We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of MezzaNotte

MezzaNotte
Reserve with OpenTable
MezzaNotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Call it classic Italian with a modern twist, or Modern cuisine with Italian influences. Either way, we serve only fresh, top quality food, prepared from scratch. Our menu changes with the seasons, allowing us to make the most of any local and garden fresh ingredients.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First trip to Mezzenotte last week for a business dinner. Fantastic. Great food. Great wine. Friendly service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baseball39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    26
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely experience where you dine, not just eat”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had wonderful meals in a lovely, upscale white tablecloth atmosphere. The bread was served with a dip of olive oil & balsamic vinegar as well as an olive tapenade. Our server was very knowledgeable regarding the menu & specials. Some options were things you wouldn't ordinarily find on most menus. A few of the entrees are availble in a small or larger size which is nice as well. Although one dining companion said his salmon entree was overcooked, he liked the appetizers & desserts that we'd shared as a group. The rest of us loved our selections. This restaurant changed chefs since we last ate here. The current Chef, Michael Mastrantuono, was one of six Rising Star Chefs in the Albany Chefs’ Food & Wine Festival: Wine & Dine for the Arts 2013. Also, although their restaurant website and Facebook state they open for dinner at 5:00 pm, we found out the bar opened at 4:00 pm (at least on this particular Thurs.). As we were traveling from an afternoon matinee at Proctors in Schenectady, being able to sit & chat before the dining room opened suited our purpose.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, NY
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It had been awhile”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We returned to this restaurant for a belated Valentine's night out. Not usually fond of going out on this "holiday" but we had experienced a wonderful dinner here several years ago for this same event. We had requested a booth which is a must in this very busy restaurant if you wish to hold a conversation with your dining companion without speaking loudly. Attention is paid to detail by the owner by offering a dark colored napkin over white if you are wearing dark colored clothing. I was a bit disappointed that the dress code for the wait staff on this Saturday night had been down graded from white shirt and tie to black polo shirts. Our server was attentive but not overbearing. The food was well prepared, served at the proper temperature and tasty. However, I felt more rushed on this evening then on our previous celebration of this holiday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Too crowded and noisy to enjoy dinner!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had a Saturday night dinner at Mezza Note with some friends after a long absence. I had forgotten, but it is extremely crowded and noisy, and this makes the rest almost impossible to enjoy. It is one large room, with tables close together, and it did not help that we were seated next to a large party with loud voices and laughter. I do not blame anyone for this situation, it just takes away from the experience, and I would not dine there again, especially on the weekend.

The food was good. Kristen was our server, and she did a very good job, very friendly and informative. We had a bruscetta appetizer, and it was much smaller than it should have been. That was another theme of the evening. Entrees were good.....I had pan sautéed shrimp and scallops.....they were done perfectly and seasoned very well. They were served on a bed of vegetable risotto, which was also good, but way oversalted. Companion had sea bass, which she enjoyed.

Try the ricotta cheesecake.....we shared two desserts among 4 of us. The cheesecake was so good cannot even remember what the other one was. We just had to order another piece for the table, but again much smaller than it should be for the price.

A very mixed bag, and I am really sorry that the environment was the primary factor that prevented it from being enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A (wait for it) mazing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went here for New Year's eve dinner as our favorite and usual restaurant was already booked. We now have a new (almost) favorite restaurant and definitely will return. Only disappointment was a limited menu that night, but understandable for one of the busiest nights of the year for restaurants. Service was pleasant and efficient, food was excellent as was the choice of wines. Place is small and somewhat noisy so not great for a quiet romantic dinner, but that is not what we were looking for that night. Never thought of Risotto as a meal, just a side dish, but tried it that night as a meal and was extremely satisfied. Had an appetizer (duck meatballs), my wife had a very nice and tasty salad and the bread is delicious. My wife's Crazy Lasagna was excellent as well. I think that is enough adjectives for one review. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirVayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MezzaNotte also viewed

 

Been to MezzaNotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing