We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as my truck was being worked on at a nearby shop. The hotel is pet friendly for a maximum of teo dogs under 80lbs with an extra fee. They do have a shuttle that'll come and pick you up with your pet provided they're in cages. The hotel is centrally located with many restaurants within walking distance and there is a onsite restaurant/bar which serves decent food. There is a indoor heated pool that does have a retractable roof and some rooms have their doors right off the courtyard/pool area. The only bad thing was that there's no guest laundry, but you can take the shuttle to the nearest laundromat. The rooms themselves were very nice. Mine had a full, if not small, bathroom, VISIO flat screen HDTV, microwave, and small refrigerator. It also had a desk/work station and a small table with chairs, ironing board and iron. They say there's truck parking available but I didn't see a dedicated lot for large trucks, 18 wheelers, or RV's but they do offer a truckers discount. This is a very nice place and will deffinately be coming back here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coasterjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    216
    144
    97
    55
See reviews for
219
131
77
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited the hotel in late December for about 4 nights, and one could say that it was like visiting the " ICE HOTEL" . The room was okay no real problem, BUT, when we (my wife and teenage son) entered the room it was freezing. We actually keep our jackets ON! The heater was not on and when it was turn on it took well into the next day to get it to a livable temperature. Even the hallways are not heated!! In fact when we asked for some more blankets, which we received in a timely manner, the hotel employee was actually wearing a snow jacket to make the delivery!!! I think it would be a wise decision on the part of management to "Heat" the building accordingly.
Other than that, the staff did there best under the circumstances, including a satisfactory breakfast selection.

Room Tip: In winter make sure the heat has been turned on in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed here in the past and whenever I am in Albany I always come back here. Emily the hotel manager is one of the nicest and most accommodating person(s) you could ever meet. I always ask for a clean set of sheets whenever I check into a hotel and they have always obliged in a quick and tidy manner. I also like the feel of their dinning room/bar(cozy) and have always had great conversations with their bartenders especially Michelle. They also have a great shuttle that will bring you to all the shopping centers near by or the Airport. The hotel doesn't really catch your eye from the road but looks are deceiving!!!

Room Tip: I personally always just get a Non-Smoking Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilyinalbany, Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Ralph:

Thank you so much for this great review of the hotel! It was a pleasure being able to meet you during your last stay. I wanted to thank you for your willingness to inform us that you do prefer having the extra set of sheets on hand in your room. I will make sure the next time you stay with us that we have them waiting in your room upon your arrival.

I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed our restaurant and lounge Scenario’s when you visited. Michelle is a terrific bartender and I will make sure to commend her for making your dining experience pleasurable as well as memorable!

Please let me know when you are returning to the Albany area so I can personally assist you with your reservation.

At your service,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Staff has always been very accommodating to my needs. Extremely friendly from the front desk all the way to maintenance crew. They really make it feel like a home away from home.

Rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. Restaurant service is tasty & quick. They have sociable bartenders and professional staff at front desk/offices.

Mike

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from entry ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slamma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilyinalbany, Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Mike:

Thank you so much for all your kind words! This review means a lot to us because we really take pride in hiring the right individuals who enjoy their positions and like being a part of our Best Western Team. I’m thrilled to know that this does not go unnoticed by our guests!

Thank you for the rave reviews about our restaurant. Seeing that you dine with us four nights a week I’m glad that our daily specials keep you coming back night after night!

Mike I’m so grateful for your loyalty to our property and it has been a pleasure getting to know you the past couple years. You will always have a home with us in Albany!

At your service,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were bumped from an airport flight. Sent to this Best western near the Albany airport, not too
Pleased to be staying in ALB another night. Well the staff here made us happy to be spending the night! From the shuttle driver, to the front desk, to the sweet girl, Michelle, in the pub, we were
Pleasantly surprised. A most enjoyable evening. Such thoughtful and friendly staff. We hope to
Have an excuse to stay here again. Thank you Albany Best Western.

Room Tip: Because it was just the two of us both adults, near the pub/restaurant was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilyinalbany, Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I really appreciate you taking the time to write this comment describing the experience you had at my property while being stranded in Albany for the night. Being an airport hotel, we deal with passengers that have been stranded at the airport on a regular basis. Knowing that stranded passengers coming from the airport may be having a stressful day, we make every effort to ensure that we provide a bit of sunshine. I am glad you found your experience to be so positive. In addition, I am so thrilled to read that you had such a great experience in the restaurant with Michelle. We are adding a scrumptious new menu later this year that we are really excited about. If you return to the Albany area, please do return to our property. I would love to meet you in person. Thank you again for the kudos!

At your service,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth new hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay Thurs 12/20/12 for 1 night. Pet Friendly ($20). Under 1 minute of the I-87 and less than 5 minutes off the I-90.
Staff is friendly ,rooms updated and very clean. They have replaced the ceiling fans in the pool area and that is a nice much needed touch. The hotel has an indoor pool with a retractable roof and some rooms have direst access to the pool. Free (safe) parking. Usually they have cookies at the front desk when you check in.There is a new fitness center in the hotel, it is not huge but everything is new and it has what you need to burn a few calories and get a work out.Plenty of malls/stores /restaurants less than 5 minutes away (hotel shuttle will drive you). Free hot buffet style breakfast. They do have a park, sleep & fly option but I never have needed to use it.
This is my favorite non resort hotel, I stay at this hotel often when I travel but Trip Advisor only lets you review the same hotel every 3 mo.

Room Tip: ask for 1st floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdavid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilyinalbany, Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to leave this review. Reading such a positive comment makes us feel that all of our hard work and continuous updates and improvements are not going unnoticed by our regular guests’ like yourself. Our new fitness center was created in December 2011 and we have found it be a great success. I’m thrilled you liked our new ceiling fans in our pool area. Our plan this year is to re-paint the pool and the deck area surrounding it. The retractable roof over the pool is always a huge hit in the summer because it allows our guests’ to sunbathe while they swim or it can add a neat ambiance at night to be swimming under the stars.

As you pointed out we are not a resort hotel however the majority of our guests are business travelers that visit the Albany area frequently. We are very centrally located on Wolf Road where a number of restaurants and shopping centers exist which makes it very convenient for our guests to have all their needs right at their fingertips.

Our entire staff from the associates that check you in, to the housekeepers that clean the rooms, to the restaurant and banquet staff, everyone here is dedicated to ensure that we exceed all of our guest’s expectations with each visit.

Thank you again for your review and upon your next visit to the Albany area I would love to get the opportunity to meet you in person.

At your service,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Albany Airport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Address: 200 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Airport Inn offers free WiFi, free parking, free full hot breakfast buffet, indoor heated pool, fitness center, onsite restaurant & lounge and 24-hour business center. Our free airport shuttle service is a nice bonus and will transport guests to and from the Albany International Airport, and any destination on Wolf Road based on availability. In addition, We also offer a park & fly program. Our renovated sleeping rooms & meeting rooms combined with affordable prices make us the best value in the area. One of the best features of our hotel is the location. We are within two miles of the colonie center mall, and 43 restaurants on the always popular Wolf Road. You will have no dificdulty finding something to do when you stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing