We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weekend stay and dinner at The Scrimshaw was fantastic, who knew this jewel was right in our own backyard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clifton Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our weekend stay and dinner at The Scrimshaw was fantastic, who knew this jewel was right in our own backyard!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a special occasion “stay at home get-a-way” with our daughter and new son-in-law and had a such a wonderful experience. The staff was so attentive, the rooms were spotless and had so much character! We had dinner at The Scrimshaw Restaurant and wow! The food is sooo good. Savored every bite! We will definitely be staying here again. Just trying to plan our next special “stay at home get-a-way” with our son and daughter-in-law this time! Either way we win! Can’t beat that !!

PS: Loved the pool tables available for guest in a seperate meeting room off the hotel lobby lounge. Perfect entertainment after a late dinner and before retiring to our rooms....

Room Tip: KIng size beds with a canopy! Wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    316
    143
    57
    38
See reviews for
187
185
32
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Have stayed here a few times on are way out of town and needed to crash in order to catch an early morning flight at the albany airport. The room was nice, neat and clean. The restaurant was good and the bar food was just ok. I'm sure I will be back once again on my way out of town. The first time we stayed in a small room that had just be redone are second trip not so lucky. Once the whole place is renovated will be a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have held our annual conference at the Desmond for a number of years, and the service and attention to detail has always been great. This year's conference was our largest ever, and the staff at the Desmond handled all of our needs in a responsive and friendly manner. We highly recommend the Desmond to anyone planning a conference.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialK55
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

From the front, the Desmond appears to be an average sized hotel. But it sprawls to the back and once inside you realize you've just entered a small city and really don't have to leave, unless you want a dose of reality-out-there. I was there for two days of business meetings. Meeting rooms were spacious, comfortable, and had great acoustics. Visibility was cut a bit by the huge chandeliers that prevented me from seeing the entire PowerPoint slide on the large screen.

Meeting food was served buffet style in very large interior courtyards. It was well-prepared, safely displayed, and quite tasty!

The room was quite large - two queen beds - clean, quiet, and comfortable. (Room #384). Even though I could see the airport from my window, I heard nothing (as long as I kept the window closed). That was okay, because the air system was so quiet I had to put my hand in front of it to make sure it was operating. The temperature stayed even at my setting all night without any dryness.

If you've read my other reviews, you know that the height of the shower head is very important for my 6+ feet in height. This one "made the grade" in that I could stand up straight in the shower with no problem.

Front desk service was excellent. I don't know about the value because my company prepaid everything.

Three problems with the room - the blow dryer was constant cold air, and it took a very long time for the shower water to heat up. Wireless was very slow-to-nonexistent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have been there for this convention for many years and find the experience wonderful.

Room Tip: Over the years I have stayed on most floors and cross halls and have found them all very pleasant.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Best ADA room in NY! Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Very unique hotel design, extremely efficient check-in/out. Restaurants are pricey. Many weddings taking place during our stay which was a bit noisy and interferred with the overall ambience that hotel inspires.

Room Tip: Ask for a kingstreet courtyard room. Stay away from the elevator area as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnD_RCI_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is amazing. The service is the best I have ever experienced. My husband and I were traveling with a 7 year old and an 8 month old and the accomodations were perfect. Be sure to eat at the restaurants in the hotel. The food is superb and so is the service. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I love the rooms overlooking the pool because I could watch my older son and husband swim and have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing