We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed overnight and were impressed with the cleanliness and new look of the rooms. We were very happy with the breakfast staff, particularly Tim, who went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed, even though it was self-serve cafeteria style. The hotel kept a gas fire lit which was very welcoming. There was always fruit and coffee available during the day. Parking is via valet.

The only drawback was that we were in Albany on St. Patrick's Day and the noise from the nearby bars kept waking us up until 4:00 p.m. when they closed. My advice is try to go to this hotel during the week if you want a good night's sleep.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTrioFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review in regards to your recent stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back in the future. I will share your kind words with our breakfast attendant, Tim. It is always nice to hear that our guests appreciate the service we provide. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    295
    105
    54
    34
See reviews for
226
203
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here two years ago and were very pleased. It was clean and comfortable and in a good location downtown, so we booked it again when we had plans to be in Albany. When we returned we were far less impressed. The mattresses were concave and provided no support, the breakfast had gone down in quality and the rooms had been sprayed with a rather obnoxious air freshener. We'll look for a different hotel if we visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Good Morning Robyn14!!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and our property on TripAdvisor.com. We use any and all reviews and surveys as our personal report card to aid in the improvement of the service we provide. On behalf of the entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites, Albany-Downtown we would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your return stay to the property. Being such a busy hotel it does become challenging to know when exactly certain items in the rooms need to be upgraded or replaced, that is why your comments hold such great value to us as a team.
In regards to breakfast the breakfast staff is aware of the decline in quality and is actively taking the steps needed to improve. Again we thank you for your feedback and encourage you to contact myself or my fellow colleague directly the next time you come to the Downtown Albany area. We would love to have you come back to our property and give another try.

Thank you again and we extend our sincerest apology for the inconveniences experienced and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Hospitably,

Nashyka Jospitre & Kyle Dzembo
Guest Services Managers
Hampton Inn & Suites, Albany-Downtown
Nashyka.Jospitre@Hilton.com
Kyle.Dzembo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hampton Inns are usually pretty good bets and this one in Albany is better than usual. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. I have had better breakfasts before, but it really wasn't bad enough to detract from the stay. This hotel is a good choice for business travel to Albany.

One word of advice: beware overcharging taxis from the train station. Amtrak has given a single company the contract to service the station and they overcharged me on my trip to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schubes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Good Afternoon Schubes03!!!

I wanted to thank you for your kind words in regards to our property and your past stay. We are constantly are trying to improve our breakfast ensuring that the mandatory Hilton items are there but in turn stepping it up a little with some extra new items to enhance the breakfast experience overall.

I also wanted to thank you for your advice in regards to the taxis. It would be greatly appreciated if you could email me to let me know the name of the taxi company you used so that way I can inform my staff about their rates. I would love to also get your opinion on what changes you feel could be made to breakfast, feel free to contact me at Nashyka.Jospitre@hilton.com.

Thank you again for your kind words. On behalf of the entire staff of the Hampton Inn & Suites, Albany-Downtown...CHEERS!!!!!

Nashyka Jospitre & Kyle Dzembo
Guest Services Managers
Hampton Inn& Suites, Albany-Downtown
25 Chapel Street
Albany, NY 12210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Perfect location to the downtown area, bars, restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere and enjoyed bar hopping at night with friends without worrying about driving. The hotel was clean and quiet and the free breakfast is always nice. Parking was easy but a friends car was broken into so don't leave anything in your car! We would stay there again. And as Diamond Members we weren't offered any of the perks, we had to ask.

Room Tip: We had a room high up and on the corner and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbee500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Tavelbee500,

Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you would stay with us again if ever in the area. Also, I would like to apologize for the Diamond perks not being offered initially. Please rest assured that the car break in was an unfortunate experience that we have been proactive in avoiding in the future. We have increased our security measures and have a great working relationship with the company that owns and operates the parking facility. If you are ever in need of future reservations, or anything of that nature please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach Va
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

High Prices, snotty help, breakfast a joke, avoid this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dranon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dranon,

First allow me to apologize for a less than satisfactory experience you had with us recently. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide superior customer service to each of our guests. It is upsetting to discover we were unable to do so during your visit with us. If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to contact myself directly as I am eager to learn the specifics. I can be reached at (518) 432-7000 ext. 4514. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Last minute found this better hotel in downtown Albany. Usually stay closer to the highway- but this was worth it. Clean and convenient. Nice restaurant adjoining.
Thought that the parking fee was a bit unnecessary. Breakfast very poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
HalBoston,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us! We have been working together as a staff to increase the value of the breakfast offered. I would most certainly welcome any suggestions you may have! Also, if you are ever in need of any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a perfectly fine hotel in Albany, great location, fair price. I didn't realize Hampton Inn's are nice. It certainly isn't fancy or high end, but for what it is, you just can't beat it. My room was quiet (9th floor) and clean. Gym small but fine for a hotel gym. Free breakfast. Easy parking next door.

And the staff was as helpful and friendly as any I have encounetered in quite a while. And I travel quite often

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyledzembo, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear paulbo,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us in Albany. I'm glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We recently did a lot of work to revamp our exercise facility, we appreciate the feedback. We also do provide free day passes to a local gym just blocks away! I will certainly be sharing your comments with our staff. They will be THRILLED to hear such praises. If you are ever in need of any future reservations or further assistance please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing