We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LIKED IT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Nyc
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WE LIKED IT”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just came back from Albany, having visited our granddaughter who attends SUNY Albany. This place couldn't have been closer to the campus, which made it easy to spend time with her. The place was clean, the breakfast was good (hot and cold choices), internet in the room, nice grounds (check out the gazebo) and the staff was helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant the first night and my steak was delicious and generous, and my husband loved the special, ribs!! Only caution, avoid rooms 134 or 135. They are right on the parking lot and lots of comings and goings all night long. Would stay again, but not in Room 134!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank d27pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    257
    205
    124
    97
See reviews for
327
190
77
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After the Best Western on Wolf Road cut our stay short because of hot water problems, they offered us the Best Western SOVEREIGN hotel! Kinda sounds upscale, eh? Sovereign.......a King or Queen..........WOW, we're getting this for the same price as the other! What a deal! The outside was pretty nice (good start)............then, we got into the HANDICAPPED room with a shower. The bed in the small room was an old innerspring Queen (maybe THAT'S the Sovereign), AC worked OK.........TV was from the 60's.....every channel washed out..........BUT, worse of all (OK, liberals.........close your eyes) there was NO FOX NEWS!! Called the front desk and asked, because the printed channel list had FOX NEWS. They had no answer. OK, will live with a washed-out CNN. Shower time!! Ya gotta picture this: a handicapped OBLONG shower stall with about a quarter-inch lip and a CIRCULAR shower curtain. See any problem with that? Yup.........the moment the shower was turned on, the circular shower curtain, which extended about six inches BEYOND the shower, didn't hold back any water, which flowed like a river on the tile floor. Called front desk. They said........."there's a drain in the middle"! Well, there was a drain in the shower...........not in the middle (which wouldn't work, anyway), but towards the end closest to the wall. Soaked flood in bathroom with all available towels, packed up and went to another small room...........and, another totally washed-out TV............but, a king-size bed this time. This "renovated" Ramada Inn is certainly not ready for prime time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyandPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Roy and Penny,

I apologize for the bad experience you had encountered during your recent stay with us at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel. The room you had stayed in was our roll in shower that accommodates our guests in need. As far as the tv channel issue, we have gone through and re programmed the TV to be sure no channels are missing. We are in the process of updating all our sleeping rooms with Flat Screen TV's as well as updating many other features of our hotel. I do hope you give us the chance to show you the changes we've made and that your experience of your last stay was a one time issue that I apologize you had to endure.

We look forward to your second chance, I know we will not disappoint.

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the staff at the hotel was very friendly and courteous. Beds are very comfortable but furniture needs updating. I couldn't believe there was no flat screen TV in the room. continental buffet breakfast in the restaurant was very nice and comfortable. We only stayed one night but I have no complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Gerry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our friends at Trip Advisor! We appreciate all the feedback we get from our customers as it helps us enhance our property for our future guests. We are in the process of making some changes to our guest rooms that I know you will enjoy. I hope you stop by on your next visit into Albany and our team can show you what we have been working on.

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed here 4 times over the last two years for an overnight as we traveled. The hotel is undergoing some renovation, which makes the appearance a little worn out in spots. The most recent stay we were stuck on a floor with obvious renovation going on. It was 8:30 p.m. and there were two men using a vacuum in the hall. To their credit, they did not make too much noise and were done quickly. The pool is excellent for my kids. They love it. The water is warm and the pool area is clean. There are two elevators in the building, but one of them is extremely slow. This is problematic when you are on the far end of the building.

Finally, the breakfast is really well done. They have a variety of items, both hot and cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Derek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us from your recent stay at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel. I am glad to hear that your kids enjoyed our indoor heated pool during your visit as well as everyone enjoyed our full hot breakfast buffet. I hope our renovations did not cause any inconvenience, but I know when you return you will be pleased with our improvements. We look forward to serving you on your next trip through Albany.

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We waited 1 and 1/2 hours at the airport, calling after 45 minutes and each 15 minutes after that before we were told to take a taxi at the hotel's expense.When we tried to take the only taxi, the driver refused to take us.Only after the front desk clerk called the cab company and had them call the cab driver,would he agree to drive us the fifteen minutes to the hotel.The restaurant was closed when we finally arrived at the hotel. When we returned by shuttle to the airport to pick up our rental car, we were dropped at the garage when we actually needed to be inside the airport to get our contract.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sseago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sseago,

I would like to offer my sincere apologies about your experience with our complimentary shuttle service. It is definitely not normal to encounter such wait times as you had to endure and for that I am sorry. I have made our desk associates aware of the issue as well as my shuttle drivers so that issues like this do not occur in the future. If you are in the area again I hope you stop by and see us again!

At your service,

Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We pre-booked here on line as the location, close to two good shopping malls, Crossgates, and Stuyvesant Plaza, is excellent for shopping Canadians en route to somewhere else, and were very happy with the price. Plus there is an excellent restaurant at the latter, Provence. Yes, the hotel is an older one, there have been some attempts at room makeovers, although as usual the bathroom shows where corners have been cut. Obviously in the case of our bathroom the buyer of the toilet did not talk to the builder of the shelf, so they had to leave the tank lid off in order to get it beneath the shelf! The free breakfast is perfectly adequate with my fave, the waffle maker. I do strongly suggest that if a hotel provides one of these it should provide at least two - waiting for someone else's waffle to cook can seem an age. Staff all friendly and pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times, and aside from minor nagging issues I'd say this is a very good hotel.
The issues I've had are quite minor, bordering on nitpicking, but worth mentioning anyways. Their website claims to offer a "hot breakfast" with a picture of a plate with eggs, bacon, potatoes etc. The breakfast actually only has 3 hot items, and the hot items are clearly pre-made products simply reheated at the hotel and served. The breakfast is still decent, but not as advertised. Also, the wifi is unreliable in certain rooms. Get a room on the 1st floor if this is important to you.
Otherwise, great value and a good location, close to shopping centers and downtown Albany at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rk200933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
1.0 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#22 of 50 in Albany
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
155 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Property: Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Address: 1228 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203-3326 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing