We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family. I have two very young children and the staff was very accommodating. The front desk attendant went out of her way to find us a DVD player so the kids could watch movies in the room. Hotel grounds and rooms were both clean. Our bathroom was also very clean.

One interesting note; the hotel policy indicated we were not allowed to eat in the restaurant with our take out food from another restaurant even if we purchased drinks. I thought that was a strange policy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    188
    67
    31
    12
See reviews for
222
102
38
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was fine. The location was great right off the interstate. Gym was nice and in good shape. All equipment seemed to be working well. Rooms were clean. Decent TV and web connection was great. I tried to get a late checkout and got rejected as the next night was sold out. First time in a long time that I have been rejected for late check out as I am a diamond member. Nice place and I would recommend for all types of travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Wonderful, clean, beautiful, quiet hotel. We'll be back. Asked for a quiet area on an upper floor, got it. Breakfast was great. Maps of the area would've helped for evening meal. Great service, beautiful restful night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdboulanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Clean!! Great beds, quiet, easy parking, nice shower and other fine qualities. For the money, I have yet to find a cleaner place to stay. Of course nothing is perfect and to be fair the are a couple of minor problems that could be fairly easily rectified. Personally, vending machines are great in Hotels, but at the Garden Inn there are none. Some items are available for purchase at the front desk, but at midnight, traveling down 4 floors and waiting several minutes for somebody to appear is a poor system. The only other thing is the pool is advertised as heated, but the water was room temperature at best. These are minor glitches in an otherwise great hotel. If cleanliness and quiet are of paramount importance, I highly recumbent the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed 1 night at the Hilton Garden Inn on Washington Ave in Albany to attend graduation ceremonies. The Hilton is right across the street from the SUNY Albany campus. Be sure to plan ahead if you will be attending any graduations, the area hotels fill up fast! The Hilton was new, very clean and comfortable. It was easy to locate, parking was available and they offer a breakfast buffet for about $10 that was very good. We had dinner at the local Chili’s. There are a lot of eateries, mainly pizza and bars, but the newer restaurants/mall are located on Wolfe Road, a quick and easy drive from the Hilton. The room itself was spacious and clean and quiet. Even though the hotel is close to the highway, you didn't hear traffic noise. One elevator didn’t work and with the full hotel it made it a slow process to enter and exit as everybody was crowding in whenever a tiny bit of space was available. The fitness center was small but adequate. Check in was fast and easy, with pleasant personnel. We would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vct71655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knox city, tx
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Boston. Room was clean, comfortable and the staff was very friendly. When making your reservations online, pay a little extra and get the breakfast. It was awesome. Do not stay next door at the Red Carpet Inn. We could see it from our room and it looked like short version of the Tower of Terror. I thought it had to be closed and bums were just living there but it is actually open for business.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hounds20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Convenience, Convenient, nice folks to check you in, and see that you're ok. That's good.

Was on the college visit trip, looking at colleges for my Son. Needed a place that was like, almost at the front doors of the SUNY Campus. This place was it. You could see the campus across the street.

There are bunch of places to I could have picked, but I know what I'm getting with a Hilton Garden Inn product.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnitsbyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing