We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & Professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed December 1, 2009

I attended my cousin's wedding reception at Best Western Sovereign Hotel and stayed the night. The reception was absolutely beautiful and the wedding director and other staff were professional and attended to our every need. Kudos to the chef because the food was fresh and delicious.

Our room that night was very comfortable and even though the hotel was full (I guess there was a concert that weekend in Albany) we were able to sleep through out the night without any disturbances at all. The breakfast staff were busy but very helpfull and cheerful.

Thanks to everyone at Best Western!!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank TophBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

This is not one of the nicer Best Westerns. Although they have a whole restaurant dedicated to their free breakfast and it's available other times, the hotel is older, the elevators small (the back one is a bit scary), and rooms tight. I believe they renovated the inside of the elevators but the rest of the hotel gives much to be desired. Amenities same sentiment (little "closet" space; hair dryer weak; shower weak)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArubaAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Have to say we love this place but this time the room was not so nice.
No fault to the hotel but to a customer.
I have to say the room we had was vandelized. Who ever did the damage
should be very ashamed of themselves.
We think if others would take care of things in their room
the hotel wouldnt be going down in things. This hotel is great over so many
others in the area. I have stayed at others and comparing this one is
GREAT,its very helpful, right there when you need something. Breakfast is
one thing everyone should tip on due to where can one eat so cheap and get
a great full course meal. I would suggest more pillows to the beds maybe a decorated pillow to make it more nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wren53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My other half and I stayed at this hotel for one night only (thank goodness!). We did have a lovely welcome from the hotel management with wine and cheese (as a tour party) and I thought it was a lovely touch by the management.

To be fair, the bed was clean and the bathroom was clean but I wasn't impressed with the extractor cover falling from the ceiling - I didn't even bother to have a shower because of that. When the toilet was flushed the top of the cistern came up and hit a shelf above it.
The air con unit was extremely noisy and couldn't be used unless you planned on staying awake all night to listen to it.

We had a meal in the restaurant which wasn't very good. My chicken was cremated at the bottom and so dried out on the top I wondered how long it had been laying around the kitchen. However the soup I had as a starter was lovely. My husband asked for his steak tips to be medium and they arrived well done.

The worst thing was the barmaid who was extremely rude to us. It may serve her well to remember that without tourists she doesn't have a job. I could see she was under the weather with a bad throat and I initially felt sorry for her but after her throwing her bag around and trying to close the bar at just after 9:00 she lost my sympathy I'm afraid.

She served drinks in a way that was rude, disrespectful and we felt we shouldn't even be there and as it was such a great effort for her to serve us. Some friends of hers arrived around 9:45 I believe it was and she was huddled over with them complaining and moaning that she still had to work. In my opinion if she was that sick she should have phoned in and stayed home and the hotel should have arranged someone to cover for her. We've all been ill and had to work but she was beyond a joke and anyone will tell you that you don't take your personal problems out on your clients/customers!

She did inform us there was a bar down the road if we wanted to have another drink and this was before 10:00 pm! She got her way and we were dismissed just after 10:00.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I visited this hotel with some colleagues and my room was very nice. Flat screen TV, fridge, new everything. Overall a nice hotel with a little character. My co-workers did not have as nice a room, and when they asked to be moved they were told the hotel renovations are ongoing and not all the rooms had been upgraded yet.

Meeting rooms were nice and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Generally the two night stay was okay. The room was clean, but quite small and seemed worn. The room would benefit from renovation - painting, new bedding, and an updated bathroom. The bed, however, was very comfortable. The air conditioner worked well. There is only one small elevator, and since the hotel was full during this stay there was often a wait. The staff were pleasant and accomodating. A free full breakfast was offered each morning in a nice dining room. Overall the hotel is a good value for the price, but it needs upgraded rooms to keep pace with the newer budget hotel chains.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My German Shepherd , My 16 yr old daughter and myself stayed here for 3 nights.
The room was HUGE,( be sure to ask for a Re-Furbished pet room.)
The front desk staff was cordial, the house keeping staff was very pleasant. honoring my request to Not service the room, as I had it organized as I wanted it, but were prompt in providing the few items I requested.
The food at the 1228 Grill was wonderful.. (chicken alfredo..Mmmm!)
The continental breakfast was warm, tasty and filling, although a little variety for those of us staying more than 1 night might be nice. The kitchen help was gracious with our daily request for chocolate milk
The pool was relaxing and warm and clean.
The hotel is easy to find, close to 2 malls, near the colleges...
Although some guests seem to be uncomfortable at night, I had no fears taking Kolby for his nightly walk.
I'd move right in if I could !
Fellow pet owners.. PLEASE show respect when you visit this hotel, so that it continues to allow pets !
Bring a well groomed, well behaved pet and keep the hotel room and outdoor areas clean.
Be sure to thank the management for allowing pets when you check out.
Enjoy your stay at the Albany Best Western Soverign Hotel.. tell them Kolby, the German Shepherd , sent you!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lor_n_Kolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#18 of 50 in Albany
480 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $90 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing