to no time enjoying the facilites at the hotel. Our room was in perfect order and the staff was as friendly and helpful as ever. We look forward to our next stay when we can relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    298
    139
    54
    35
See reviews for
166
178
30
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our room at the Desmond was huge,( a mansion room facing the outside, room M34) internet was super fast. location good for two night stop on drive from Niagara to Boston, food and drinks at the Tavern were excellent value.
We found the layout of the hotel quite charming, and enjoyed observing the celebrations taking place at the time, including a wedding.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Romero, who helped us with our bags.

Room Tip: Room M34 was huge, and very comfortable. It faced outside, on the top floor, and was away from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanessaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Desmond is an interesting, unusual hotel, designed around two courtyards, each with a roof with great skylights. Many (about half, I suppose) of the guest rooms have windows onto the courtyards.
The service was friendly, except that the staff at Simpson’s were sullen at breakfast.
The plug in my bathtub would not close fully, so I could not take a bath. (It closed almost all the way but not quite enough.)
I have no major complaints, but I think I would stay in one of the many other available hotels in the airport neighborhood the next time I come to this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Desmond is an attractive property, with the interior atria architecture built to resemble a small town center with facades of homes, apartments and businesses hiding the various hotel facilities. Having stayed here once annually for most of the last 5 years, it appears they have successfully maintained their level of quality and service at a high level. Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. Meeting facilities are excellent. Food provided with the meeting services was consistently good. Check in and checkout were handled smoothly. Price is a bit steep, but it's a high-cost area, so that's expected..

I did not eat at the restaurants this year, but in past years they were very good.

This location is very convenient to the airport, but that also means it is not especially convenient to get into downtown Albany; Traffic, however, is not a major issue in Albany.

Room Tip: Every room I've had over four stays in five years has been comparably appealing of a high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had the opportunity to use The Desmond for a meeting involving participants from a wide geographic area. The staff was outstanding. The facilities were superb. I would recommend highly and without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffryCadorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Full disclosure: I stayed here on a friends and family rate as a relative I hadn't seen for 30+ years works there. This is still an unbiased review, but I can't rate on value.

The room was excellent with a huge bed, and cleanliness definitely not an issue. I did't get WiFi in my room but as none of my computer devices have a wired port (even my laptop) I used the Airport Express I carry to provide my own and got very fast Internet.

Breakfast was extra and possibly a little pricey. Coffee was awful but no worse than anywhere else in the US.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one other time, twenty years ago. I was impressed in 1992, and it was exactly the way I remember, if you can imagine nothing changing, nothing at all. After twenty years, everything about this hotel is dated, worn-down and stale. It is not at all worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank There-and-Back59-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We appreciate having you back as our guest after 20 years! As it was then and will continue to be, our décor and ambiance has always been and will always be Colonial. We offer all the modern comforts including Flat Screen TV’s with HD signal throughout the hotel, complimentary wireless service, and enhanced amenities throughout the public areas. The Desmond offers unique and traditional styling. Please reach out personally when you are back in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing