We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, eco-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was really pleased with my stay at this hotel. The bathroom was the best part of the room! The shower was lovely and marble floors were pretty as well. Good lighting after a few hours in a car is always a welcome treat! The shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion were all eco-friendly as well as the mirror! I was there for just one night, but the bed was quite comfortable. I had no trouble getting right to sleep and had plenty of energy for the day-long meeting I attended the next day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the oversized bathroom, and our commitment to choosing recycled and environmentally friendly products. In fact, even the granite countertops in the bathrooms were reclaimed from New York state. We look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you to Albany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Clean and comfortable but not worth $219/ night. Contrary to online advertising, no spa robe or coffee maker in the room. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Location was excellent for my purposes, but there seem to be others nearby. Restaurant was closed so dinner was served in the bar which was somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanG9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review 74 State Hotel. We are currently experiencing our highest demand season of the year, but we strive to keep our prices competitive with other local hotels. We sincerely apologize if any of your stay did not exceed your expectations and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Albany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

*Overall, that is. It was certainly stylish, conveniently located, and the bed was extremely comfortable. It just seemed to be the little details that were overlooked here and there. When I walked in my room, it smelled like someone had just used the bathroom. I would have turned on the exhaust fan, but there wasn't one. Also, there was no tub just a shower. Mind you, a very spacious shower. There was also a crumpled paper cup under the dresser when I arrived, so that area apparently doesn't see a lot of attention. The bar/bistro was packed on a Saturday night and it was a struggle for the servers and bartenders to attend to everyone in a timely manner. While the staff was generally nice, their level of service didn't quite seem to quite match the expectation of a "boutique hotel."

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terridv, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the 74 State Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our style, comfort and location. We sincerely apologize if our service failed to live up to your expectations during your stay and hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you are in Albany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great old style hotel with a wonderful 2nd floor bar with great windows overlooking the street. Nice upgrade to a suite with fireplace and whirlpool tub! Convenient to all State of NY buildings and much nicer than the Hotel Albany for less money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsdoc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terridv, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the 74 State Hotel, Downtown Albany’s only boutique hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient downtown location. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our Bistro/Bar at 74, where we offer live jazz every Saturday. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed only one nite at 74 State, so I can't say anything about the in-hotel restaurant/bar or the area, but the hotel itself was a great find. It's a nice old building that has been updated to a boutique hotel, and the vibe is chic but comfortable. The room was super clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom is modern and luxurious. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terridv, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the 74 State Hotel, Downtown Albany’s only boutique hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had the opportunity to attend a Carrie Underwood concert at the Times Union Center in Albany. That meant another over night stay at the 74 State Hotel. This is our second visit and we found the staff, accomodations, and experience as good as the first. This is a top-rate hotel and is a bit pricey.... But the accomodations are well worth it. We had a king, non-smoking room that was perfect. The hotel staff went our of their way to make the stay up to their standards. The bar is very warm and friendly with a great view of State Street. We will return......

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terridv, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much Ed for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the 74 State Hotel. We hope you enjoyed the Carrie Underwood concert and are pleased that you enjoyed this stay as much as your 1st stay. We look forward to serving you again when you come to Albany for your next concert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

You won't go wrong staying here.... great downtown Albany location, friendly staff, comfy beds and soft towels and pillows! This downtown boutique hotel has it all at a great price. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant or bar, but they look equally good and we'll try them out on our next stay. If you're looking for an alternative to the "big box" experience, don't miss this one!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terridv, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much Zachary for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the 74 State Hotel, downtown Albany’s only boutique hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and location. Be sure to check out our Bistro/Bar at 7 4
with floor to ceiling windows the next time you are in Albany. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Albany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Address: 74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $122 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing