We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Nearby Hotels
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CrestHill Suites Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveler rating
277
263
217
141
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
263
217
141
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesindoor poolhot breakfastone night staynew yorkbwcollegecampussunymicrowavehospitalthruway
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The inside is a lot nicer than it looks on the outside. The lobby is clean and in good shape but the rooms could use some updates. The bed in our room had a broken spring sticking out of the mattress and the bed itself was flat, hard and very worn. The breakfast area was messy and not stocked very well. The pool is ok but it's got a weird smell and taste. The internet worked great though!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this location. We were minutes from sights and good food. Peasant's pizza is a must for delivery.
The maids, maintenance, and food staffs were attentive to our needs. Unfortunately, some needs should not have been required; new mattress, mattress frame on other bed a tripping hazard, refrigerator turned into a freezer with broken knob.
The WiFi was great. They have a hub on each floor that is directly wired to at least 3 access points down each hallway stretch (they're made to look like smoke detectors) which makes for instant and clear access.
That and other recent renovations before our arrival (Some still ongoing, at least on second floor) look pretty good. Not sure if bathroom vents could have been added, but the timer switch for the no longer heat lamp is still in the wall, and a vented slot above the shower head just leads into the false ceiling. The extension added to the shower head for taller people, is backwards making for only 2 inch increase in height.
I don't know the pool cleaning schedule but the outlets could use a touch along with the rust drips along the walls. And I wouldn't swim in the one corner where the ceiling looks like it is about to cave. The sauna's handle was not there, and unsure if that was in a men's pool room since I can only see the women's'.

Room Tip: Someone in our group mistakingly started on the 5th floor and they said it was hotter than hot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler31483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are many e-plugs to use in room. Chinese restuarant placed with good taste at about 200 m away. BW location is to easy to go to any attractions in Albany. Tip : BestWestern member shoud be apply there if you have time enough, asking front or check in for more information

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kamonards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has been refurbished and the rooms were excellent. The bed was comfortable and gave a great nights sleep. The only downfall of this hotel was the complimentary breakfast. The offerings were very poor, but this shouldn't stop you from staying at a very, clean , friendly and affordable place. I would stay here again, but choose to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

As travelers that get away about twice a month we were impressed with the hotel. Our room was clean and in good shape. They have been updating rooms and have been doing a great job. Location is close to anything you would want to see and the staff does a great job on selling the area to guests. You naysayers out there need to come back and give them a try again, you won't be sorry you did. From the front desk, to sales, to maintenance, to cleaning staff, and to their head chef -I say"JOB WELL DONE"..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSO426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews