We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seems to be slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I've stayed here a number of times, and this time it appeared that the hotel was starting to slip. The rooms are serviceable, for the price they are actually fairly good. The room I stayed is in need of an update but the pile of 4 or 5 full trash bags in the hall turned me off. I hope they can turn it around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimwalter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

I was visiting my elderly mother in Albany for a few weekday nights, and got a pretty good deal on a room here. I prefer more stars, but was trying to keep this trip low-budget. I had a beautiful room, quiet and recently updated. I did have problems staying connected to the wireless in the evening, as others have noted, but in the early mornings and afternoons, it worked fine. The breakfast had lots of choices, and was pleasant enough, since I didn't go when the crowds were there.

I enjoyed the bartender a great deal, and stayed to talk with him and other guests much longer than I normally would have. He was a great storyteller, and so were some of the other guests. It was nice to have an interlude with people in my age group after exhausting days with Mom.

I was on my way to my goddaughter's for a fancy dinner, and stopped in my room to shower and change. There was no hot water. The desk clerk called maintenance, but said that would take a while. She brought me up the key to the room next door, so I could shower in there. I opened the door, and there was a man in the room! Fortunately, he had a sense of humor, and was dressed. But how annoying......

I grabbed half my stuff and took it to my GD's house, where I had a lovely shower. I later found out that my aunt stayed at the Desmond, and SHE didn't have hot water, either. So I tried to laugh it off. When I went back the next morning, after spending the night at my GD's house, so I could be guaranteed a hot shower in the AM, my key no longer worked.

So, if you are a patient person, there are many benefits to staying at this hotel. Just don't expect perfection, or have a tight schedule, and it can work for you. I contacted them for a possible partial refund via Expedia, and I haven't heard anything.

Next time, I'll just stay elsewhere.........

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2010

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and accommodations. It is very unfortunate that you had difficulties during your experience but I hope that you had a satisfying stay overall. Thanks again for your feedback.

Nusair Bawla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Several floors with easy access to elevators and well marked corridors make this easily accessible for all. Amennities are wonderful and well maitained. With hot breakfast included this is a great value!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lareich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

excellent location - close to restaurants and also shopping centers. The staff was very professional and courteous and helpful. The room was very clean and well supplied with towels etc. Especially loved the full breakfast the next day which was excellent. Good place to stay for a short visit - clean and quiet. The room, however, was a little small, but did contain a microwave, coffee pot with complimentary teas and coffee, small refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Woud surely recommend this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moxy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The staff was super nice and the hotel was very clean, but the bed was very hard(which some ppl like,) the hot breakfast wasn't so great the eggs were either overcooked or they had too much pepper and spice. They did have lots of cereals, pastries, and bread/bagels. The room with a king bed was sort of small but the fridge and microwave are a plus. Water pressure was amazing. The bar tender is awesome!! I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaMor522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Entire staff was friendly, accommodating and professional. We really enjoyed the Indoor Pool and the water temp. was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SovereignHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Thank you for your kind review! We are focused on the guest experience, and it is always a good feeling to hear from a satisfied customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a conference.
I reserved a room with a king bed but definitely not what we got. The bed was more like a small queen and when you laid on the bed, you would slide to the middle of the mattress. The mattress was not comfortable at all. You had to keep holding on to the sides of the bed to pull yourself back to the side.
The bathroom was in horrible condition. Ceiling tiles with holes, toilet seat looked like it hadn't been replaced since the last century, shower head with no water pressure and the exhaust fan was useless. There was a definite moldy smell in all the hallways which I believe may come from the pool.
Definitely needs updating and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliadlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#17 of 50 in Albany
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $228 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing