We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just had 2 weeks there, excellent location for us , great room friendly service, well worth a try and expect to stay there again in the future. Friendlly staff and ideal for us.Good brakfast and or pack lunch bag offered monday to friday. Coffee on tap daily downstairs.

Room Tip: Front of building On second floor fine for is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear JohnGEssex,

Thank you so much for the great comments! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you hope to come back again. Our staff strives to provide the best service possible to our guests, especially those who stay with us for an extended period of time. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurant in lobby. In the heart of downtown Albany. Breakfast very good, comfortable breakfast area. Only complaint is that parking is valet and costs $12.50. Lot seems large enough to self park, but it is valet only. Approximately 5 minutes to Capitol building and Empire Statre Plaza by car. Within walking distance to those areas if ambitious.

Room Tip: There is a "Women's Floor" that based on availability can be requested when booking or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

SINYTraveler,

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that our guests are finding our hotel clean and comfortable, we take pride in making sure you have a great experience! I’m sorry that you were not completely satisfied by the parking available in our lot. The lot is owned and managed by a separate company, however we value your feedback and appreciate your comments on things that make your stay less than perfect. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was overnight for a morning court appearance, and the property is literally about 2 blocks away from the Supreme Court building. Only the Hotel Albany is closer, and I'd avoid it until Hilton finishes up its rebranding and renovations.

The room was comfortable and large, with an empty fridge for your convenience. There was free coffee and breakfast in the lobby downstairs, and the restaurants/bar are not only incredibly convenient, but quite good.

Parking is valet and for a fee, out back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear BuffaloPundit,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us so convenient! As a Hilton brand, we certainly take pride in making our guests comfortable and providing amenities that you will love such as the complimentary breakfast, in-room refrigerator and two on-site restaurants. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton in on Chapel Street while on a business trip in Albany.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home.

The lobby is nicely furnished with a large seating area with very comfortable chairs and couches...even a fireplace.

The king size bedded room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a nice day bed as well to lounge in. The lighting in the room was excellent and was conducive for doing some work at the desk.

The breakfast buffet was really nice - included hot items includding omelettes, waffels and oatmeal.

I highly recommend staying here if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We take pride in delivering excellent service to our guests and providing a memorable experience. Your feedback is instrumental in helping us to achieve and maintain this goal. We will soon be remodeling our lobby area in an effort to enhance our guests’ experience. Please come visit us and tell us what you think! Thank you again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Set in the middle of Albany and handy for the restaurants etc. The beds and linen in Hampton Inns guarantees a good nights sleep. This place is very friendly - all the staff we met were welcoming and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. On-site parking is a bit of a bore (having to hand keys over to the staff of the privately run company who charge $12.5 a night) but that is a minor quibble. Stayed for 4 nights on business then chose to return the following week as so impressed. Reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the opportunity to comment via TripAdvisor’s Traveler's Review, on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown. We value any and all feedback we receive from our Guests; especially the reviews we receive from our TripAdvisor users. We take great pride and effort to maintain the high quality standards expected by guests who choose Hilton Brands as their point of destination. Our Hampton 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is very important to us, and it is rewarding to see that our guests do notice!

Your feedback is instrumental and invaluable in helping us achieve our goal of providing excellent customer service and a memorable guest experience. If your travel plans bring you to the Albany area in the future, we hope that you choose the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown as your home away from home. Thank you again from your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was in Albany recently looking at colleges for my daughter. I did not book a hotel before I went, knowing that there were many hotels in that area to chose from. When I arrived in Albany all the hotels were booked or asking very high prices. We have stayed in the Hampton inns before in various locations and always had a good experience and this was no different. The hotel was very clean and a good size room. We did not use the facilities, but they did have an pool and fitness center. The breakfast in the morning was very good and had a fair selection of choices. The only complaint, I have is that when we booked the hotel they did not tell us that there was an additional cost to park the car. It would have been nice to know about this additional charge before we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear barbara g,

I am so appreciative that you took the time to review your stay at our property! Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our complimentary buffet. To clear up any confusion for other TripAdvisor viewers, we do have an updated work-out facility on property but do not have a pool. However, we do work in conjunction with a local fitness center that has a pool and can offer complimentary passes to use their facility. Next time you're in town please do not hesitate to ask the front desk for passes available Mon-Sat. I do apologize that you were not notified of the additional parking fee for the privately owned parking lot adjacent to our hotel and appreciate your comments so our front desk team will be more aware to notify guests. Thank you again barbara g and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of August 18. Booked the room through expedia for around $120. The hotel is located right downtown close to the Palace Theatre and a number of bars & restaurants on Pearl Street.

The room was large with a rather new looking tv and a large desk. It was very clean, except for the windows but I don't sleep on the window so who cares. All of the bedding and linens looked new. The only downside to the room was the lack of a fridge. I was under the impression the one I booked came with one, but I could be wrong.

The service/cleaning staff was friendly and always greeted you. The desk staff were always available and accomidated our late check in. There was a party in one of the rooms and the staff had the police remove them the second it got out of hand. Its clear the staff is on top of things and doesn't tolerate deliquent behaviour.

The hotel offers free breakfast with omlettes, cereal, sausage, waffles and more. There was a huge selection and they never ran out of anything.

For the price you can't go wrong with the Hampton Downtown Albany. It definitely has an upscale vibe without the attitude and a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for reaching out to the TripAdvisor viewers to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We value any and all feedback we recieve from our Guests, for it helps us to maintain the high standards guests come to expect from Hilton property. We take our Hampton standards very seriously and it's great to see our guests notice! I hope you choose the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown once again during your next visit to Albany. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $132 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing