We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Albany
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The most important thing for a hotel to be is clean, clean, clean. This hotel is spotless.

The members of the staff were consistently welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The mattress and the linens were splendid. I asked in advance for extra bed pillows and they were on the bed waiting for me when I checked in.

The hotel was in every way as accommodating as a hotel of this kind could be. The hotel does its job well and everything runs like clockwork.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_w_tush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Just want to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that our property and staff were able to meet your needs. I look forward to sharing your comments with my entire team!

Thank you again,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    128
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
158
63
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a family reunion / visit to Saratoga Racetrack. Excellent hotel. Clean rooms, reservation as expected, big continental breakfast, free wifi, friendly staff. Easy access to Albany area, upstate New York, and Saratoga.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 with my kids....firstly, the most amazing front desk attendant (I think his name was "Mike"?)....so so pleasant and helpful....gave me perfect directions to everything and made the kids laugh....
All aspects of this hotel are awesome..very clean, large rooms, with a fridge, nice workout area with newer machines, excellent breakfast (get there before 8 to avoid a crowd), ample free parking and wi-fi was simple and reliable...breakfast staff were amazing - constantly clearing tables and cleaning them...hotel is right next to a HUGE mall...
ONLY ONE NEGATIVE.....the pool....it's tiny.......like 3 people in it seems crowded...and was SUPER COLD....

Room Tip: The rooms are all quite large...a higher floor is usually more quiet...we had no issues with noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moldy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Michael is a great guy, we are proud to have him on our team; I'm glad he was able to help you out. We are currently investigating the temperature of the pool water, thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us again, should your travels bring you back to Albany. Please let me know if I can be of any future assistance!

Thank you again!
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was doing some work in the business centre at the hotel during my stay and could hear a young woman being interviewed for a job at this hotel (Ok, so I was eavesdropping). Everything the person interviewing her said about the place was true. They are totally focussed on customer service, the small team of staff work very well together and they pride themselves on the place. In addition to this, the room I had was excellent value, with a separate sitting area and workspace, and bathroom and toilet separated too. Great stay, great value and an even bigger selling point was not having to stay in downtown Akron which is dead after 5pm.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay with us. We certainly don't mind the eavesdropping! I truly feel that our associates and the level of service they provide is what sets us apart from other hotels. I sincerely appreciate your acknowlegment of this! I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area!

Thank you again!
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
357 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The front desk staff were very professional and the staff working in the breakfast buffet made you feel at home. Zelda was the star. She made sure that we had enough food to start our day and in my opinion, is one of the main reasons that I will stay there again. Cons: 1) the toilet is separated from the shower room and it just felt like the WC is made out of a closet (with a sliding door). It may be okay for a day or two, but for people who plan to stay longer, this might become painful 2) the swimming pool has way too much chemical in it. I swim almost every day in an indoor swimming pool. When I walked into the in-door swimming pool room, I felt my lung was about to be burned. They may want to either go easy on the chemical or open the sliding doors to allow for better ventilation. Though the gym next door has its own ventilation system, you can still smell the chemical. We ended up not using any of the workout facilities there because of the strong odor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHUANG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. I will certainly look into the chemical situation in the pool as we do not want the levels to be too high so you feel that you can't breathe in there! Again, thank you for letting us know. We hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Albany area.

Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we walked in the door we were greated by the most friendly desk staff. What an enjoyable group. They must definatley enjoy their jobs. Thank you both for being so welcoming. Our room had two beds and a sofabed plus a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. It was a really nice room. The beds were great. We slept well. The room was quiet - we didn't hear any hall noise or noise from other rooms. The bathroom got a bit steamy when taking a shower (no separate vent/fan) but at least the sink area was outside of the bathroom so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. The breakfast was good. All of the normal items - well stocked by the staff. The morning we were there it was quite busy - but the staff kept up. We would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our associates work very hard to make every guest feel at home while staying with us. Please feel free to contact me should you need any assistance with future reservations!

Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our one-night stay here. The lounge area in the lobby is quite comfortable and does double-duty in the morning as a dining area. There is an ample array of tables and chairs to accommodate the many diners who take advantage of the varied spread of hot and cold breakfast items. As a vegetarian, I was extremely pleased with the hearty hot oatmeal (not instant) with healthy toppings such as pecans and dried fruit. Our suite was equally lovely with a wonderfully comfortable king bed, pillows, love seat and desk chair. I was thrilled to find that the lighting was quite good (often rare in hotel rooms). Sliding panels separate the desk from the bedroom area which enabled me to read with a bright desk lamp without disturbing my sleeping partner (a definite plus). The only thing I missed having was a bureau with drawers. I want to add that the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful in assisting with a dinner recommendation and nearby car wash facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We strive to accomodate all of our guests so I am pleased our breakfast selections were ample for you. I am excited to share your review with my staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Albany area!

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie

Property: SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Address: 8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#9 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing