We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay once Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is our second stay at this hotel and we couldn't be happier. The lobby features starbucks coffee 24/7 which is nice as well as a soda machine (lemonade, cola, sprite, water) as well as tea.

The pool and hot tub have to be the best features at this hotel. The pool is clean and very warm (good for kids) and has a lot of room around the outside for walking and sitting at a chaise or table. Hot tub is also great. They have a Bose music system playing relazing music for your swim as well.

My biggest issue is the location of the elevators and the doors near the elevators. There are only 2 elevators on the farthest sides of the hotel and if you aren't parked near one or your room is in the middle of the corridor it can be a big walk with luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysterie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed one night after a trip to Cooperstown to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame.

We needed a room with two beds, but none were available by the time we booked, but they had a two-room suite with a fold-out couch and that did the trick.

The rooms were a decent size, though not over-sized, and included a full kitchen with refrigerator, which we did not use but could be very handy for people who have an extended stay.

No problems at all at check in, and we were able to find a good Indian restaurant for dinner, only 10 minutes away. This hotel is very conveniently located, just off of I-87, so it puts you minutes away from a lot of things in the area (I took a short drive to Troy, early in the morning of our departure date and it was very easy getting there and back).

Though we did not use the indoor pool, I noticed that it was very busy and well-used in the evening that we were there.

One of the nice things that I like to make use of when traveling is the self-service laundry, to have fresh clothes in the AM. This was the very first one that I've been to where the use of the washers and dryers were completely free. Yes, no coin-operated washers or dryers. You only had to pay for the supplies, which were quite reasonable. They also had the added considerate touch of including a plastic laundry carrier in each room.

I've been to a number of the budget chain hotels that featured a "free" breakfast in the AM, and found most to be rather lackluster. A case of pretty much getting what you paid for (I can recall one place that simply put out a couple of boxes of Hostess doughnuts, unopened, with some coffee), but this breakfast was close to a number of paid buffet breakfasts that I've had at other hotels. They had the obligatory make-your-own waffles, but also scrambled eggs and sausage, in addition to the standard "free" breakfast fare, like cold cereals and pastries. Even their fresh fruit selection was quite good. The breakfast area was hopping by the time we got there, but the food area was well maintained and constantly restocked (sometimes an issue in other places I've been), and the seating area was large enough to accommodate a large number of diners.

I guess my only "complaint" about the room was that there were not separate thermostat controls for the two separate rooms, but not a major grievance by any means.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maisany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for one evening. The general manager check us in and he was very friendly and helpful. The two room suite was spacious and allowed us to spread out a bit - which was a welcome reprieve.

There was a Macaroni Grill across the street and plenty of nearby shopping including an large indoor mall. The hotel had a free dinner with wine, beer and soft drinks. In the morning, they provided traditional breakfast fare. The night we were there, they were having a "movie night" and they set up a movie in the board room on one of their large screen tv's. This was a hit with my kids!

Overall, we were super happy with all of the amenities and the kindness of the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaAndHerEntourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Let me preface by saying i travel a lot both domestically and internationally and my wife was a writer for a travel magazine. We could not have been more pleased with our stay at this hotel. Rooms were super comfortable and the staff and service was terrific. I would highly recommend to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

it was so nice to come home to homewood suites again. of course we were greeted by Linda at the desk and the gals Lorie and Rene from the serving staff.
Robert the manager was his usual wonderful self asking what he could do to make our stay better... NOTHING !!! we had even left some pool floating devices with them and they were still there.
From the morning meal to the light dinner we were treated like family. Jim from the serving staff told us they were grilling steaks that night and he said come to Joseph or myself and we will cook it to perfection.
our room was clean and close to the pool as we requested.
These folks bend over backwards for you,. it was mentioned by another guest that they get paid to be nice.. that is not so. when you have these folks asking about your family and your health thats not just being nice ,, THEY CARE/ and once again Erin was there to make sure we were all set with our stay..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joni54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel is easy to find, in a convenient location near the airport and several chain restaurants and handy shops. The front desk staff is very helpful with any questions we had about the hotel or the surrounding area. The room was immaculate. It was a large and comfortable king bed suite with an attractive, well-stocked kitchen. Internet (wired and wireless) is free as is use of the hotel printer, fax, etc.
The breakfast was ok. My only complaints were that the eggs were cold and that the service person in charge of the breakfast are seemed a little harried. Tables weren't cleaned thoroughly (some crumbs left behind). Other than that, everything was perfect and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed here for a long stretch during home renovations. Staff was wonderful, and very accommodating to all that we needed. Manager is delightful and very attentive. Services were good. I wish breakfast were healthier, but I did find the staff willing to do what they could with what was available.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northeast54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany

Address: 216 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albany
#1 Family Hotel in Albany
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $141 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany is an all suite hotel that caters to the guest staying 5 or more consecutive nights but is absolutely perfect for the traveler that only needs a night or two. All suites include a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, twin burner stove top, dishwasher, garbage disposal, and all pots, pans, dishes, glasses, and utensils. Our rate includes a full hot breakfast buffet, seven days a week, and a dinner buffet including salad bar and beer, wine, and soda Monday through Thursday evenings. We have a beautiful heated indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor basketball court, a newly remodeled 24-hour fitness center, BBQ gas grills, complimentary washers and dryers, and a well-stocked 24-hour suite shop (convenience store). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albany Hotel Albany
Homewood Suites Albany
Homewood Albany
Albany Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing