We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rain

Rain
Ranked #23 of 681 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cold miserable night but had to have it, We shared a bunch of small plates including soup dumplings, edamame dumplings, crispy shrimp with honey walnut pork belly bao, cantonese roast duck, and shu mai shooters. Each was delicious, freshly cooked and served hot. Service was friendly and attentive. weirdly, none of their desserts are Chinese, but the mascarpone was very good..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marktheshark027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This new restaurant looked very promising but led to a disappointing lunch. I was dining with a party of 6 and we all agreed that the food was bland and not very tasty. The sauce used for teriyake was the same sauce used for general tso's. The service was okay, but not excellent. I would not recommend dining here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronStyles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food was good, place is very nice looking. Kitchen service was horrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Disappointing dinner at Rain with our group of 8. The food was good, but the service from the kitchen was horrendous and the waitress barely apologized. Two our dinners literally arrived after the other 5 of us had finished eating despite waiting before we even started. Dessert took a long time as well, and the cup of coffee I ordered also showed up long after everyone had finished dessert and we were trying to get our check. We arrived at 5:30, ordered almost immediately, and didn't get out of there until 8:30. Food was good, but just not worth that trouble.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Smooth, polished and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I watched as the old Planned Parenthood building was remodeled into a new restaurant....but was amazed at the total transformation when I had dinner there.It was early on friday night before Christmas.
The inside felt very New York. Darkly lit with splashes of warm color...the inside felt welcoming, smooth and polished. There were only a few other diners when we arrived so we secured a spot by the window. As dinner was served the restaurant filled up with familes, single parents with children and couples.
The wait staff was friendly and attentive.We started with drinks and roast pork(one of my favorite appetizers). My friend's drink was very kitschy looking, but it brought back memories of the first chinese restaurant she had eaten in.Presentation was a bit part of each itme...whether it was the sizzling sound of a hot dish being delivered to the artful arrangement of each course. MY friend exclaimed it was the best food ever!! I won't go that far...but it was very very good. And I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chinese New Years Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Joined friends for the "Chinese New Year Special Banquet Dinner" at this grand new restaurant on Lark Street, Smalbany, for our first visit. How did they transform this former brick Planned Parenthood edifice into a bright, open eatery so beautifully? And they have parking! (Eating in downtown Albany is usually a parking challenge.) We were delighted.

The prix fixe dinner for four ($30) was enough for eight, so plenty went home. One of our peeves is that restaurant reviews from this Upstate NY area are so often based on quantity. However, there was sooo much food, it deserves mention. Have to admit what piggies we were. When we saw the Hoisin Glazed Port Belly Bao on the standard menu, we just had to add it to this already massive dinner.

Everything on the menu was spot on. The Peking Duck appetizer served with steamed buns served with slivered scallions was so perfectly done, I would have been satisfied to stop there. Next came the soup - Seafood Tofu with some malty vinegar to splash on top. White soup is not our usual choice, but this had no discernible cornstarch taste and was subtle, unique and delicious. The Pork Belly was also served with steamed buns - highly recommended!

Then, our table was filled with the five entrees. One of our standards we use to compare Chinese restaurants is Snow Pea Leaves, so we were happy to find this on this menu. This dish was fresh, perfectly cooked, not overly oily and just right. The Peking Style Pork Chop was my favorite - richly flavored and tender. The Twin Lobster with Ginger & Scallion took some digging to get out the morsels, but delicious. The Cantonese Style Roasted Chicken made with dark meat had skin to savor. The Noodle with Chinese Mushroom also not too oily, a mushroomy delight.

Dessert was a Taro Coconut Tapioca Dessert, light and creamy with what we believe were tiny tender pieces of tamarind in the bottom. Never had anything like it - absolutely delicious.

There was discussion at our table of restaurant service - great and terrible. The service staff at Rain are well versed in the way to work a table, drink and plate handling, etc. Each of the specialists showed up with perfect timing. Head guy was right there when extra info was needed. Service quality and attention you rarely (never?) find in this neck of the woods.

We certainly will return to Rain. And if you are reading this in early 2015, get your reservations in for their Chinese New Year special early. Not many opportunities in the Capital Region for such an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing