We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2008

The hotel was reasonably priced for the location, but I was not 100% sure if it is a very safe location. My colleague went out for a run outside before breakfast, so I concluded that it must not be all that bad.

The hotel itself was very clean. I was happy with the cleanliness of my room, and comfort of my bed. They had the regular Hampton Inn breakfast (some hot stuff, and bread, muffin, fruit, cereal etc).

The front desk people were helpful. The parking system was a bit confusing.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fortwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2007

I just spent two days as part of a conference and was impressed with the ability for the hotel to run a conference and the quality of the food in the restuarant. Breakfast was part of the hotel rate and was the typical "hot Continental breakfast" found in many hotels. Coffee available 24 hours was good; fitness room did not open until 6 AM, which can be an issue. Hotel was close to the river bike/pedestrian path, so that was good. Good selection of towels and bedding was very comfortable. Lots of TV stations, plenty of room to spread out. My room was on backside, so no noise complaints. Temp control was good.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEGWIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I've stayed here twice now. The hotel is immaculately clean. The bedding is outstanding. Be sure to ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, as the front side overlooks the happening downtown Albany bar scene. It is loud late. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Parking is an additional $12, which is a little annoying. It's Albany, not NYC!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drmgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Clean and quiet, good location. Free and good Continental (not hot) breakfast, free but slow-printing internet access, free (valet) parking. No serious problems, just lackluster for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tpb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Clean, new, good breakfast, suite was just fantastic. Price was unbeatable at $100. We could not believe the room when we walked in...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leframboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night. This appears to be a fairly new property. Check is was a breeze.

Our room was on the 9th floor overlooking the downtown area. Comfy beds and linens. Weird thing - only one garbage can for the room. It was in the bathroom. The free internet worked fine for us.

My only complaint is the soundproofing of the windows. At 12:30 in the morning we were awaken by the sound of people out and about in the neighborhood across from the hotel.

Since we stayed on a Friday evening, we found free parking on the street around the corner from the hotel. No need to feed the meters after 6:00 PM or on the weekend.

Breakfast was typical a la styrofoam. Coffee's pretty decent.

Overall, a nice visit.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Dave148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

"Self-parking" is not. Pay parking in a lot where you cannot take your keys and it is an open lot. LArge wedding and participants in a larger basketball tourament made for a very noisey night. Front desk was not responsive whe complained about it. Free internet connection did not work even with the code provided by the desk. Restaurant specializes in exotic food, i.e., ostrich, alligator. No steak, chicken or pasta. Sorry, that's what I like.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jcwdz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $118 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing