We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were exceptional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Albany
derry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff were exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed here to sit the Bar exam, the hotel was very clean and tidy and my stay was very pleasant with free wireless internet which was great. I would definitely recommend it for anyone staying to sit the Bar. the staff were exceptional, particularly Mansoor on the front desk, he went out of his way at all times to help us, which was a great help when dealing with exam stress. definitely worth a visit when in Albany.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review! Our staff was thrilled to hear about your experience. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    253
    191
    114
    88
See reviews for
313
182
73
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed at the Best Western in Albany in February while i was sitting the NY bar exams. As you can imagine a stressfull time for anybody so the last thing i wanted was to deal with bad accomodation. But upon arrival the staff were nothing but friendly and showed me to my room straight away. I stayed in a queens size bedroom, it was very spacious, clean and had everything in it that you needed. There was a fan heater in the room too which i used to quickly heat up the room as it was freezing outside and found it very handy. The restaurant was lovely, i didnt leave the hotel to go anywhere else because it pretty much had everything. I really did enjoy my stay and the hotel staff did everything to accomodate you as best they could. And one last thing, the breakfast was nice and started early and went on till 10 so that was great. Really not a bad word to say about the hotel, I would go back there if i was to visit albany again, the location was perfect too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations, especially our breakfast and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Originally, my friend and I were scheduled to stay in a different motel (which shall remain nameless). As soon as we arrived at our original destination we wanted to leave due to poor conditions. We called BEST Western and were immediately rescued by their amazing crew. They picked us up from the horrible motel, 20 minutes after we called them. As soon as we arrived at the Best Western we were treated like royalty! They accommodated every little request that we had, no questions asked! Eventually we wound up staying there for two weeks and had a GREAT time there!

We were there for the NY bar exam. Because we were treated so well, we recommended the hotel to friends who cancelled their reservations at the other (bad) motel, and joined me and my friend at the BEST Western.

I would like to especially acknowledge thanks for making our stay so delightful to the following people:

Mansoor Mustafa
Oumhany Taleb
Alyssa Pyle
Ellery Johnson

You guys rock!!!!

Thanks again (definitely will be coming back)

Shira :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Shira,

Thank you so much for letting us know about the experience you had. Our staff was very pleased to hear your kind words, and we are looking forward to your return to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I am a foreigner and had hard time in selecting online an inexpensive and nice place for my stay in Albany during the bar exam. I found the Best Western Sovereign hotel and I should say that it is cheaper than other places but with very good conditions and friendly staff. I would definitely advice it, particularly for people who arrive from abroad and want to save money on the hotel. It has shuttle, provide good breakfast, friendly and cheap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zsxdcf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding our establishment. We strive very hard to ensure each guest's satisfaction. We hope to see you upon your return to the Albany area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I've stayed here a number of times, and this time it appeared that the hotel was starting to slip. The rooms are serviceable, for the price they are actually fairly good. The room I stayed is in need of an update but the pile of 4 or 5 full trash bags in the hall turned me off. I hope they can turn it around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwalter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

I was visiting my elderly mother in Albany for a few weekday nights, and got a pretty good deal on a room here. I prefer more stars, but was trying to keep this trip low-budget. I had a beautiful room, quiet and recently updated. I did have problems staying connected to the wireless in the evening, as others have noted, but in the early mornings and afternoons, it worked fine. The breakfast had lots of choices, and was pleasant enough, since I didn't go when the crowds were there.

I enjoyed the bartender a great deal, and stayed to talk with him and other guests much longer than I normally would have. He was a great storyteller, and so were some of the other guests. It was nice to have an interlude with people in my age group after exhausting days with Mom.

I was on my way to my goddaughter's for a fancy dinner, and stopped in my room to shower and change. There was no hot water. The desk clerk called maintenance, but said that would take a while. She brought me up the key to the room next door, so I could shower in there. I opened the door, and there was a man in the room! Fortunately, he had a sense of humor, and was dressed. But how annoying......

I grabbed half my stuff and took it to my GD's house, where I had a lovely shower. I later found out that my aunt stayed at the Desmond, and SHE didn't have hot water, either. So I tried to laugh it off. When I went back the next morning, after spending the night at my GD's house, so I could be guaranteed a hot shower in the AM, my key no longer worked.

So, if you are a patient person, there are many benefits to staying at this hotel. Just don't expect perfection, or have a tight schedule, and it can work for you. I contacted them for a possible partial refund via Expedia, and I haven't heard anything.

Next time, I'll just stay elsewhere.........

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and accommodations. It is very unfortunate that you had difficulties during your experience but I hope that you had a satisfying stay overall. Thanks again for your feedback.

Nusair Bawla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Several floors with easy access to elevators and well marked corridors make this easily accessible for all. Amennities are wonderful and well maitained. With hot breakfast included this is a great value!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lareich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing