We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Express Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Express Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was late when we were looking for a hotel. At a rest stop I found a hotelscoupon catalog. The Comfort Inn was listed. I called to see if they would honor the rate listed. The women said that they would decide once we got there. I said we were on the road and it would take us 1/2 hour to get there and we needed to know if they would have a room for us. She said probably but would not take a reservation. Although, this was a rocky start and quite unacceptable we took a chance. I am glad we did. This is a newly renovated hotel. It was very clean. We did have a view of construction but we were so tired we didn't care. I do not know what the noise would be like on a weekday with the construction. Breakfast was good. We would stay again. Maybe the front desk staff needs to learn some manners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
60
49
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Perhaps it was just our room, but we did not find this to be as clean or updated as noted in other reviews. The room has a slightly musty odor and looked a little worn. We would have liked to see the blankets covered with a duvet as many other similar class motels are now doing.
The breakfast buffet was adequate and the front desk personnel were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dogski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a recently renovated hotel that used to belong to a different brand. For what they had to work with I thought they did a great job upgraded the beds, desk, etc. my only complaint is the doors have a decent size gap under them so you can here people talking at a normal level walking down the hallway. Other than that it is a quite hotel even though it was packed when I was there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good for Comfort Inns to get this hotel/inn up and running. The reception was great,room excellent and breakfast was well supplied. We enjoyed a good sleep after a very trying trip from Maine. A real bonus was having many choices for dining on Wolf Rd. or Central Ave., minutes from the Comfort Inn. Location is very close to the New York State Thruway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN USA
Level Contributor
363 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I found this hotel very easily on Wolf Rd, close to the interstate exits.
The hotel seems to have been recently updated and is quite clean and staff is friendly.
While the hotel is basic, the packed parking lot and steady traffic shows it is popular for transit and tourists.
My only complaint is the wall mounted air and heat unit is loud and hard to get a comfortatble temperature to be maintained.
Our group all were happy with the light breakfast offerings.
I would suggest the hotel invest in smaller housekeeping carts as the hallways were crowded with carts.
Room was very very clean and bathroom looked new.
Internet was included, but was down 3 times during the stay that I noticed.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S-Philippe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to the Woodburry, NY outlets. We only where there for one night but we were fully satisfied with our stay. The room and bathroom where both very clean, very friendly and helpfull staff, as well as a convinient location right off the highway. The only negative point if it is one, is the noisy employees in the hall way at 8 AM.....But would not have any problem with recommending this hotel to anybody!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I agree with most of the other reviews posted as to location, cleanliness, politeness of staff, etc. However we were 3 adults and booked a 'studio suite with 2 double beds and sleep sofa' at $125 (AAA rate). Compared to other suites I've stayed in at lower cost, including the Comfort Suites in Burlington VT and the Cresthill Suites in Albany (which I highly recommend) - this was a glorified room (# 309), with a half wall separating the sofa and a small counter with microwave, sink and bar fridge right next to the door. Then there was a small area with closet, table for suitcase and some standing room leading into a nice bathroom - not usable living space.

As the person sleeping on the sofa bed - I couldn't see the TV or read comfortably in bed. There was no place for 3 people to comfortably sit and socialize, watch TV, read, eat, etc without sitting on the 2 beds. No utensils of any sort in the so-called 'kitchenette' - not an issue for us but be aware if you are planning to eat meals in the room.

My biggest beef - the sofa mattress was extremely lumpy and flaccid with many springs poking out of it. Absolutely impossible to sleep on as it was. We put the 3 bedspread covers, each folded in 1/2 lengthwise, to make 6 layers of padding on top of the mattress and I managed to sleep on it even though it was saggy - at least didn't feel the springs! Upon checkout, when the front desk person asked how our stay was, I commented on the sofabed and she said - "it was new from a year ago, and this is basically what you should expect with a sofabed".
1. If this was only a year old then some previous guests must have been using it as a trampoline or it was poor quality to begin with ;)
2. If this is the level of comfort that hotel owners think is acceptable for what is being advertised as a 'bed' to sleep in (and to be fair Comfort is not the only chain guilty of this, by far), then I disagree.

I do recommend this hotel and would stay again for one or two nights as we did, but only as 2 in a room and I would not pay a suite price for what is basically a hotel room, there are lots of other choices in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDancer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn & Suites

Property: Express Inn & Suites
Address: 16 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road)
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#12 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Express Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites / Wolf Road
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road Hotel Albany
Days Inn Albany
Albany Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing