We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Yonkers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

In this Ramada you will get exactly what you pay for. Rooms are affordable and in a good location for shopping/travel. Breakfast buffet was average and the front desk was friendly. However ,the room was smelly which was most likely due to the stained rug. The pool area was a little dirty (mostly cigarette butts) and never had towels available for guests. All was fair until one of the two elevators broke down and was not repaired within our 5 day stay!?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baseballma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    185
    213
    191
    152
See reviews for
273
133
60
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We chose this location for its proximity to the Albany Airport, as well as the fact that it offered free parking and shuttle service. However, our expectations were surpassed by the outstanding service provided by JodyAnn who worked at the front desk. When we contacted her enroute around 1:00 in the morning to confirm the location, she asked for our name. Upon our arrival, all of the paperwork had been completed and our key was ready for us - which was most welcome given the time. She quickly took the information needed to confirm a shuttle ride the following morning. Noting that we would be leaving before breakfast, JodyAnn said she would set aside some food for us the following morning. When we checked out at 5:30 the next morning, JodyAnn had 2 plates of food ready for us, with bagels, yogurt, fruit and granola. She included napkins and utensils. I was so surprised at her thoughtfulness and kindness.
Our wonderful experience didn't end there. When we returned a week later and called for a shuttle ride, Peter, the Office Mananger explained that since we would need to wait for the next shuttle, he asked that we take a taxi from the airport, obtain and receipt and he would reimburse us. As soon as I entered with the receipt, I was immediately given the cash back! I have traveled in many locations and stayed at many hotels - even ones much more expensive. However, the staff and cleanliness of the room and overall hotel, our stay at this Ramada far surpassed other accomodations. I would never hesitate to stay there again - and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HemingwayDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed two nights to visit friends and family. Price was good. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also good. Carpet could have been a little cleaner but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Humphryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredD424, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Loyal Traveler,

To get sucha a great review from a seasoned traveler is amazing. Thank you for spending your trip to Albany NY with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us while you visited your friends and family. Any time you are in the area please stop in and see us again! Travel Safe!

Jared DeMagistris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The service is outstanding.
Staff will go above and beyond to ensure that the guests are satisfied.
All the staff is very friendly.
Great location and very easy to locate.
Food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easternstar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredD424, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Retha,

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you again for your praises from your last event! Our staff is very happy everything went so well. Your guest were all a pleasure to serve. We cant wait for your group to come back again! Have a great summer! Thank you again for the great review!

Jared DeMagistris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. I stayed four nights (which is a lot) and the room was clean, the hotel was quiet and the staff were ABSOLUTELY fantastic. The free continental breakfast was the best I've ever had. Go see the bartender Larry (not at breakfast). He is AMAZING and makes a great martini. Everyone was incredibly accommodating and sweet. Recommend, recommend, recommend! Great deal too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greymoon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredD424, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear friend, Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us at the Albany Ramada Plaza. It is great to hear that you were comfortable throughout your four night stay. Larry is truely a great asset to our bar and restaurant. His personality is second to none! I am glad you had time to visit with him. We look forward to seeing you again soon in your travels.

Thank you again!
Travel Safe,
Jared DeMagistris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Conveniently located in Albany, this hotel provides the cleanest rooms with the friendliest staff. Their low rates include a very clean large room, really comfortable new mattresses, access to their 2 pools (indoor and out), free hot breakfast and free parking. The hotel also has a bar and restaurant on site. I would recommend this place to my closest family and friends, so why not strangers?

Room Tip: I cant imagine any room being less than the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtagg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredD424, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on your last trip to the State Capitol! It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing a great conversation with you. I am glad you liked our new lobby furniture as well as our in-room upgraded 32 inch LCD tv's. We are currently in the process of switching out all our tv's to LCD tv's, so it was great to see that those changes were noticed. I hope you stop in and visit us again soon, and as always travel safe!

Jared DeMagistris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had a conference at the Albany Ramada and stayed over for three nights. Upon arrival the desk associates were awesome. Full of smiles and eager to help with any questions I had about the area. Since I was there for a few days I decided to find some local places to eats. The desk suggested Beffs which was amazing. Great food and great people! The conference area was very nice. The whole group ate lunch at the hotels restaurant each day. They had different specials every day so we didnt eat the same food every day which was awesome. Our conference went so well that we will be back monthly. I look forward to seeing everyone at the ramada next month.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Insuranceman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaredD424, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Jim,

It was great seeing you again. I am glad the new job is going so well. We are very proud to be the host of your companies conference each month! It is great to have such great feedback from such loyal customers. As always travel safe and we will see you in July!

Jared DeMagistris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
1.9 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Albany

Property: Ramada Plaza Albany
Address: 3 Watervliet Avenue Ext, Albany, NY 12206-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Albany hotel offers that rare combination of great rates and friendly personalized service. With all new carpeting in the rooms,(Jan,2014) select comfort pillow top beds from Simmons and 32" flat screen TVs, we are confident you will not only be comfortable but have a great night's sleep. Centrally located in Albany just 5 minutes to downtown and the airport. The perfect location for unforgettable weekend escapes and elegant meetings and events. We pride ourselves in customer service with a well rounded knowledgeable staff that has consistently met all our guests needs.Our hotel's staff provides an unforgettable experience by going above and beyond for every guest. Ramada Plaza Hotel offers exceptional service threw out! Sophisticated and friendly, we provide the ultimate experience for business and leisure travelers alike. We have an upscale free hot breakfast with fresh baked goods delivered daily that guests rave about. Our restaurant offers American cuisine including New York center cut steak to our Certified Angus beef half pound burgers. All reasonably priced to fit anyone's budget.We also have 24 hour 7 day a week transportation to the airport. Shuttles are also available for the train and bus stations but are subject to availability.We guarantee the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Albany Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing