We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
211
88
13
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
88
13
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state capitol deluxe room aveda bath products wellington restaurant valet parking gorgeous hotel new york concierge lounge room was large and comfortable corner room high floor within walking distance times union center great shower convention center room service would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 325 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

After spending a nite in a terrible comfort inn in Saratoga, we stopped to visit family in albany and then decided to stay another night. I pulled out my marriott app and saw the renaissance hotel at a rate not much more than the moldy comfort inn. The hotel was spotless, upscale, and the rooms gorgeous. Room service was also excellent. All I can say is thank you Marriott. Always an excellent stay. Marriott is best

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank spkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola E, General Manager at Renaissance Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear spkar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Renaissance Albany Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future, the next time your travels bring you to Albany.

Sincerely,

Leola Edelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this conveniently located downtown hotel!
Old building renovated with a contemporary design. Staff were friendly and welcoming...very helpful. Restaurant offers decent meals and nice lounge. Club lounge offers the usual fare. Health club was adequate. We did not have a chance to explore the adjacent spa.

The room was quite spacious with retro furniture. It was a bit odd and felt that it was a bit stark...you could have put a lot more furniture into the room. I don’t like the platform style bed as they are a bit awkward to get in and out of. Great shower and love the Aveda bath products.

I will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank fjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola E, General Manager at Renaissance Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear fjon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Renaissance Albany Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful, and enjoyed both Wellington's and the club lounge. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Leola Edelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Spacious room and bath, comfortable bed and pillows, current tech and bathrobes. The restaurant menu is terrific and a decent wine selection. A spa is next door but I have not tried the services.

The Ambassador room is for frequent lodgers and offers breakfast and light dinner.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola E, General Manager at Renaissance Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear ksmess,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel and restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Leola Edelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

My husband and I went to Albany to see Tommy Emmanuel at The Egg in April. The hotel is within walking distance. It was restaurant week and we made dinner reservations at the Hotel's Restaurant. The food was fresh and delicious. So much so, we had breakfast there the next morning, Our room faced the Capitol Building. It was large and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. We are going back in August to see Dave Mason. Can't wait.

Room tip: We stayed on the 10th floor - corner room. Very nice view.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catherinek164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola E, General Manager at Renaissance Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear catherinek164,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us in April and are coming back to join us again in August! We look forward to seeing you then so that we may continue to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Leola Edelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

This hotel is exactly what I'm looking for in a hotel whenever I search for a place to stay. The location is the premier location in Albany for eating and drinking and for work. It's really great. The hotel is historic with beautiful murals and public spaces that seem very old and grand while also having awesome modern features.

The rooms are also really great and feature the modern look of the hotel with cool purple lighting, swivel flat screen TVs and great couches. Working out of this hotel is a treat, and even the showers are obviously recently renovated and so comfortable. The whole setup of the room was very spacious and could easily accommodate a family, but is even more perfect if you're working for the week from Albany!

As a platinum member I also had access to the lounge which was not huge but had space for the number of elites there that day. The breakfast was more than fine with hot scrambled eggs, bacon, breads, yogurts, the usual. Snacks were fine. All in all a solid lounge experience.

This is definitely my hotel of choice in Albany and a type of hotel I hope Renaissance builds outside of Albany as well!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelBear990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola E, General Manager at Renaissance Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear TravelBear990,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent visit with us at the Renaissance Albany Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of many of the amenities that we offer here at the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest and we hope to see you again the next time you travel to Albany!

Sincerely,

Leola Edelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews