We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We came down with a group of others and knew the moment we walked in, it wasn't going to be a night to remember. There was a convention going on and the hall and main lobby were so congested. We looked past that until we got into our room. For starters...if you care about your hotel and presentation to others then maybe you would update! The beds were double beds- horribly small and not at all comfy. The room was not very clean, I refused to take a shower because the tub looked gross. My son did take a quick shower only because when he got out of the extremely chlorinated pool, his eyes burned so bad he had no choice. Then there was no hot water! That problem wasn't just in our room but in the rooms of the others that had came too. The tv had bad picture on it and few channels. The free breakfast was powered eggs...we opted for Dunkin Dougnuts down the street. For the price of this room, we should have paid the extra and stayed somewhere else. On a positive note, the one house keeper that I did meet was an older woman and extremely kind. She was helpful and tried to help us when we had a question about parking. Also the Main Street near the hotel has tons of good places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFFREY C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We pride ourselves in customer service and our breakfast is one of the industries best. We expanded not only our hours but brought in fresh pastries inc. danish, donuts and bagels. All our hot items are cooked to order...FRESH. Our beds are new Simmons pillow top mattresses. We have just also bought all new beautiful carpeting for all the rooms. WE apologize that the furnace broke down on Saturday night for the group building, but we did our best and cleaned vacant rooms in the tower so people could go and take showers. We can not foresee things breaking and actually just had the boiler serviced two weeks ago in preparation for this weekend. We did have a function on Friday night but they did not stay at the hotel. I thought considering everything, the staff did an excellent job even when getting screamed at for something that no one had control off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    186
    215
    195
    152
See reviews for
274
134
61
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice hotel, easy access from the highway. Room was large and clean. Front counter service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were en route from Cape Cod to Toronto, and our travel consultant had booked us in here for the night. We checked in early evening and front desk could find no record of our reservation, even though our voucher gave the name and phone number of the agency our consultant had used. The clerk consulted his duty manager who shrugged her shoulders and left it to him. On phoning this agency, after a few anxious minutes, it was confirmed that we had a reservation. They found us a room, even though they seemed to be very busy. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was spacious and generally OK.
We decided to have an evening meal in the restaurant, which was deserted apart from two alcove tables - no sign of staff. I went to the bar where the only person was a woman who was busy on a computer. I told her I'd like a table. She glanced up from the computer and said "He'll be round the corner". In an alcove I then found a man who was equally devoted to a computer. He told us to sit down anywhere. This we did and waited several minutes before he came to take our order. Another wait before we were served. The foot could be described as typical pub grub; it was acceptable but uninspiring.
We enjoyed a good night's sleep before continuing our journey, but the worst was yet to come. "Complimentary breakfast" was a hot and cold buffet, except that nothing was hot. Solid scrambled egg, cremated bacon and home fries were in trays over burners which had expired, and a vat of 'corned beef hash' was inedible. There was a DIY waffle machine which was OK, as were drinks, and toasters. As we left the breakfast room, a member of staff appeared and began relighting the burners and giving everything a stir, perhaps replenishing where necessary.
We were glad not to be staying here for a second night, and our stop-off at Ithaca the next night made up for this disappointing experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFFREY C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We take customer service very seriously and we always encourage guests to give us their feedback. This allows us to do further training or to make staff changes if this is something that has been already been reviewed with staff. As we continue to upgrade our breakfast..(which is usually considered one of the industries best) we need all feedback. We have recently switched to a daily delivery of fresh baked goods and guests are loving it.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I guarantee we will address this!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Place is a good location and staff at reception are very good but major issue when we stayed for food service, as member of staff didn't turn up and no cover. Bar lady did her best but under a lot pressure. Food average, rooms & decor a bit tired. Breakfast okish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0seyWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's certainly not the Taj Mahal - but the rooms are clean and ok - the only problem is if you get a room on the top floor of the rear wing you have a longgggggg walk and then have to drag your suitcases up the stairs as there is no lift in the older rear wing.

Keep that in mind if you are older and can't carry cases - ask for a room in the main wing - or hope there's someone to help you up the stairs.

Dinner at the restaurant was fine - a good mix of food with Ribs'n'Mac'n'Cheese very tasty. The restaurant manager is fun and a very accommodating guy (poor guy was there late for dinner and early for breakfast the next day but still had a laugh).

Overall a comfortable but not flash place - but certainly fine for a weary traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QldTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, quiet. Full American breakfast. Microwave, frig and coffeemaker in room. WiFi fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.9 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Albany

Property: Ramada Plaza Albany
Address: 3 Watervliet Avenue Ext, Albany, NY 12206-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Albany hotel offers that rare combination of great rates and friendly personalized service. With all new carpeting in the rooms,(Jan,2014) select comfort pillow top beds from Simmons and 32" flat screen TVs, we are confident you will not only be comfortable but have a great night's sleep. Centrally located in Albany just 10 minutes to downtown and the airport. The perfect location for unforgettable weekend escapes and elegant meetings and events. We pride ourselves in customer service with a well rounded knowledgeable staff that has consistently met all our guests needs. We offer a Complimentary upscale hot breakfast with fresh baked goods that guests rave about. Our restaurant offers American cuisine including New York center cut steak to our Certified Angus beef half pound burgers. All reasonably priced to fit anyone's budget. We guarantee the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Albany Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing