We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Paid about $80 for one night and the hotel was not bad for the price.
The location is convenient to local colleges, food, and a crossgate mall.
The room was clean, reasonable size, microwave, refrigerator, flatscreen TV.
Wireless was free but did not work well in the room - kept dropping out.

The free breakfast was pretty good with lots of options, not just cold cereal.
Eggs, bacon, hot oatmeal, french toast, fruit, yogurt, bagels, muffins, coffee, juice. Considering the price I was impressed with breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daopenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel. I am happy to hear you found our hotel to have such a great value for the price you paid. I will share your kind words about our breakfast with our Food and Beverage Manager to be sure they keep up the good work! We look forward to seeing you again soon in your travels to Albany.

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    255
    195
    116
    92
See reviews for
316
185
75
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stopped and stayed on the way to visit my daughter at college. It was a great place to stop. Rooms were clean, quiet and staff was friendly. It's close to highway, restaurants and stores. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice. I ate at pub, it as good but a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellsM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
To our friend in Connecticut, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear feedback from the parents of students at the university. We are glad you chose to make us your home away from home while visiting your student. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family and I travel a lot. Our vacations are comprised of many types of accommodations. We stay at premium Disney resorts every February (we own DVC) and take short road trips two times per year where we stay in moderate hotels such as the Best Western. I was so very happy with our stay here. While some areas of the hotel are showing age (main lobby, pool area, furniture in room) the entire place was immaculate. There appeared to be new carpets in the common hallways and guest rooms, and our bathroom was recently renovated (vanity a bit small). We were treated to delicious cookies and full bottles of water upon check-in, as well as a friendly smile. The breakfast was served in the restaurant, and featured hot eggs, French toast, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, etc. The hotel is about 4 miles from downtown (I walked it) and there are shops, a movie theater and eateries close by. I was very impressed by the people and the attributes of this hotel and I would suggest it to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. Such kind words truly mean a lot coming from an experienced traveler is an honor. We know we aren't the newest hotel in Albany but we have completed many upgrades to our guest rooms as well as our amenities we offer our guest. I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated bathrooms! We look forward to getting the chance to serve you in the future.

Safe travels,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband, my 9 month old and I spent one night. It was my little ones first time in a hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very kid friendly!! I loved that they greet you with a cold bottle of water and the most delicious cookie ever when you check in. I would spend the night here again the next time we are in the Albany area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyV98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Nicky, Thank you for staying with us for your little ones first over night at a hotel!! It surely is an honor. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy the bottle of water and fresh cookies at check in! On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to see you again soon!

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family was in town to cheer my son's Varsity Basketball Team, trip to State Federation Title at the Times Union Center, and did not want to stay downtown Albany, so stayed at the Best Western. It was very relaxing, spacious, and accommodating. We got in earlier than expected and the two females that checked us in, allowed us into the room earlier. We were able to relax before going to the game. The next day, the FULL breakfast, was plentiful, and delicious. The Kids were super excited and left with a full stomach, as we enjoyed a nice family breakfast before beginning our day. Again the front counter staff was pleasant, and assisted us with quick ways around the City. It was delightful. We had a late check out because of a late game, but my son's team left winning the State Championship and we left with a great hotel experience. Thank you to the Best Western Sovereign Hotel, for being so accommodating. We hope to be back to defend our title next year!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd Floor middle, allowing quick access from the elevator and even distance to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBoricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at our hotel during your teams trip to Albany. We are excited to hear your kind words about our breakfast as well as our comfortable rooms and how welcoming our staff made you feel. We look forward to your teams return visit next year!

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to NYC from Ontario. Arrived at the same time to busses full of college students (cheer team). The front desk was quick to process us and assured us that they would put us away from the group, which was true, we never heard from them. The only negative was the room was connected to the pool so the room felt a bit humid and had a smell of chlorine. Breakfast was free and plentiful with a good variety. If you are looking for a clean place during a stop through that is economical then I would recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank karl_chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel on your trip down from Canada. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#24 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
2.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#36 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing