We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, in need of someone to dot the I's and cross the T's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place, in need of someone to dot the I's and cross the T's”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Had a 1 night stay at the Chapel St location over the weekend. Ever so slightly on the edges of downtown.

This should be branded a Hilton because it's so nice. But here's why it shouldn't:

- housekeeping didn't clean under the toilet seat. My wife would have flipped out if she saw that.
- the sheets had a stain on it (the type that doesn't come off).
- the shower didn't have a soap dish. You could see where it should have been.
- the bar to help you in/out of the shower was placed mid-shower. It was in the way.

Free computer in the lobby.
The usual HI breakfast.
Free overnight parking on the street from 6:00pm till 8:00am.

I'd still go back at the right price. Otherwise, I'm sticking to the HI on Wolf Road.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    303
    106
    55
    36
See reviews for
229
208
57
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stay in Hilton family hotels all over the US probably 100 nights per year, many of them in Hampton Inns. I love this particular brand because it's solid, predictable and unpretentious. Having said this, the Albany (downtown), NY property completely blew me away on my recent stay. The beautiful, highrise building is only a block from the State Capitol. It includes a nice bar and restaurant, and a fine workout room complimented by a "relaxation room" where, for a nominal fee, you have private access to steam, sauna, tanning and a massage chair that's out of this world. The lobby is spacious and elegant. The breakfast was Hampton-solid as always. This hotel was well above my expectations for this brand. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourtourguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena,Ca.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Had a great stay in this hotel... Staff was Wonderful... Resturant was Fantastic... Really can't say enough... The really should change the name... I expected so much less from the brand...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My overall experience at the Downtown Hampton Inn has been great. We had a conference there with New York State teachers and they all enjoyed the experience as well. The staff treated us terrifically and met all of all needs. Colleen Guice has been a joy to work with in scheduling events and has bent over backwards seeing that we have a enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I have stayed at several hotels in the Albany area and this is by far the best. It is located near several bars and restaurants and has an outstanding staff. This is a 5-star establishment.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bufftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I have been stayng at the Hampton Inn in downtown Albany since late March of 2008. I am at the hotel nearly every week and will be doing this until mid July 2010. The Hampton staff has always taken care of me like I was part of the family. The service is always first rate and the rooms are comfortable, well appointed and quiet. The morning breakfast bar is always great and the breakfast bag to go is a nice touch when you are in the hurry in the morning. The added bonus of having Yono's and DP at the hotel give you the luxury of not having to go back out for your fine dining needs. As stated in the title, I would stay no where else in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rh0dey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I spend about 90 days a year in this hotel and they have been very consistent with service and cleanliness. They are very responsive to my needs as well as the needs of others in my organization that also travel with me. Only recommendation would be to set up room service with Yono's/DP Restaurant, both located in the hotel (and both good venues).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing