We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Start..........Bad Finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent Start..........Bad Finish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a couple nights in September, 2012. When we FINALLY found the hotel (Best Western sign is waaaaaay too small to be seen through the adjoining trees), we were given a wonderful room..........comfortable king-size bed, great AC, new flat screen TV. Decent start........but then (ring the doom chimes) wi-fi didn't work! C'mon, I know we're spoiled, but our iPads DO need Wi-Fi to keep us informed. Seems Wi-Fi is available throughout the spraaaawling hotel, but for those in the rooms towards the back, it doesn't work well.........neither iPad could connect. Called the front desk, which was a mistake. Soooooo, after two days without internet, the front desk person called us Friday, saying that they have hot water problems which won't be corrected until the following TUESDAY..........but, would put us up at the other Best Western on Western Avenue, if we wanted them to. We packed everything (er........my WIFE packed everything) and went to the other. Talk about going from the frying pan into the fire! That was an experience............I'll write a review about THAT one. (Hint..........it WON'T be good!) Sorry, Best Western, but you really dropped the ball on this. If you wanted to do your clients a favor, you would have put them into a hotel of your same calibre. This just gives you a black eye.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyandPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    229
    154
    98
    56
See reviews for
233
136
81
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Otherwise you may get an inaccurate or highly subjective opinion - often from a guest who rarely stays in hotels; or who has had a bad day otherwise but decided to take his/her miseries out on the hotel; or who just enjoys being nitpicky and critical. Don't rely on 1 or 2 opinions. And look at the Summary. How did what % of guests rate the hotel?

I stay at the Wolf Road Best Western regularly - whenever I have meetings or other reasons to visit our headquarters in Albany - at least once a month and typically for several days at a time. I have also contributed what I hope are helpful reviews to Trip Advisor in the past - so I regularly get prompts from Trip Advisor to add a new review on a recent stay. I received such a prompt today, so I decided to write one about my stay at the Wolf Rd.BW last week.

The Albany Wolf Road BW remains an outstanding bargain in my experience. I've stayed there for years - and I stay in a lot of other hotels in other cities for my job so I do have some humble persective on accommodations away from home. The Wlf Road BW is not a new property, but it's safe, clean, very staff/guest-friendly, well-located, and value-priced - with free perks and services certainly as good as and probably better than at any comparably priced destination in Albany. Trust me: I've looked. And upgrades and improvements always seem to be happening. The owners obviously recognize the value to guests of ongoing inverstment in and enhancements to the property and are making them. Bravo.

Again, I urge you to look at the OVERALL ratings the hotel has received and see how the vast majority of guests have reviewed the facility for comfort and value. Don't rely on any single review - including mine. ;-) But I hope this advice is helpful to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: The hotel has multiple (and convenient) entrances, but if you prefer using only the main entrance, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete1587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've stayed here many times in the past and never have had this kind of experience. Upon arriving I asked front desk staff if the hotel was remolded in the past 2 years and she explained it wouldn't be cost effective to remodel an entire room but 30 rooms were updated and I requested one of those rooms. She didn't know which rooms were updated so we got what we got. Our rooms furniture was old, scratched and one of the drawers didn't close properly. The walls needed painted. My rooms ironing board was missing and I requested one which took 2 hours to arrive. Proper socket covers were affixed to outlets. A table with 2 chairs for eating and a desk with a chair for working. Internet was very slow but free. The room was non smoking but the sheer curtain looked like it had a burn hole in it. The privacy curtains were old and water spotted on bottom. The windows needed a good cleaning inside and out. We mentioned cleaning the inside to 2 of the housekeeping staff after the first one neglected to inform us it was maintenance departments responsibility to clean them which never got done even after speaking to the second housekeeping staff member.
The tub was worn and needed a good bleaching job. the shower head was functional but not secured to wall properly as well as the faucet. It is NOT my responsibility to report these issues to the front desk as they stated I should have upon my leaving. It is the managements responsibility to check each room and fix, replace and clean them before renting these rooms out to the public. Housekeeping can clean just so much with what the hotel's condition was in.
I used the hotels work out room and mentioned to the front desk staff when is that room cleaned. She checked and said around 5 each day as the equipment and floor needed to be cleaned and no where was the remote to the tv found. The next day the remote was visible but the place was still dirty.
The hotel is located to several restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deliastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The motel had an airport shuttle service which took over half an hour and numerous phone calls before arriving at the airport.The motel itself was of good quality with a number of restaurants within easy walking distance. The breakfast buffet was adequate and the shuttle back to the airport available early in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room adjacent to the indoor pool as it is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCTCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I normally stay somewhere else when I'm in town but based on the reviews, decided to save $50/night and give this place a try. Certainly not anything to write home about from the exterior- partly that's just because it's an older hotel but partly because there doesn't seem to be much focus on making it look better. I entered the lobby to hear the elderly couple in front of me questioning what they would do since the hotel has no elevator. Not a huge deal for me but really? In 2012 to not have an elevator? What to do if you happen to have a very large suitcase and have to get it up and down the stairs... The lobby was fine but when I drove around the back of the building- where I was told my room was- I almost turned around and asked for my money back. It's basically secluded- between the hotel and an interstate- I'm sure some women traveling on their own would not feel safe at night back here. It was poorly lit too. The entryway had stained carpet and was definitely very dated. The only redeeming quality was my room. The bed was comfortable, room seemed clean, no sign of bed bugs! For the price, because the room was fine, I stuck it out for the week but definitely wouldn't go back. All in all very disappointing basis what the reviews were. It was acceptable but certainly not on par with places like a Hampton Inn or Courtyard. There did seem to be a lot of truck drivers, railroad workers and other hard workers there- since they don't tend to be quite as fussy as some of is, that may account for the number of very good reviews. After busting your back all day, I'm sure a comfortable bed and good price are all that's required. One other thing that turned me off is that the elderly couple trying to get a room on the first floor was told there was not a single room available except on the second floor. There was about 10 cars in the entire parking lot and this hotel had to have had at least 60-80 rooms on first floor. Maybe they are undergoing remodels or something but no explanation was given except "I couldn't give you a room on the first floor even if I wanted to, nothing is available." On even the busiest night that week, I'd say the hotel couldn't have been more than 40-50% occupied. My average rating is because there clearly are lots worse hotels one could stay at- in this specific class of hotel, I'd really rank this below average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here because we got a good discount. I guess this place is good for a night and our rate was ok, but that's where the positives end. The staff was nice, but not all that attentive. When you walk in the lobby looks like an early 90's motel. Very dated.

We were given a room along the back edge of the hotel, so we drove around and got in the back door with our room key. The room was OLD. Very little has been done to this property lately. The bathroom was old with paint chipped and grout really nasty looking. Everything looked cheap. Cleanliness was ok. The a/c didn't work well. Even though set on 64, it never cooled well and never shut off.

We had a couple of other little problems. I ran out to my car to get something and when I tried to get back in, my key card wouldn't work. So, I had to walk the entire length of the building to the main entrance and then back to my room.

Overall, you can do much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weluvtheocean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stay in this hotel 2x a week 50 weeks a year. I drive tractor trailer and work at night so need a good DAY's sleep. The hotel and their staff work hard to ensure I have a hot and tasty breakfast and that I have an undisturbed day's sleep. Emily, the manager, and her entire staff are cordial and welcoming. They are serious about the quality of service that they deliver to their guests.

Room Tip: Let the Staff know if you have any particular needs....for example...I NEED to sleep in the daytime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregnKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilyinalbany, Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to share the personal experiences you have had at our property. We understand that each guest who stays at our property has specific needs and it is our goal to make sure each guest feels right at home while staying with us. Considering the number of times you stay here throughout the year it is almost like your home away from home and that is exactly the feeling we want all our guests to have. Our hotel staff appreciates your loyalty to our property and we thank you for allowing us to take care of you while you travel through Albany for work.

At your service,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
1.5 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#20 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Address: 200 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Airport Inn offers free WiFi, free parking, free full hot breakfast buffet, indoor heated pool, fitness center, onsite restaurant & lounge and 24-hour business center. Our free airport shuttle service is a nice bonus and will transport guests to and from the Albany International Airport, and any destination on Wolf Road based on availability. In addition, We also offer a park & fly program. Our renovated sleeping rooms & meeting rooms combined with affordable prices make us the best value in the area. One of the best features of our hotel is the location. We are within two miles of the colonie center mall, and 43 restaurants on the always popular Wolf Road. You will have no dificdulty finding something to do when you stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing