We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good value, no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night when in town for a wedding. It was a very functional hotel; clean, quiet, no frills, reasonable cost. We'd stay here again if passing through the area. Good location, easy to find. Free parking. Decent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    159
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
195
84
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I booked a room for a weekend get away. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Our flight was canceled due to Hurricane Sandy and we had to extend our stay. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy and taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while in Albany on business. Check in was a breeze. Room was very clean and quiet. The hotel itself had a good fitness center. Very convenient to the interstate, the state offices and to SUNY.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, and want food, you can always eat at the hotel, but if not, plan on driving abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice room for the money. Convenient to SUNY Albany campus. Only problem, not enough parking spaces. The room was well maintained and clean. Beds were the sleep number where you can change the fairness, I couldn't get the dial to work. Not a comfortable bee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had stayed at this place a couple of times before as it is a very convenient location for visiting family and friends in the area; however, we had avoided the hotel’s restaurant since we know lots of good places to eat in Albany and Schenectady. This time we were “caught” by a time deadline in meeting a friend, and with a confusing road construction project nearby, we took the easy way out and dined in. Surprise, surprise! I had one of the best spinach salads that I’ve ever had at a restaurant for my main course, and in 11 days on the road, my husband declared his burger the best of the trip.

We enjoyed drinks with our friend in a nicely furnished, quiet room off the lobby, which we considered a bonus. Our entertainment for the evening was watching NY Giants players walk in from practice on the SUNY campus. (The very fact that high-paid team members stay here says a lot for the hotel.)

We had no complaints about our room whatsoever—it’s a standard Hilton Garden Inn, in my opinion better than average for the chain. I did notice a bit of a downgrade in its giveaway amenities over what was offered years ago, but this is small potatoes. We’ll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadabout777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we accidentally double booked this hotel and cancelled one reservations. The day of the reservation we realized our mistake and called the hotel to cancel. Despite the fact that the hotel was not fully booked, they refused to refund or money or give us a credit for another night. In addition, the manager admitted that she saw the other reservation and did not dispute that this was an obvious mistake, When asked why she would not refund our money or give us a credit for another night, we were expressly told it was because they "wanted the revenues.' In other words, despite the fact that the double reservations showed that this was a genuine mistake, they wanted to make a quick profit off a guest who travels frequently.

Since we could not cancel, we up to the hotel. The hotel was adequate at best.
In sum, the only concern of this manager is the "revenues" with no concern to customer service. There are certainly better hotels in the areas with a modecum of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYLisaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfitzsimons1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We sincerely always hope to help our guests avoid travel frustrations. We try to assist our guest by sending an immediate email confirmation to verify reservation accuracy. Like you, we wish the error could have been caught sooner. Like many other businesses, we do need to set some parameters to enable us to plan and avoid last minute cancellations that don’t allow time for us to resell the room. It’s a delicate balance and we do our best to help our guests by making our cancellation terms as easy and clear as possible. We value your input and are regret any frustration.

Mary Fitzsimons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I cancelled hotel reservations with this hotel 2 weeks prior to reservation date, This was done by phone because their website did not allow me to cancel online. They charged me for the rooms anyway and refused to credit back. I attempted to get it back through my credit card and hotel told them that I called to request adjoining rooms for 4 rooms, not to cancel. I would never request adjoining rooms, an outright lie,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NyBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfitzsimons1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We know that travel plans change and are happy to cancel reservations 24-hours in advance of the reservation. One way we try to help guests is to send a cancellation email to verify the request. This protects both the hotel and the guest and is a standard practice among all hotel companies. It’s our best check and balance. In the future we’d recommend calling the hotel if you do not receive a cancellation email within a few hours of the request. We always use guest feedback to try to improve our guest experience and will continue to look for ways to do so regarding cancellations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing