We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property with Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Property with Awesome Staff”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I travel to Albany, NY weekly and have stayed at many of the Hilton properties around. The property is by far the best value and most comfortable in the area. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure you are happy with your stay and your room. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the meals provided make this a great value. And if your looking for the extras (pool, hot tub, gym, basketball court) this place has everything. I love when they have game night ie: Poker or Trivia.

So if your looking for a hotel for a night or even a few days this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for a terrific review of our hotel and our staff. We really can't tell you just how much it is appreciated. Our poker and trivia nights are really fun, aren't they?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    157
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
505
164
50
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight and couldn't have been happier. It is a clean, new hotel with really friendly staff. The rooms are large and comfortable. Even the pull-out sofa was comfortable. The breakfast was much nicer than some Homewood Suites with a good selection of fruit and yogurt as well as the regular options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digitalruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for a great review of our hotel and for thinking that we are still a "new" hotel. That is one of the best compliments we can receive because we are almost seven years old already! We hope to see you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, and New Paltz, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best place to stay in the area, in fact I can't think of a better hotel I've stayed in. Extremely accommodating staff, good food, lovely rooms, excellent amenities (whoever heard of FREE laundry facilities?!?!?!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traumatired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Incredible review! Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year for a post Holiday business event, and the staff and facilities are always excellent. This is our fourth year and we are always welcomed and treated well. The pool area is great and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you! We always love having your group here, too. It's starting to make me feel old, though...fourth year here already?! That's just remarkable...can't wait to see your gang back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

One night stay, no complaints at all. Huge rooms, wonderful friendly staff, outstanding breakfast, comfortable beds, and very clean rooms. A perfect place to stay in the Albany area! Even if you need to be in the downtown area, probably worth the trip from here.

Room Tip: You might want a room facing away from the highway, although the faint highway sound didn't keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for a really great review. We hope that we see you again soon, but for a couple more nights next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went to visit Siena College with son and niece. Extremely nice hotel that was close to the college and restaurants. The hotel was a little pricely but since I was sharing the cost of the room, it may it reasonable. Other than the price, I would definitly stay at this hotel again. Large pool and fitness room and a good hot breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate any and all guest feedback more than you might expect. However, I feel it's necessary to comment on the price and on the ranking us a 3 for VALUE. We do cost a bit more than most other hotels in the area, but you should keep in mind what you are receiving when you do stay with us...each room is more than a room; they are suites with full kitchens, sleeper sofas, and vanity areas, ranging in size from 480 Sq. Ft. to 1040 Sq. ft. A full hot breakfast buffet is included each morning, while a full hot dinner buffet is included Mon-Thurs evenings with beer, wine and soft drinks and a salad bar. We have complimentary washers and dryers, business center, high-speed WIFI, heated indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor courtyard area with BBQ grills, fitness center, and a basketball court, to name a few of the amenities that are included in a stay with us. So, while we are a bit more expensive, we feel that we more than provide value behind the cost. I dare say that we are the best value in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Four-night stay -- my wife and myself -- in Albany meant something more than the traditional hotel room; we were looking for a bit more of the "all of the comforts of home." Homewood gave us all that and more.

The two-room suite was small, but it was more than I expected it to be. We LOVED the FULL-SIZE refrigerator in the kitchenette and the TWO televisions. And in spite of being only a 100-yards from the interstate and rooms full of people around us, it was VERY quiet in our room.

We knew that Homewood provides a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised by the Mon-Thu "manager's reception" with hot entrees, a limited (though thoughtfully chosen) selection of sides, and complimentary beer/wine in the evenings. I assume that various local restaurants provide the food. Nice touch. The breakfast and evening buffets add value to the experience and certainly make the room rate even more competitive.

Service was fine. The staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful. Housekeeping staff were top-notch; the rooms were immaculate! Everyone we encountered seemed poised to help and make us feel welcome.

Easy access to many dining and shopping options nearby. If you're a coffee snob -- like us -- there's a funky little coffee shop directly across from the hotel that makes tasty coffee and the Barnsider restaurant about a half-mile south of Homewood is excellent for dinner.

We did ONE small flub when we checked in on Saturday night (26 Jan): no-one at the front desk. We stood there. I called out a couple of times. Nothing. After about a minute or so, the two front-desk staff members ran out from somewhere in the back. From their conversation -- which continued while we were being checked in -- they were looking at something online. Our check-in associate, however, was extremely accommodating in asking about our room preferences and and helping us learn the way Homewood works. Almost made up for the odd empty front desk.

We will be back in Albany many times -- family up there we need to visit regularly -- and Homewood Suites will be our first choice. For sure.

We had one challenge with the room: lack of storage. In exchange for the two-room structure and the kitchenette, we didn't have much in terms of closet space to store baggage, overcoats, etc. And there was no place to put the large bedspread except on the table in the sitting room. Even a set of coat hooks on the inside of the room door would be helpful.

In spite of the "oops" moment with the front desk and the lack of storage space, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for a very fair and honest review of our hotel. Obviously, we are humbled by your rave reviews of our cleanliness, food, and, for the most part, our service. I can tell you that I am deeply sorry and terribly embarrassed for the front desk issue you faced when trying to check in to our hotel. Certainly, that is not what is supposed to happen, nor what our team is trained to do. I assure you this will be addressed and eliminated. I would also like to comment about a couple other items you mentioned; the first being our food. We serve a full hot breakfast buffet seven days a week and a full dinner including an entree, sides, salad bar, beer, wine, and soda on Monday-Thursday evenings. All of our food is prepared right here at the hotel and, as a matter of fact, we have won several awards for our food and beverage! The last thing is the lack of storage or closet space. A very little known "secret" is that we have twelve private storage closets throughout the hotel. They are all complimentary and are on a "first come, first serve" basis. Simply ask the front desk staff (if you can find them) ;) and they will do their best to find you a closet as close to your suite as possible that you can have during your stay. Once more, thank you for your honesty and thank you so much for your business. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
5.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Address: 216 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#1 Family Hotel in Albany
#1 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany is an all suite hotel that caters to the guest staying 5 or more consecutive nights but is absolutely perfect for the traveler that only needs a night or two. All suites include a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, twin burner stove top, dishwasher, garbage disposal, and all pots, pans, dishes, glasses, and utensils. Our rate includes a full hot breakfast buffet, seven days a week, and a dinner buffet including salad bar and beer, wine, and soda Monday through Thursday evenings. We have a beautiful heated indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor basketball court, a newly remodeled 24-hour fitness center, BBQ gas grills, complimentary washers and dryers, and a well-stocked 24-hour suite shop (convenience store). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albany Hotel Albany
Homewood Suites Albany
Homewood Albany
Albany Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing