We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Near major highways and SUNY. Good parking. Easy access to areas outside Albany. Good choice if you are familiar with the area. However, if you need to be downtown or by the capitol the hotel is a bit distant. Very close to mall with several restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Would come back and stay again staff were very kind and rooms very clean. Close to down town for the Bruno Mars concert close to mall for my young daughter to shop. Would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imom1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced, clean & friendly. The breakfast went way beyond our expectations! This Best Western will definitely be our hotel choice on future Albany visits. I'm fussy about pillows, so I should have brought my own for the best quality sleep. That's the only negative for me. My husband had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank HappyResorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location is convenient to the thruway and also there was an Outback restaurant not too far away which made grabbing a quick dinner after a long drive easy. The decor is a bit old and tired. The pool is under renovation. The breakfast was adequate, nothing to rave about. No raisin bran, but some other cereals. A nice selection of fresh fruit was really welcome - you could take an apple or something for the next day if you liked.

Room Tip: Some of the inner rooms overlook the pool but have curtains and windows to close off the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room was a bit of a walk through a long hall. The hall was really dirty. It looked like it needed at least a good vacuuming! However, the room was clean. The staff was nice and over all our stay was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Room was not clean , went out a 8 am came back 4 pm room not cleaned. went up to front desk . The lady at front desk was not able to help . She took my cell number to call when room was ready . She never called.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sydney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The honesty of your employees is excellent. We accidently left our laptop in the lobby of your hotel and they kept it safely for us for four days. We could not be more grateful!!! We would have had a very difficult time restoring a new one! Kudos to your staff at Albany NY! We so appreciate their honesty and dedication! We will be customers of Best Western again. Thank you so much for everything! We loved the restaurant breakfast! John & Sue Minick

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#18 of 50 in Albany
480 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $90 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing