We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ralph's Tavern

Ralph's Tavern
Ranked #25 of 683 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Came across a live worm in our Chicken Caesar salad. Blond waitress nearly fell over when she saw it. Brunette hostess said they would comp the meal in full. Auburn female manager reversed the decision and said she could not get ahold of the owner's and would _not_ comp the meal without their permission. Then she tried to detain us by saying that she would call the Colonie police when we insisted that they comp the meal. We paid under protest and threat and she instructed a heavy set dark haired male to follow us to the parking lot and write down our license plate. When we said we were going to challenge the charge with the credit card company she tried to make us stay there and said that we were threatening her and that she was going to call the Colonie police. Email for worm pix and audio recordings of the intimidation fest....and run for your life from this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    71
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average food, Above-average staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We love to dine locally--so my brother and I decided to visit Ralph's for my one-night visit to the area. We ordered the stuffed mushroom and the clams casino appetizers to share, and for entrees he ordered chicken parmesan, while I ordered the broiled scallops with spaghetti as a side. First off--the food was HEAVY. All our food was very oily. The clams and the mushrooms had identical (no exaggeration) breading, so taste-wise it was very disappointing. The chicken parm was slightly overcooked, had lots of breading, and a lot of cheese. Nothing really remarkable about it. The broiled scallops were large in size, but they were swimming in an oily sauce, which wasn't very appetizing--the flavor of the scallops was overpowered by oil. It was frustrating because we really wanted to like the place--the atmosphere is local, the staff is very nice and responsive, the place is filled with regulars--but the food was so over-prepared! If they used less ingredients, and let the individual flavors of each meal stand out, it would be much better. I could see this on Hell's Kitchen. As it stands today--you'll feel overly full, but you won't feel satisfied.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were looking for a place "off the beaten path" while spending the evening in Albany. We found Ralph's just up the street from our hotel and decided to try it. The staff was warm & welcoming, the food was delicious and priced right. The only downside is that the seating space is very tight and the table next to us was very noisy making it difficult to even have a conversation. However, we would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trum58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I loved the fact that it wasn't a chain restaurant. The staff were efficient and helpful and the place had a vibrant local feel. I wasn't bowled over by the food, but I enjoyed being there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

On the road, midwest to east coast, stopped for dinner. Saturday night, 8pm, place was clearing out as we came in(?!?). Looked like a bar that serves food and that is what it is. Sit in the bar or the dining room, both are CASUAL and comfortable. The waitress was a pros pro waitress- patient and helpful as we waded thru the menu and specials, and asked bunches of questions, you can tell she had been at it for a long time, and likes what she is doing. Kudos.
We had a personal pizza, the deep fried cod special, and a steak supreme sandwich. You don't leave hungry, and probably not without a doggy bag. All was very good. The winner seemed to be the breaded cod special- lightly breaded, crisp and sweet. Its an Italian place, and the pizza didn't fit my image of 'Italian', thickish light crust with modest toppings. Still very good. The steak sandwich with hot peppers disappeared with gusto, so I assume it was good.

Nothing extraordinary here, but good. Long way from my home, but I would not hesitate to stop again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandcmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ralph's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing