We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...but maybe they had an off day”

Reel Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Reel Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing...but maybe they had an off day”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

On a recent business trip in the area I went back to the restaurant because I have had many excellent meal there over the past few years with my family.

This one was disappointing.

I menu has changed a lot since my last visit so I couldn't have my favorite main course....broiled blackened scallops so I settled for the only broiled scallop dish on the menu.

They were small, rubbery and were drowning in the buttery bowl. The baked potato was under cooked.

Still hungry I decided to try the rice pudding. It was tough and almost inedible.

Given the excellent meals we have had in the past I am going to give them a "mulligan" on this one and will try it again on my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    155
    69
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great waiter”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner here and we all really enjoyed it. We decided to share the appetizers and it was a great choice. We had the Greek calamari which was different than any other calamari I have ever had - they were tender and crisp, with feta cheese, tomato, garlic, spinach etc. The crab cake was full of crab meat, not filling. My favourite was the warm sesame tuna which was perfectly cooked, rare inside and very tender. Our waiter was wonderful, very helpful with our wine selection, friendly without being overbearing.

I look forward to coming here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinigirlPicton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent seafood restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

late lunch, had the place almost to ourselves on a very rainy day, chairs comfortable, waitress wonderful, food delicious and very reasonable prices
!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester new york
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent, attentive service and good food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The service was excellent. Our server was attentive, helpful, made suggestions, and best of all, was pleasant and friendly! All aspects of our dinner were good - appetizers fresh and well seasoned. In a group of five, each had a different menu item, and each enjoyed their meal. I would definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rochestertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, "throwback" atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Food was great with a nice selection. Atmosphere seemed a bit dated, but added some amusement. Incredibly attentive staff even on a busy night. Felt like one of those "great finds" - a classic place that's been around a long time but still gets it right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Reel Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing