We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“oct.16,2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oct.16,2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very good. I like this hotel. I think I have stayed here for at least three times in the past two years and will continue to stay there in the next two months. I will come to Albany in Dec. this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dejun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dejun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience from your recent stay at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel. We can not thank you enough for choosing our hotel as your home away from home when visiting the city of Albany. If there is anything we can do to make you feel more at home please let us know. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    241
    176
    102
    74
See reviews for
296
164
69
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at other best western hotels, maybe i unconsciously compare this with the rest. This one is quite disappointing. As many other commented, the wall insulation obviously needs a fix. I can hear the man next room talking on d phone, and even d other end of d phone..maybe he's on speaker but I'm not exaggerating. I could hear his snoring whole night and doors slamming from time to time. The ventilation fans in the toilet is so loud and maybe old. The compressor of the fridge is another noise generating monster! Thank god I'm still jetlag and could sleep deeply despite all noises! The breakfast is a letdown. Basic and decent but not the best to kickstart a day if you are a business traveller. But with such price, I guess that's what I should expect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dandelion1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I would like to take this time to thank you for your opinion of our hotel from your recent experience. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We will do everything we can to correct any issues you have presented to be sure our customers are taken care of in the future. I do hope you give us a chance to show you we can do better!

Travel safe,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay at this hotel whenever I'm in the area because the staff is always so friendly. I'll travel an extra few miles just ot stay at here because I know they'll remember me and treat me right. Many nice restaurants in the area as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank raccarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

was a very nice hotel, clean, pleasant and the staff was very personable. beds are comfortable, rates were very good compared to all the other hotels in the area, stayed for school conference so the are was busy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for one night driving back from Niagara and had the best nights sleep a fab bed and very friendly staff would definitely recommend this hotel good location as well. Easy to find from the I 90. The bar man was a very friendly person and made the atmosphere a good one to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 64anitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was nice with an armchair and lots of plugs at the desk for recharging things. It was a bit small for two people but had everything we needed, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWisslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Wisslers,

Thank you for sharing the kind words about your recent stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign. If you are planning a trip to Albany again soon do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and we can make sure you find a room you are able to be more comfortable in. I will pass your compliments to our chef regarding breakfast to be sure he is keeping up the good work! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Second time I've visited this hotel. They advertise a shuttle that will pick you up - when I arrived at the train station I was told it would be "at least" 30 minutes. Since I had come for a meeting that had already started I took a cab - $30. Warm welcome - cookie and a bottle of water. Room was nice - fridge and microwave, small but compact, really comfortable bed. BUT - obviously unvacuumed area by the window, towel from a previous occupant hanging on the bathroom door, and when the air compressor outside the window kicked in, the volume on the tv pretty much had to double if you wanted to hear the sound.

The facility looks worn. HEAVY chlorine smell in the indoor pool, nice but very small and limited exercise area (when was the last time you were in an exercise room without a clock on the wall?). Food however is very good. Breakfast is included - probably the best free breakfast I have come across, and I travel a lot. Box lunches were adequate, and the food at the closing banquet was much better than the service - surly and amateur waitresses. And a raw baked potato, although once we got the attention of the waitress - not easy - it was quickly replaced. The regular dessert was a rich and slightly grainy cheesecake. The promised diabetic dessert - after informing the waitress that such a thing existed - was a plastic ersatz jello cup plunked unceremoniously down on the tablecloth with a packet of sugar free cookies. No plate. Just plunk. They have coffee and pastries in the lobby pretty much throughout the day, and lots of information about things to do and what to see in the area. The business center is good, open 24/7 and nicely configured.

The wifi service was better than the last visit although the vital information about logging in was not included in the information in the room. A trip to the desk cleared it up - but it involved a trip to the desk. Again - nice people, but if the service preparation had been better, they would not have had to work so hard at the desk.

It wasn't awful - but it does seem that with a little effort it could have easily been a whole lot better.

Room Tip: Only thing I can suggest is go to the room and sit in it for a while before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhinoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Pastor John, Thank you for bringing these aspects of your stay to our attention. We will do everything in our power to improve.Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We look forward to showing you our improvements on your next visit. If you'd like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#22 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing