We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a few rough edges.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, a few rough edges.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very chic and stylish. Desk person was competent, not overly welcoming. We had the standard queen room--a tad small with no bedside table or lamp on one side. Spacious bathroom, but glasses were plastic, albeit heavy.
Location is unbeatable for any downtown activity. Valet parking is available, but we found a spot right in front of the hotel. On-street parking is free from 6 pm Friday to 8 am Monday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGal748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, and hope you were able to visit some of the local attractions that are within walking distance from the 74 State hotel, including the NY Capitol, Times Union Center and Palace Theatre. Thanks again for the review, and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    136
    44
    17
    12
See reviews for
61
101
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at 74 State Hotel so that I could explore the State Capitol while my husband attended a meeting. The hotel is centrally located and the lobby, restaurants and rooms were all very tastefully designed. The bath was spacious and well appointed. Although we were inconvenienced by a few minor issues, the staff went well above and beyond to make things right. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel to celebrate the tulip festival next spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcker605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I hope you were also able to visit the NYS Museum, a few blocks away while you were in town. We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious well appointed rooms and wonderful staff. We look forward to having you back during Tulipfest during Mother’s Day weekend next spring. Thank you for choosing 74 State, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I always stay at 74 State. Easy access to Train Station, Capitol building and arena. The staff are great, the rooms are great and the restaurant and bar are as good as it gets.

The price is great as well.

The only downfall is that they have fire doors and they close very loudly and you can hear people talking in the hallway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the 74 State Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Downtown Albany and just a short ride from Amtrak. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. Should you experience this again the next time you stay with us we would be happy to move you to a room away from other guests. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you back the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is billed as a boutique hotel, but no. Unless your idea of a boutique is Macy's. Though fairly empty the night I stayed, they stuck me in a room facing a wall. The smoke detector was located directly above the bed and kept flashing all night, which kept waking me up. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, so there's that. The front desk staff was dismissive, bordering on rude, though the doorman was a doll and got me a cab in the pouring rain. The restaurant was okay—good service, average food. It's just way too much money for what you wind up sleeping in.

Room Tip: I would ask for a hotel towards the street because the back views are terrible/non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_in_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize if we failed to exceed your expectations in any way. We will look into your concerns, and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I enjoy the comfort of this hotel from the great beds to the roomy space to the powerful shower water. The location is perfect for downtown meetings and surrounding restaurants. Albany is not huge, but there is only one other major hotel in the area and the others are fairly distant. The service has been great. I didn't like the inability to check in early, but then appreciated that inconvenience when I needed to extend my checkout beyond the 11am (a bit early) checkout. The hotel has it's own good restaurant and separate bar, which I liked. I prefer staying here than the chain hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, comfy beds and strong water pressure. We apologize that we were unable to check you in early. Whenever possible we try to accommodate early check-in requests. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy our onsite restaurant and the Bistro/Bar at 74. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to having you back the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the hotel at which to stay. When you first enter there is not a glamorous lobby but that soon becomes unimportant. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. There is plenty of drawer space so you can unpack your suitcase. The staff is exceptional from the valet, who will help with your luggage if necessary, to the cleaner who does up the rooms. The front desk staff was exceptional. They offered to help in any way and they did it with a real smile. They made me feel like an important guest that they were happy to have at their hotel.
If you are attending a convention know that it is four blocks of steep uphill walking or a $7.50 cab ride to get to the convention center. The walk back is downhill and easy to do.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you be sure to ask for a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suger1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and exceptional staff. We are happy to have had you as a guest, and are pleased that we were able to show you just how important you are at our hotel. Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the summer and the room, amenities and service were fantastic. We had drinks in the bar, which has a great wine list, and the staff were very, very gracious. My son works for The Four Seasons Resorts, and we appreciate quality accommodations. 74 State delivered! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of 74 State Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and dining at the 74 State Hotel, and look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Address: 74 State St, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing