We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check in friendly check-out opposite!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Gales Ferry, United States
2 reviews
“Check in friendly check-out opposite!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Morning check-out girl was not accomodating at all. Paid extra for breakfast which we woke up too late for and when asked for a refund for what we paid for breakfast we were told that it wasn't possible. Went down to front desk to get change to leave a tip for housekeeping...not even a smile, must have been a bad day for her.... Noise from someone above our room even though the hotel had few occupants noise lasted till late late at night! Right above my daughters cot! When there is little occupancy, you'd think they would know enough to stagger room occupancy to avoid this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Michelle,

I am so sorry to hear about your experience while checking out at our front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who is rude or unhelpful as we strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for any issues you had and welcome you to visit our hotel again the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Nikki S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    186
    65
    29
    11
See reviews for
219
101
37
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Traveling for work is not always pleasant, but when I come to Albany I actually always look forward to staying at this hotel because it is clean, staff is very friendly, and they really take care of you. There is always complimentary coffee and tea available in the lobby with a selection of cookies, and breakfast is great.
Great experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask to be further away from elevators and ice/vending, and from I-90 to avoid the dings of elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had reserved a room 2 months in advance with Expedia. When we arrived they gave us a room for handicaped people. I thought it was strange so i asked them why and they told me it was because we had booked with expedia ??? If someone who was handicaped would have showed up later, what would have happen. It was a weird experience and a first for me in 30 years of booking hotels. Beds were hard and weird looking. Shower with a bench and no doors. I understand that but it was not practical for us. Front desk had no smiles and looked confused. Next time i will stay at the Holiday inn Suny wich was much better even if it was a little more expensive. Now I know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quebectraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I appreciate your candid review of your recent stay at our property. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations as comfort and safety are of highest priority for our guests. While room type requests cannot be met every time, I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team in an attempt to prevent similar situations moving forward. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I travel to Albany on business often and always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn/SUNY. Super fast check in and acknowledgement of Hilton Honors status. I was upgraded to a huge King Suite which I had never seen before at this location. 1.5 bathrooms, separate bedroom, jacuzzi tub...didn't really use any of it, but appreciated the upgrade experience. One of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in, and that's huge with me (the area is not quiet in general). Breakfast buffet is more than adequate although the made-to-order omelet was a little tasteless. Parking is a little tight when fully booked, and the adjacent sleezy hotel is a little disconcerting, but Hilton Garden Inn/SUNY is my "go to" place when in Albany for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Paul! Thank you so much for your kind words, and for your loyalty! It is really our pleasure to have you as our guest. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

superb hotel, room,and staff with excellent location at a reasonable price. Excellent handicap services. Personal touch shown by availability of cookies, fruit and coffee etc in the lobby. I do not understand the requirement by trip advisor to require 200 characters for this summary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Albany, and for taking the time to give us a great review! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here twice, once during an extremely busy period when the entire hotel was full for 3 days straight. Despite the very high occupancy, room cleanliness and service was very good. Breakfast was well above average (including very nice breakfast specials), and even their dinner menu was quite good. The location is a little bit out of town centre, and requires a car/taxi to get downtown, but very convenient for the SUNY campus.

I was in one of the whirlpool suites, which had an absolutely fantastic whirlpool bath. Service from the front desk was always cheerful, and they even remembered me when I returned 4 months after my first visit.

It only misses the 5-star rating because it simply lacks the luxury comforts that upscale brands might provide. However if you're looking for a comfortable business hotel, this would certainly be high on my list, and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Go for one of the whirlpool suites. The cost to upgrade is minimal if you get a good rate, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelesMelesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your suite and our restaurant during your trip here. Please come see us for a third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years for our yearly Saratoga race track weekend and love every aspect of it. It if very family friendly and easy to get to. There are many restaurants in the area that they recommended and they were right on for the selections.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Sandra! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit here for your trip to the track. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing